AO486 compatibility list

User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

vanfanel wrote: Fri Sep 11, 2020 9:29 am Does "Magic Carpet" really work in-game? I can see the nice intro, the menu, but when I click on the spinning planet sphere to start actual gameplay, the game stalls forever in the loading screen (showing the CD), never getting in game. There are even youtube videos of this game running on ao486, but I don't see it working with the current version... Using DOS 6.33 here.
Didn't try the game myself, but there also was a floppy version and from what I read about the game running in Dos Box the CD caused sometimes problems where the floppy version worked.
Coldheat007
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:26 am

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Coldheat007 »

I have not loaded that one yet myself. I will today and see if it works for me.
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by NML32 »

Did the comments get out of sync? I noticed volfied comments are listed up a couple of rows up.
vanfanel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:53 pm

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by vanfanel »

Chris23235 wrote: Fri Sep 11, 2020 12:49 pm
vanfanel wrote: Fri Sep 11, 2020 9:29 am Does "Magic Carpet" really work in-game? I can see the nice intro, the menu, but when I click on the spinning planet sphere to start actual gameplay, the game stalls forever in the loading screen (showing the CD), never getting in game. There are even youtube videos of this game running on ao486, but I don't see it working with the current version... Using DOS 6.33 here.
Didn't try the game myself, but there also was a floppy version and from what I read about the game running in Dos Box the CD caused sometimes problems where the floppy version worked.
I have tried the floppy version and does exactly the same thing, except it shows a floppy instead of a CD :lol:
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

I tried the ExoDos version and it seemed to run fine (only played for a minute or so). Setup of this version is straight forward, just copy the MagCarp folder to your VHD and run carpet.exe.
flynnsbit
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by flynnsbit »

Added VHD options section.
vanfanel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:53 pm

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by vanfanel »

Chris23235 wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 10:10 am I tried the ExoDos version and it seemed to run fine (only played for a minute or so). Setup of this version is straight forward, just copy the MagCarp folder to your VHD and run carpet.exe.
ExoDOS only seems to offer Magic Carpet PLUS and Magic Carpet 2, right?
Which one did you try?
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

Magic Carpet Plus, it is the original game plus the Add on.
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

vanfanel wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 2:14 pm
Chris23235 wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 10:10 am I tried the ExoDos version and it seemed to run fine (only played for a minute or so). Setup of this version is straight forward, just copy the MagCarp folder to your VHD and run carpet.exe.
ExoDOS only seems to offer Magic Carpet PLUS and Magic Carpet 2, right?
Which one did you try?
Magic Carpet 2 also works, I added it the the compability list.
vanfanel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:53 pm

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by vanfanel »

Chris23235 wrote: Sun Sep 13, 2020 2:39 pm
vanfanel wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 2:14 pm
Chris23235 wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 10:10 am I tried the ExoDos version and it seemed to run fine (only played for a minute or so). Setup of this version is straight forward, just copy the MagCarp folder to your VHD and run carpet.exe.
ExoDOS only seems to offer Magic Carpet PLUS and Magic Carpet 2, right?
Which one did you try?
Magic Carpet 2 also works, I added it the the compability list.
Thanks! MC2 is very nice indeed. I like it better than the original, with the cave levels and all.
spicer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:50 am

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by spicer »

anyone able to get wing commander privateer working right?
every time i fire weapons the game slows down. i think its got something to do with sound
Coldheat007
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:26 am

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Coldheat007 »

Seems like the comments got shifted up about 3 rows. I used a downloaded copy I had and fixed all the comments.
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

spicer wrote: Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:17 am anyone able to get wing commander privateer working right?
every time i fire weapons the game slows down. i think its got something to do with sound
I tried the CD version and it seemed to work. I just flew around for a few minutes and used the laser cannons, no problem here.
spicer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:50 am

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by spicer »

Chris23235 wrote: Tue Sep 15, 2020 6:43 pm
spicer wrote: Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:17 am anyone able to get wing commander privateer working right?
every time i fire weapons the game slows down. i think its got something to do with sound
I tried the CD version and it seemed to work. I just flew around for a few minutes and used the laser cannons, no problem here.
thanks for that, working now. turns out it didnt like fat32 in my setup. works fine from a fat16 vhd
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

The CD-ROM support in today's core update fixed the problem with Wing Commander III crashing after a few seconds. Unfortunately I wasn't able to calibrate a joystick properly, did anyone had more luck?
User avatar
jrronimo
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by jrronimo »

I was able to start up MechWarrior 1, but after trying to recruit people at the bar I get this lovely mess. Not sure if it's the game or something else.

mechwar.jpg
mechwar.jpg (306.04 KiB) Viewed 906 times

The MT-32 sound comes through beautifully though!
Coldheat007
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:26 am

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Coldheat007 »

I used ADLIB and did not have that issue. I am using the source from exodos. I fored it to run with ADLIB by using "MW.EXE A"

Switches for game.

A - AdLib
T - Tandy MT-32
R - Roland
S - PC Speaker
flynnsbit
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by flynnsbit »

Working through my automation and front end testing so I did some manual installs of games and played a bit. Manually testing CD install and running of 6 CD games from ISO/BIN. Installation and short play captured. Timestamp links in the YT Description if you want to see how one runs or installs or what commands to get them to run (Dos32a as an example)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0si0cor ... e=youtu.be

Command and Conquer, Play: 0:34
The 7th Guest, Install: 8:15, Play: 14:21
3 Skulls of the Tolte, Install: 24:00, Play: 25:01
3d Body Adventure, Install: 29:20, Play: 30:47
3d Hero: 35:13, Failed Play
A.D. Cop Overseas Mission, Install: 39:18, Play: 45:14
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Chris23235 »

I gave Wing Commander III another look. The joystick calibration under DOS isn't working, while it is working fine under Windows 95 which makes me think it has nothing to do with the core or the speed of the CPU at all but is a software problem. The readme says not working calibration can be caused by IRQs used by multiple devices. Has anybody an idea what can be at fault here?
thera34
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 7:51 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by thera34 »

Hi all,

Just wondering , while waiting for my MiSTer to arrive: did anyone tried and succeeded installing/playing Dungeon Master 1 & 2 ? If yes, any special things to do before ?
I am interested especially in DM2, a fave game of mine :) Succeeded to install it on my Amiga setup running on MiST, but honestly I prefer the DOS version.
rhester72
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by rhester72 »

DM1 worked - never tried DM2.
User avatar
Caldor
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:20 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Caldor »

Coldheat007 wrote: Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:42 pm Seems like the comments got shifted up about 3 rows. I used a downloaded copy I had and fixed all the comments.
So its fixed now? I noticed this happening early on. I take a copy of the whole sheet once in a while to be ready to fix such errors. Google should have some version history as well though for Google Drive.
flynnsbit wrote: Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:05 am Working through my automation and front end testing so I did some manual installs of games and played a bit. Manually testing CD install and running of 6 CD games from ISO/BIN. Installation and short play captured. Timestamp links in the YT Description if you want to see how one runs or installs or what commands to get them to run (Dos32a as an example)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0si0cor ... e=youtu.be

Command and Conquer, Play: 0:34
The 7th Guest, Install: 8:15, Play: 14:21
3 Skulls of the Tolte, Install: 24:00, Play: 25:01
3d Body Adventure, Install: 29:20, Play: 30:47
3d Hero: 35:13, Failed Play
A.D. Cop Overseas Mission, Install: 39:18, Play: 45:14
Very nice. I have tried getting C&C to work a few times, but so far it failed to run the installation. I did not think it would run this well.
jordi
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by jordi »

* Pinball fantasies had some graphics corruption, not sure why:
Image



* Side scrolling already causes some artifacts for games like Commander KEEN. It might be interesting to add a 'crop' option in the output image filter settings?
flynnsbit
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by flynnsbit »

Caldor wrote: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:33 am
Very nice. I have tried getting C&C to work a few times, but so far it failed to run the installation. I did not think it would run this well.
Yeah, the trick for it and a few others is dos32a. If you run it straight you get (Double FAULTs) with DOS/4GW. Anyone figured that one out yet? It seems to be the same in most DOS/4GW games where those same games on my actual 486 run fine with this exact image setup.
User avatar
Caldor
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:20 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: AO486 compatibility list

Unread post by Caldor »

flynnsbit wrote: Wed Sep 23, 2020 10:28 am
Caldor wrote: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:33 am
Very nice. I have tried getting C&C to work a few times, but so far it failed to run the installation. I did not think it would run this well.
Yeah, the trick for it and a few others is dos32a. If you run it straight you get (Double FAULTs) with DOS/4GW. Anyone figured that one out yet? It seems to be the same in most DOS/4GW games where those same games on my actual 486 run fine with this exact image setup.
I am not sure why. I first noticed it with another DOS extender that should help make it possible to run some Windows programs in DOS, and it turned out that it helped run some games that usually threw DOS4GW errors.

Then I found DOS32A when looking for general DOS optimizations.

My theory is that DOS32A is just a more effective protected memory mode and I suspect the problem is because AO486 uses some areas of the memory for special features where it does not seem to be enough for DOS4GW to exclude those parts of the memory in the memory configuration.

When it comes to DOS4GW, it seems its just intentionally bad. There was a low cost general version, but it was badly optimized and to get an industry quality one it would cost a lot of money. But DOS32A is coded in assembly I think it was and had many of not all the optimizations of the best versions of DOS4GW. I think its probably a sign of its quality that it is so much smaller than DOS4GW usually is, without seeming to lose any features for it.
Post Reply