Display Problems on BBC Core

ponder

Display Problems on BBC Core

Unread post by ponder »

Hi.

I've been trying to get some games by Richard "Tricky" Broadhurst running on the BBC Core but 4 of them aren't displaying properly.

I've created a video and a vhd. The video shows the games and problems while the vhd contains the games themselves already set up for easy use.

Does anyone have any ideas? It seems to be down to his smooth scrolling code but I'm not an expert on these things by any means.

The vdh is here: https://home.colinjones.co.uk/files/trickygames.zip (200K).

The web emulator, along with Tricky's games filtered is here: http://www.bbcmicro.co.uk/index.php?rt_ ... oft&sort=b
Most work but these 4 don't.

The video is here:
https://youtu.be/1fWFhJEV8GI
lamarax
Top Contributor

Re: Display Problems on BBC Core

Unread post by lamarax »

Welcome!

Have you tried this pack, and then plainly renaming it to .vhd?

From a fellow beeb veteran and enthusiast, hope you succeed in having the core up and running :)
ponder

Unread post by ponder »

Thank you :)

I have a set of perl utils in the BBCMicro folder that I use for vhd manipulation. I'm not having a problem with the core or most programs, just these specific titles (so far). I already have that pack (it was the first one I tried when I first got the MiSTer) and renamed it to boot.vhd but that doesn't contain these titles.

I'm already way past the basics ;)
zorrobandito

Unread post by zorrobandito »

I'd love to help but I can only replicate the same issue. It would be good to move Tricky's games onto the vhd suggested in this thread and try running them under that configuration to make sure it's not a MISTer Core settings issue but I cannot work out how to mount both vhds to cope them across.