[GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

drastikterror
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2021 9:29 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by drastikterror »

Thank you guys!
Fastracker version 2.08, in the configuration menu can set Sound Blaster variables, especially the midi port, 300 or 330.
Then, in Advanced Instruments settings, midi channel can be activated and selected (1-16).
bnz99
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:43 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by bnz99 »

Do these modified cores from djhardrich still work with the recent main updates? I briefly checked the mt32-pi pcb schematics and it seems that the pinout from the user i/o there is different as TXD seems to be located on RX+/Pin 9 instead of D+/Pin 3. I thought that maybe this is somehow controlled by the core itself, but my mt-32 connected through the olimex board and my hand-soldered usb cable + softmpu in the ao486 core (see post of mine above) just outputs weird stuff now. I'm guessing the main update causes the modified cores to also use the different pinout? Unfortunately, I don't have an usb3 cable for testing at hand right now. I'm waiting for stuff to arrive.
bnz99
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:43 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by bnz99 »

Hm, I'm confused. From the USB pin table in mt32pi.sv it seems midi out/tx is on D-/white and midi in/rx on D+/green. This would match the old pinout. But then again, it's the first time I read system verilog. I'm guessing there is some pin switching that takes place depending on whether mt32-pi is detected?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/ao486_M ... cf5d3f1f5c
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/ao486_M ... /mt32pi.sv
bnz99
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:43 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by bnz99 »

Nevermind, it all magically started to work again with the official mister cores. It seems the patched ones are really no longer necessary. Not sure what I did differently.
Inspector77
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:24 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by Inspector77 »

Currently with the last changes the main core (Sorgelig) of AtariSt already has the midi input and output fully working through I/O serial port :D
Tested with Cubase 3.1, Band in a Box, Notator3, IMS_47 and Breakthu.
Remenber put UART mode to "none".

These have been my tests:

The Minimig and Ao486 main cores (Sorgelig) have midi output working through I/O serial port , but no midi input yet.

The Minimig build from MickGiver is full working tested with Gajits Sequencer One, Bars & Pipes and Music-x.

The ao486 from MickGiver doesn´t work at all, only incomplete sounds when play a midi file and not midi input. Tested with Voyetras sequenzer Gold and Cakewalk 5 in Msdos, and cubase Score 2.8 in windows 3.11

Im using the Lotharek´s midi addon.

We are very close to having a multiplatform midi sequencing studio! ;)
bnz99
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:43 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by bnz99 »

I think midi in was added to minimig and atari st just earlier today. I don't have a midi keyboard at hand to test it, but I can at least say that midi out via user port works with minimig. I have just played back the brandenburg demo song in bars and pipes on my real mt-32 unit. So I really think these experimental cores are no longer needed.
Inspector77
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:24 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by Inspector77 »

Yes, mi test are from the today builds.
Midi in is not working yet in ao486 and Minimig cores
Midi out work in all cores
Inspector77
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:24 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by Inspector77 »

I have found on the ao486 core that if I turn on the midi keyboard AFTER launching the audio sequencer the midi input works perfectly.
Tested with Voyetra Sequencer Gold 4.11 and Cakewalk 5 on Msdos

Edit: Tested Cubase Score 2.8 in Windows 3.11, midi in/out and sync in/out all working :D
Inspector77
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:24 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by Inspector77 »

With the last update the AtariSt, Minimig and ao486 cores have full midi I/O through I/O serial port ;)
piers
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 11:02 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by piers »

This is really exciting I can't wait to get Octamed wired up to some gear again. I've got a couple of questions;
- Can I access this directly through the GPIO pins on the DE-10 or do i need the expansion board?
- Would it be possible to use the serial port for a midi interface AND a port for a low latency game controller port?
- Ideally I want a midi interface without full size DIN ports and use 3.5mm TRS sockets instead so that I can fit in my home made case, can I build my own use through hole soldering and common parts or does someone sell me a suitable kit?
Thanks for all your hard work in getting this working, can't wait to start making music with this.
netizensmith
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2021 4:38 pm

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by netizensmith »

Hi all,

When using my real Amiga 600 I had this config:

A600->Serial Midi Interface -> midi to USB cable
USB end plugged into a client port of a powered USB hub
Akai MPK Mini controller also plugged into a client port of USB hub
iPad pro connected to the hub using the host USB cable i.e. the iPad was the host.

This worked great!

Now on the Mister I can wire the Akai, ipad and hub together no problem but the problem is I now essentially have an Amiga with a USB type A host socket that I need to connect to a hub that also has a USB type A socket and I know that's something you can't do. Any ideas how to get this all talking together?
Zarkov
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 7:42 am

Re: [GUIDE] Direct MIDI IO for ST and Amiga Cores

Unread post by Zarkov »

Should I disconnect the direct midi io box from legacypixels from the user port if I load cores other than ao486 etc? Any harm leaving it connected?
Post Reply