Outboard MIDI

User avatar
d0pefish
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:38 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by d0pefish »

Did you configure mt32-pi properly? Please see this wiki page:
https://github.com/dwhinham/mt32-pi/wik ... 2-pi-setup

The mt32-pi OSD settings are only visible if:
  • You have enabled MiSTer support in mt32-pi
  • I2C comms are working (the MiSTer core has received a message from mt32-pi)
Higgy
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:37 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by Higgy »

V_Amo wrote: Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:56 am So I’ve built the User Port to Pi cable and put the MT32-Pi files onto a Micro SD card in a Pi 3 I had lying around. It lights up but I can’t seem to find the settings in the MiSTer menus to enable/select it. Where should I find the setting in the ao486 core?
If you mean you can't see the MT32-PI option in the ao486 (or AMIGA/ATARI ST) then you need to update the Cores and MAIN.

I am testing with AMIGA Core. I have communication with the Pi as the OSD is showing the Instruments and sound levels, but the sound is not coming out of my HDMI connection.
The sound that goes back into the MiSTer is RX+ and RX- ? I have them wired as per Wiki.

I am currently moving my Pi-MT32 into a project box so concentrating on that, I just got the buttons wired up and now need to cut holes in the box for them. I was going to try using a larger screen I had laying about, but it is 16x2 and not 20x2 so will stick to the OLED that came with the Pi-MT32.
breiztiger
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:17 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by breiztiger »

hi

i don't have mt32-pi sorry

but since update i can't have midi sound with fluidsynth or munt like before

i'm alone ?
rkuikka
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:32 pm

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by rkuikka »

I'm having problems getting Roland UM-One working after the January updates. The UART speed used to be selectable and it needed to be 38400 for it to work in ao486. How can can get the UART speed changed or is there something else I need to do to make the USB midi device to work?
shimian
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by shimian »

Are any of the the Show Info - No, Yes, LCD-On (FB), LCD-Auto (non-FB) for MT32-Pi intended to provide an OSD over the HDMI output of Mister? I don't have the OLED display as indicated but at times would like to see the information on screen to validate it's working. None of the options I have tried work. LCD-On shows a dark gray box, but nothing inside of it.
User avatar
d0pefish
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:38 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by d0pefish »

shimian wrote: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:14 am Are any of the the Show Info - No, Yes, LCD-On (FB), LCD-Auto (non-FB) for MT32-Pi intended to provide an OSD over the HDMI output of Mister? I don't have the OLED display as indicated but at times would like to see the information on screen to validate it's working. None of the options I have tried work. LCD-On shows a dark gray box, but nothing inside of it.
Either you haven't configured mt32-pi correctly (see previous post) or you're not using the custom user port->Raspberry Pi wiring scheme. You can't do this just with plain MIDI; there needs to be an I2C connection between the Pi and the MiSTer.
shimian
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by shimian »

d0pefish wrote: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:27 am
shimian wrote: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:14 am Are any of the the Show Info - No, Yes, LCD-On (FB), LCD-Auto (non-FB) for MT32-Pi intended to provide an OSD over the HDMI output of Mister? I don't have the OLED display as indicated but at times would like to see the information on screen to validate it's working. None of the options I have tried work. LCD-On shows a dark gray box, but nothing inside of it.
Either you haven't configured mt32-pi correctly (see previous post) or you're not using the custom user port->Raspberry Pi wiring scheme. You can't do this just with plain MIDI; there needs to be an I2C connection between the Pi and the MiSTer.
I have full control over the mt32-pi via the OSD, I wired it myself to the arduino header with some jumper wires. I can change modes/etc of the mt-32pi from mister GUI, but when I toggle Show Info, I get nothing. Which is the correct Show Info mode to use with no LCD attached to the pi directly?
User avatar
d0pefish
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:38 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by d0pefish »

You can use any of the Show Info modes whether there is a real OLED attached or not - but you still need to enable type = ssd1306_i2c in the lcd section of mt32-pi.cfg.
shimian
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by shimian »

d0pefish wrote: Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:38 am You can use any of the Show Info modes whether there is a real OLED attached or not - but you still need to enable type = ssd1306_i2c in the lcd section of mt32-pi.cfg.
So this is odd. When I enable ssd1306_i2c, I lose mister control and the mt32 submenu disappears from my Mister OSD. Thought? I have everything wired to the schematic.

If I set LCD off, it works perfect.
User avatar
d0pefish
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:38 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by d0pefish »

Check your wiring, keep it as short as possible; <30cm. I2C/I2S isn't designed for long distances, so if the wires are too long the data will be corrupted.
shimian
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by shimian »

Wiring is clean, they're 20cm breadboard jumpers. Both I2C wires look fine. Super odd that enabling the LCD makes it stop working. Just validating that this pinout is fine for I2C

Pin3/D+ - i2c sda
Pin7/drain - i2c scl

I have those wired to arduino pins 1 and 6 respectively using breadboard jumpers. I'll double check everything again.
shimian
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by shimian »

wiring is good, matches the schematic. Sound via mt32 works perfectly. OSD lets me control modes, soundfonts, etc. Once I enable the LCD though in mt32-pi.cfg it no longer communicates with MiSTer via i2c (I lose the OSD options).

Tested a few times just now back and forth.

lcd=none - everything works perfect, sound, osd, mt32/soundfont mode, etc
lcd= ssd1306_i2c - I lose the mister control of mt32-pi.

Do i need to adjust the LCD i2c address in the config? Is there a debug flag I can set on mt32-pi that might log out why it's having trouble? I don't think it's a wiring issue as it works fine when I don't try to specify an LCD.

I am using latest mt32-pi and latest Main Mister/AO486 core. Running on a Pi3 b+

Let me know if a GitHub issue is a better place to report this too, more than happy to open one up.
User avatar
d0pefish
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 6:38 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by d0pefish »

Just for the benefit of those following along, this was resolved after some chat outside the forum and looks like it turned out to be an electrical signalling issue.
If you're rolling your own wiring, bear in mind that I2C is extremely sensitive and can be broken by noisy signalling - keep wires short and use shielded cabling if possible.

Enjoy :)
V_Amo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:53 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by V_Amo »

d0pefish wrote: Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:10 am Just for the benefit of those following along, this was resolved after some chat outside the forum and looks like it turned out to be an electrical signalling issue.
If you're rolling your own wiring, bear in mind that I2C is extremely sensitive and can be broken by noisy signalling - keep wires short and use shielded cabling if possible.

Enjoy :)
Thanks for the update. I’d double checked my config and wiring but still couldn’t get it to work. Now I’m thinking my issue is the same as this. I’m using short breadboard wires connected to a short USB 3 cable. I’ll try disabling the display output and, if that works, shortening my cables further.
rhester72
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by rhester72 »

For just _standard_ outboard MIDI to a MT-32 (read: USB-to-MIDI M-audio Midisport Uno), what settings are required in ao486?

In the OSD for UART Mode, I have:

Connection: MIDI
MidiLink: Local
Type: MUNT
Baud: 31250

MidiLink.INI relevant options:

Code: Select all

MIDILINK_PRIORITY   = -20
MUNT_OPTIONS        =
MP3_VOLUME          = -1
MUNT_VOLUME         = -1
MODEM_VOLUME        = -1
FSYNTH_VOLUME       = -1
MIXER_CONTROL       = Master
MUNT_ROM_PATH       = /media/fat/linux/mt32-rom-data
FSYNTH_SOUNDFONT    = /media/fat/linux/soundfonts/SC-55.sf2
UDP_SERVER          = 192.168.1.130
UDP_SERVER_PORT     = 1999
UDP_SERVER_FILTER   = FALSE
UDP_FLOW            = 0
TCP_SERVER_PORT     = 23
TCP_TERM_UPLOAD     = /media/fat/UPLOAD
TCP_TERM_DOWNLOAD   = /media/fat
TCP_TERM_MP3        = /media/fat/MP3
TCP_TERM_MIDI       = /media/fat/MIDI
TCP_TERM_SYNTH      = FluidSynth
TCP_TERM_ROWS       = 23
TCP_FLOW            = 3
TCP_SOUND           = TRUE
DELAYSYSEX          = FALSE
#USB_SERIAL_MODULE   = /media/fat/pl2303.ko

[AO486]
MIDI_BAUD           = 31250
UDP_BAUD            = 38400
#TCP_SOUND_CONNECT   = /media/fat/SOUNDS/connect_sav.wav
I'm running SOFTMPU with the options /SB:220 /IRQ:5 /MPU:330 /OUTPUT:COM1

I get the string "MiSTer MidiLink! BB7" on the LCD, but so far, I've tried X-Wing for DOS and Kyrandia 1 for DOS, and get no MIDI sound (or activity light on the USB cable) at all.
rhester72
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Outboard MIDI

Unread post by rhester72 »

Huh - it appears SOFTMPU was the culprit. I stopped loading it, and bam - MIDI!

Was one of the options I was passing wrong, or is it just not needed?
Post Reply