Compukit UK101 core

danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

EeDee wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:29 pm
Unfortunately I get "Access Denied" when I try to download it.

D.

Seems you have to request a download

**The problem of getting Caterpillar to run seems to persist**
Hi,

Yes, I asked for access to the file.

Caterpillar is the only game that I can think of off-hand that doesn't run. I still have no idea why.

Maybe it peeks or pokes some hardware register that isn't supported in the core ... :shock:

D.
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 7:03 pm
Maybe it peeks or pokes some hardware register that isn't supported in the core ... :shock:

D.
Dunno :-(

I have PRG files. Could PRG also be made loadable?
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

EeDee wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 9:29 pm
danielb wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 7:03 pm
Maybe it peeks or pokes some hardware register that isn't supported in the core ... :shock:

D.
Dunno :-(

I have PRG files. Could PRG also be made loadable?
No idea. On other systems, prg files are binary files that are injected directly into memory. Could you send me one so I can see what it is?
User avatar
RedskullDC
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:10 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by RedskullDC »

Hi Danielb,
danielb wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:26 pm Did the OSI machines have an external switch of some kind for changing screen mode (analogous to the menu option in the core) or was screen mode only controlled from software?
In short, no, they didn't.

Some of the aftermarket graphics solutions did however.

Mittendorf HRG was all software.
The CUA Hires board had a manual switch on it I thin, but could be software controlled too.

Cheers,
Red
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Thanks,

I think it might be nice to have software control over screen mode. Maybe, for the C2P, I should have "High/Low/Auto", which would be the best of both worlds.

Anyway, I was given access to the C1P version of OSIInvaders. It works very well on the core, and I even fixed it a bit, to get rid of a syntax error in the middle of loading, and to make it autorunning.

I asked if I can distribute the file on the forum, but have not heard back yet.

D.
Attachments
C1PInvaders1.jpg
C1PInvaders1.jpg (30.28 KiB) Viewed 630 times
C1PInvaders2.jpg
C1PInvaders2.jpg (53.21 KiB) Viewed 630 times
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Mon Nov 22, 2021 9:58 pm
No idea. On other systems, prg files are binary files that are injected directly into memory. Could you send me one so I can see what it is?
Srub that. Took a closer look and they are not PRG's at all but text files with .prg extension :roll:
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Hi,

I received permission to redistribute the OSI C1P version of OSI Invaders from its rescuer, Timothy Musson, so here it is.

D.
Attachments
osi_invaders_scg_971_c1p.zip
(5.86 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Hi,

I managed to get the automatic resolution switching to work in the C2P mode, so OSI Invaders is now an authentic C2P experience :)

I'll post a development version after I clean up the GUI, which always takes longer than the actual development...

D.
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 6:35 pm
I'll post a development version after I clean up the GUI, which always takes longer than the actual development...

D.
:D
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:52 am Hi,

I received permission to redistribute the OSI C1P version of OSI Invaders from its rescuer, Timothy Musson, so here it is.

D.
Thanks for securing that. It all adds to the experience
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Hi,

This test version has software control over screen resolution.

To see it work:

Choose OSI C2P, then set resolution to auto. It will default to low res.
Reset, to make sure the display variables are set properly.

POKE 56832,1 sets high res, POKE 56832,0 sets it back to low res.

Games which support this are OSI Invaders (the C2P version) and Pacdude, which has a high res intro screen, then switches to low res for the game.

Let me know how it works for you. Also, it would be easy to make it default to high res, which is the more authentic?

D.
Attachments
UK101_20211124.zip
(940.52 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

Hi
Thanks for the update. All working fine.
When it comes to authenticity and this series of machines I've given up. Just taking the additions as they come, and things are coming along nicely :-)
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Hi,

I made a version which defaults to high res, and this seems to work better. OSI Invaders and Pacdude both start off in high res and switch to low, and Defender switches to low before it starts. The emulator also defaults to high res, so that is what the release version will do.

D.
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Software controlled screen mode is now "official".

After adding this feature, I now realise that ALL of the C2P machine-code games put themselves in the correct resolution before running.

D.
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:37 pm Hi,

I made a version which defaults to high res, and this seems to work better. OSI Invaders and Pacdude both start off in high res and switch to low, and Defender switches to low before it starts. The emulator also defaults to high res, so that is what the release version will do.

D.
And UART is back!
Thanks :-)
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

EeDee wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:04 pm
danielb wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:37 pm Hi,

I made a version which defaults to high res, and this seems to work better. OSI Invaders and Pacdude both start off in high res and switch to low, and Defender switches to low before it starts. The emulator also defaults to high res, so that is what the release version will do.

D.
And UART is back!
Thanks :-)
Which is odd because I haven't changed it in any way, or even checked it yet ... :)

D.
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:20 pm
Which is odd because I haven't changed it in any way, or even checked it yet ... :)

D.
Oh! :?
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

EeDee wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 5:06 pm
danielb wrote: Fri Nov 26, 2021 3:20 pm
Which is odd because I haven't changed it in any way, or even checked it yet ... :)

D.
Oh! :?
Nothing wrong with it. I systematically neglected to select "Load programs from: UART" despite constantly messing around with the settings :oops:
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

We've all done iit.....
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

Hi
Think I've mentioned this before but not sure if I found an example. The SYN600 was a ROM used for the C1,C2,C4,C8
SYN600.zip
(1.21 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Any use? Will it work do you think?
danielb
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

The Synmon in the C2P mode of the core is Syn600.

According to https://www.osiweb.org/software.html, "the C2/4 sections are identical to the SYNMON1 code".

I've never been able to get Synmon to work with the C1P, although I know it's possible.

D.
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

Ahh right!
EeDee
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Mon Nov 29, 2021 2:26 pm The Synmon in the C2P mode of the core is Syn600.

According to https://www.osiweb.org/software.html, "the C2/4 sections are identical to the SYNMON1 code".

I've never been able to get Synmon to work with the C1P, although I know it's possible.

D.
Results not much different in WinOSI
Post Reply