Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 55 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by danielb »

Hi again,

Since I wrote my last message, I found that I can reliably access the partitions on the VHD, but only at 6.25 and 8.333Mhz. At slower speeds, I either get a freeze, or "Bad sector".

Also, I have had no success loading tapes with retape. CP/M games seem to load OK.

Thanks again for this core.

D.
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by NML32 »

What's the latest MiSTer version of this core?
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

NML32 wrote: Sat Jul 04, 2020 2:43 pm What's the latest MiSTer version of this core?

to my knowledge 20200603 (beta03c)
nico24
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:18 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by nico24 »

Is it possible to get into BASIC? Any ideas how this might be done?

Thanks!
nico24
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:18 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by nico24 »

So I worked out if you type MTXL and then switch the display mode, you are in basic.
TheCorfiot
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:21 pm

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by TheCorfiot »

Accessing the SD partitions doesnt seem to work anymore at any speed, probably due to the main updates.

Any chance of a fix please this is one of my favourite platforms

Thanks
User avatar
ron
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:02 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ron »

This is the latest version I know.
This one works fine.
Memotech-MTX_20200925.rbf.zip
(1.83 MiB) Downloaded 198 times
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

ron wrote: Thu Dec 17, 2020 5:01 pm This is the latest version I know.
This one works fine.

Memotech-MTX_20200925.rbf.zip
A big thank-you !!

I wasn't aware of this version. On the other hand in the OSD menu, it dates from 20200607
teller
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:29 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by teller »

Is there any tutorial how to make a running VHD? Thanks
User avatar
ron
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:02 pm
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ron »

Andy Z's web, he is the author of the Rememotech.
http://www.nyangau.org/rememotech/rememotech.htm

Cheers
User avatar
ponder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ponder »

Does anyone still have a vhd for this core? The dev site no longer seems to exist.
It appears to have been self hosted on a Sky Broadband connection. I don't know if it's been deliberately abandoned or if the IP address had changed but the DNS entry hasn't.
Image
jca
Posts: 1012
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by jca »

It was up a few days ago, I did not close my browser and I can see the page but sure enough I cannot refresh it or click on a link. May be it is temporary.
User avatar
ponder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ponder »

If that's the case I'll just try again in a few days. Thank you.
Image
User avatar
ponder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ponder »

I've managed to get the rememotech.zip file, created a vhd and can load .com games, but retape isn't working.
I first mounted the vhd (created with cat sddisc.bin sddisc1.bin >sddisc.vhd) then mtx and reset, which now boots from B:
I have tested with pacman and that's fine but when I try to add a file to the virtual cassette manager it just sits there as in the image (2 cursors flashing).

retape.png
retape.png (122.17 KiB) Viewed 2163 times
Image
User avatar
ponder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ponder »

As a workaround I can get it working by using slot 0, but do I actually need the external SD card to use retape properly?
If so that'll have to wait. My smallest spare card is 32GB and it's on loan ;)
Image
User avatar
ponder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ponder »

The site is back up so I can now figure out the instructions really easy, however retape does not seem to work at all. I've tried both with a mounted vhd and using the secondary sdcard. Is the retape command supported by the core for slot storage?
Image
FPGA64
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by FPGA64 »

I wish the core gave the option to just run it as a base Memotech 512 without all the CPM stuff. Thats the machine I owned without the then at the time vastly expensive CPM kit
User avatar
ponder
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:27 am
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by ponder »

This core is based on Andy's Rememotech project and I think it's making some compromises. Retape is one of those.
Sound is also off, but I'm still impressed at what we have here.
I could make possible suggestions to any dev willing to pick this up but I don't know how workable they'd be.
Eg. it could use the retape function to load mtx files (selected from the menu the way other cores work) and load directly into BASIC.
It could also use a different (existing) SN76489A core to improve the audio.
These are (of course) just ideas. I've don't have the first idea how to go about this and really don't expect it to be picked up, but when things are settled on the home front I'm going to make a video on how to use it for loading of many types of files.
I have created a 64MB vhd (which can be flashed to sd or mounted via the menu) with the 2 supplied partitions and 6 blanks and I intend to make this available (if nobody objects) when I make the video.
Disclaimer, I've never used a Memotech nor any emulator before I discovered this core!
Image
FPGA64
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Rememotech MTX ported to MiSTer by retrovader [Yo_Me]

Unread post by FPGA64 »

I owned from new a Memotech 512. It was a beautifully made Aluminium cased Computer which never really got much software support and so died commercially.

The Home versions never had CPM. They booted just to a command line. at this point you could type Noddy to go into a text parsing language, ASM to drop to an Assembler or just type basic programs or load a game.

The original manuals which I still own have the circuit diagrams for the whole computer.

You could buy for about a grand in the early 80's a floppy disk module but these were always way out of range for me at the time.
Post Reply