Atari ST RTC Support

User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: London, UK
Been thanked: 2 times

Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Moondandy »

Hi guys, am wondering, does the ST core Real Tim Clock support? I was reading about people modding their original hardware to add an RTC.
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: London, UK
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Moondandy »

So the core does not have RTC implemented, and it wasn't built into original hardware, however people have been adding RTCs to their original hardware with mods and carts, some info here:

https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=13811

https://blog.troed.se/projects/dallas-r ... s-y2k-fix/

Presumably the functionality could be added to the core if someone wanted to add it.
User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by kathleen »

Moondandy wrote: Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:13 pm So the core does not have RTC implemented, and it wasn't built into original hardware, however people have been adding RTCs to their original hardware with mods and carts, some info here:

https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=13811

https://blog.troed.se/projects/dallas-r ... s-y2k-fix/

Presumably the functionality could be added to the core if someone wanted to add it.
If I'm not wrong the Mega ST and Mega STE, have RTC, I"m sure there is a place for a battery (which needs to be replaced :-)) in mine.

So for me I'll vote for this nice to have RTC on the Atari ST core as it is part of the mega ST(E) hardware
8tpercent
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 2:35 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by 8tpercent »

Only to add... X control info... https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=26642
User avatar
ragnar
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 10:16 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by ragnar »

kathleen wrote: Fri Jan 15, 2021 5:32 am If I'm not wrong the Mega ST and Mega STE, have RTC, I"m sure there is a place for a battery (which needs to be replaced :-)) in mine.
The MegaST has one with a battery compartment inside the case, both, Mega STe an TT have an internal battery and the Falcon has the infamous NVRAM with builtin battery
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: London, UK
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Moondandy »

I have added a ticket for a feature request if someone wants to add in the functionality.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/AtariST ... /issues/11
User avatar
Sorgelig
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 9:49 pm
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Sorgelig »

Where RTC is used in ST? I don't see TOS displaying current time anywhere.
User avatar
ragnar
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 10:16 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by ragnar »

Sorgelig wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 9:04 am Where RTC is used in ST? I don't see TOS displaying current time anywhere.
You can use xcontrol for example
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Chris23235 »

Sorgelig wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 9:04 am Where RTC is used in ST? I don't see TOS displaying current time anywhere.
It is used in the date and time of the files.
User avatar
Sorgelig
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 9:49 pm
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Sorgelig »

C16:
- C1541: update VIA.
- Support for custom aspect ratio.
- Update the framework.


VIC20:
- Audio fixes (nino-porcino).
- C1541: update VIA.
- Support for custom aspect ratio.
- Update the framework.
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: London, UK
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Atari ST RTC Support

Unread post by Moondandy »

I think you may have posted this on the wrong thread mate ;-)
Post Reply