Ghetto MT32-Pi

Showcase builds, discuss cases, embedding MiSTer into existing computer cases.
chanunnaki

Ghetto MT32-Pi

Unread post by chanunnaki »

I don't know if this is the correct place to post this, but seeing as MT32 support is vastly more prevalent on the PC core, I guess it's kind of appropriate.

Disclaimer: I'm a total novice when it comes to MIDI and DOS games.

After a week-long journey, I've finally managed to experience the joys of MT32 audio (spoiler: it's amazing) and I used only what I already had on-hand.

When I heard about MT32-Pi first, I thought I would buy a Pi A+, aluminium case, and a [pre-built] mt32-Pi hat, & a male-to-male USB cable. That would have cost $100+ and probably close to a month of waiting time. Ain't nobody got time for that, so I did my research and realised I already had everything I need to get the setup going.

I was first going to splice a USB3 cable to use the user port -- but really didn't want to butcher a perfectly good cable -- and I had a bunch of jumper cables, so I removed my IO board and wired it all up directly. I just followed the wiring guide at the bottom of the page here:
https://github.com/dwhinham/mt32-pi/wik ... connection

Anyway, without further ado, here is the [ghetto] MT32-Pi in all its glory:
photo_2021-03-03 05.32.24.jpeg
It's a Raspberry Pi 3B. I tried powering it directly from the DE10-Nano with stock power supply, but I was getting some distortion with heavier games so I'm powering the Pi separately.

I literally knew nothing about MIDI before I started and I had only ever played DOS games with SoundBlaster audio in the past, so the quality of the music in games with this is far superior to anything I've experienced before and brings new life to games like Sim City 2000, Warcraft 2, Doom and Monkey Island. Long story short, I'm totally sold on this device, and I'm going to get the Pi 3 A+, the case and the hat so I can get the IO board back on to play these on my CRT.