C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

User avatar
zBeeble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:32 pm

C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by zBeeble »

So... I have my MiSTer all configured. C16 and PET work. C64 just gets me a black screen. Help?
rhester72
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by rhester72 »

Does it still happen after a hard reboot of MiSTer? It's been black-screening for me lately as well (and nothing changed!).
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

I would first think of a corrupted file.
Have you tried to rewrite the core or/and the rom on your SD card?
tomxp411
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 4:32 am

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by tomxp411 »

Do you have an SRAM module installed? 32 or 128MB?

have you built the ROM file with the KERNAL+BASIC+DRIVE ROM?
User avatar
zBeeble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by zBeeble »

I have at least 128M installed. This is across several complete powerdowns of the device as I rewrite the card. I have totally wiped the card and I have recopied all the files several times.

I have not made a ROM file --- I thought it was an optional step.
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by NML32 »

zBeeble wrote: Tue Jul 21, 2020 8:45 pm I have at least 128M installed. This is across several complete powerdowns of the device as I rewrite the card. I have totally wiped the card and I have recopied all the files several times.

I have not made a ROM file --- I thought it was an optional step.
How about if you use the built-in ROM?
You can select Kernal: Standard C64, C64GS, or Loadable C64 ROM through the OSD.
User avatar
zBeeble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by zBeeble »

NML32 wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:40 am
zBeeble wrote: Tue Jul 21, 2020 8:45 pm I have at least 128M installed. This is across several complete powerdowns of the device as I rewrite the card. I have totally wiped the card and I have recopied all the files several times.

I have not made a ROM file --- I thought it was an optional step.
How about if you use the built-in ROM?
You can select Kernal: Standard C64, C64GS, or Loadable C64 ROM through the OSD.
To the point, the OSD doesn't come up. Blank screen.
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

it's a little surprising this story

here is my configuration that works for me!
Replace with your files

https://www.swisstransfer.com/d/f889184 ... 7402ee9789


It is better to transfer by ftp than by sharing smb
User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

Yeah, I've been having some odd problems with smb every now and then. Copying stalling and files that refuse to delete.
User avatar
zBeeble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by zBeeble »

really? Can you post a config with a text thing? I'd really rather not download random .7z things.
User avatar
zBeeble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by zBeeble »

So... I manged to determine that I had the RAM expansion plugged into the wrong header. Problem solved.
User avatar
zBeeble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by zBeeble »

To Add Detail Here... I think the PET (and possibly the C16) don't require the RAM expansion. I'm still reading source, for various reasons, but I suppose the C16 and PET can use the FPGA internal RAM rather than the expansion?
mklcolvin
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by mklcolvin »

Does the C64 core require the RAM expansion? I'm trying to run it while I wait for my 128MB RAM to get here. Also, are the kernel, basic, and disk ROM files required, and if so, where do I put them?
Xbytez
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 3:36 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: C16 and PET work: C64 Black screen.

Unread post by Xbytez »

mklcolvin wrote: Sun May 02, 2021 4:25 pm Does the C64 core require the RAM expansion?
See here on the Wiki for cores that use SDRAM:

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... -use-SDRAM
Post Reply