FLI pictures not working

User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 24 times

FLI pictures not working

Unread post by kathleen »

Dear all,

I've just tried to run a disk where 10 FLI pictures were supposed to be displayed after pressing a key (from "A" to "J" for the selection) then spacebar.

The disk works as it should on Vice (I tried it successfully) but with the C64 core of the Mister, it doesn't work, I mean the menu appears but no pictures at all after having selected it. The program does not crash, it simply return to the selection screen after a black screen.

The disk I wanted to run (among others) is this one : https://csdb.dk/release/?id=109005

Any help, advices will be really appreciated.
User avatar
yellperil
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:08 am
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by yellperil »

I think the coding on that disk is just really bad. On my version of Vice I get a black screen as well.

However I noticed when prompted to press <space> if you press any <character key> once then <space> it works fine on both Vice and MiSTer.

Enjoy your pictures.
User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by kathleen »

Oh, thank you @yellperil, I'll try this tip, very good to know.

EDIT : I've just tried on my side and it doesn't work.
Could you please let me know which C64 core you are using ? Mine is the revision from the 2021-03-08.
And the Main Mister is the 2021-03-29, the latest I guess.

Now I'm thinking aloud, would it be possible that this issue comes due to a wrong/bad C64 config in the Mister.ini file ?

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
yellperil
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:08 am
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by yellperil »

I'm on the current everything. I've just run update_all to make 100% sure.

I have tried the disk you linked again and it's still working fine on my MiSTer.
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

kathleen wrote: Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:42 pm Dear all,

I've just tried to run a disk where 10 FLI pictures were supposed to be displayed after pressing a key (from "A" to "J" for the selection) then spacebar.

The disk works as it should on Vice (I tried it successfully) but with the C64 core of the Mister, it doesn't work, I mean the menu appears but no pictures at all after having selected it. The program does not crash, it simply return to the selection screen after a black screen.

The disk I wanted to run (among others) is this one : https://csdb.dk/release/?id=109005

Any help, advices will be really appreciated.
Hello,

I will also try on my side
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

Doesn't work on my MiSTer, nor on my Ultimate64, nor on vice 3.5.
I will test on my real C64 & vice 3.1
User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by kathleen »

Thanks to both of you
@yellperil, so there is something that I do wrong. will continue to try.
@tontonkaloun, good that you also was able to reproduce the issue. Yeah, please keep us posted with your findings.
User avatar
yellperil
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:08 am
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by yellperil »

edit : see below
User avatar
yellperil
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:08 am
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: FLI pictures not working

Unread post by yellperil »

Oh . . . I think I've worked it out! . . .

Do not press space slowly . . . hit it as FAST as you can.
Post Reply