Compukit UK101 core

danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

NML32 wrote: Fri Aug 27, 2021 8:50 am
danielb wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 10:09 pmGreat video!
I had a question about the Super Invader graphics from the YT video I posted. :?:

Jac Goudsmit • 4 hours ago (edited)
Is there something wrong with the character set or the emulation? I've never seen this game on the UK101/Superboard before but if looks like the graphics are displayed wrong, like there's an off-by-one error in the emulation of the character ROM or something, so that it shows one pixel from the wrong character on each line or something.
Hi all,

I am posting here a development version with greatly improved graphic resolution and more memory. I am not sure whether I should release it, because the glitchy graphics are still there.
There seem to me to be two possibilities: either the character set itself it corrupted, or the VGA rendering doesn't work properly. I am leaning towards the first possibility, because the problem only manifests itself in certain graphic characters; text display is always fine. I will make some enquiries online and see if I can fix the problem.

Eventually I would like to redo the display the "MiSTer way", but that will take some time.

D.
Attachments
UK101_20210828.zip
(744.89 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Hi all,

Another update...

I have solved the graphic glitches. I worked out how to do things "the MiSTer way", dumped the VGA interface, and I am now feeding Grant Searle's original video through the Mister scaler etc.

The result is perfect graphics. At the moment only at 48x16 characters.

Needless to say, I am rather chuffed... :) It will take a while till I can release this, since not all details are working, and parts of the menu needs redoing, so I am just posting some pictures for now.

Thanks everyone for the feedback. I probably wouldn't even have noticed the problems without it.

D.
Attachments
pic3.jpg
pic3.jpg (73.25 KiB) Viewed 5178 times
pic2.jpg
pic2.jpg (69.88 KiB) Viewed 5178 times
pic1.jpg
pic1.jpg (81.28 KiB) Viewed 5178 times
EeDee
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

Good news and thanks for your work
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by NML32 »

@danielb, good job, that looks much better. :)
User avatar
pgimeno
Top Contributor
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:44 am
Has thanked: 246 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by pgimeno »

danielb wrote: Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:07 pm Hardware flow control needs to be on. This is set as default by Minicom, but may not be set in your script. I also tried the same thing you did but never worked out how to configure it.

D.
That was it, thanks! This sets the correct parameters to not depend on minicom:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
stty -F /dev/ttyS1 9600 cs8 -parenb -cstopb crtscts # 9600 8 N 1 Hardware flow control
ascii-xfr -sdv /media/fat/games/UK101/"$1" > /dev/ttyS1
The only change with respect to the previous script is the addition of crtscts (for hardware flow control through RTS/CTS)

Edit: And thanks for the MiSTer scaler update! I'm looking forward to the release.
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

pgimeno wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 1:15 am
danielb wrote: Fri Aug 27, 2021 9:07 pm Hardware flow control needs to be on. This is set as default by Minicom, but may not be set in your script. I also tried the same thing you did but never worked out how to configure it.

D.
That was it, thanks! This sets the correct parameters to not depend on minicom:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
stty -F /dev/ttyS1 9600 cs8 -parenb -cstopb crtscts # 9600 8 N 1 Hardware flow control
ascii-xfr -sdv /media/fat/games/UK101/"$1" > /dev/ttyS1
The only change with respect to the previous script is the addition of crtscts (for hardware flow control through RTS/CTS)

Edit: And thanks for the MiSTer scaler update! I'm looking forward to the release.
Glad you got it to work. This will be very useful.

D.
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Hi all,

Here's another development version. It has the new graphics system and 64K of RAM. You can play SuperInvaders with no graphics glitches.

All of the MiSTer scaling etc. seems to be working, except for the scandoubler effects and scan lines, which create a blurry misaligned picture. I have left it in, so if anyone has any idea where the problem could be, please let me know. I tried to make sure everything synced up, and I can't find what's wrong with it.

Anyway, this is a barebones implementation of the original UK101, and I would like to release this as a baseline release once the scandoubler problem is fixed (hopefully). After that, I'll add more features.

D.
Attachments
UK101_20210831.zip
(805.54 KiB) Downloaded 122 times
User avatar
pgimeno
Top Contributor
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:44 am
Has thanked: 246 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by pgimeno »

Thanks a lot, that's a huge improvement! Now the screen can be shown with uniform pixels, which was something that drove me mad in the previous version, and the screenshots also have uniform pixels. And the graphics of Super Invaders look great!

I don't care about the scandoubler FX, but something's wrong with the integer H/V scale. Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is wrong; it seems to change between resets (I used the menu reset only, not sure if it will be reproducible with Ctrl+LAlt+RAlt or the User button).

It can be reproduced as follows: 1) set Scale to Wider HV-Integer; 2) reset; 3) press C, Return, Return; 4) enter the following line (don't miss the semicolon): FORR=1TO48:?CHR$(187);:NEXT

Character 187 is a chequerboard pattern. When not all pixels are uniform, it should be apparent. It seems to happen about 50% of the time; the other 50% they look fine. For reference, the attached pic shows the problem when it isn't correct.
Attachments
nonuniform-pixel-columns.jpg
nonuniform-pixel-columns.jpg (43.03 KiB) Viewed 4799 times
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

pgimeno wrote: Wed Sep 01, 2021 1:37 am Thanks a lot, that's a huge improvement! Now the screen can be shown with uniform pixels, which was something that drove me mad in the previous version, and the screenshots also have uniform pixels. And the graphics of Super Invaders look great!

I don't care about the scandoubler FX, but something's wrong with the integer H/V scale. Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is wrong; it seems to change between resets (I used the menu reset only, not sure if it will be reproducible with Ctrl+LAlt+RAlt or the User button).

It can be reproduced as follows: 1) set Scale to Wider HV-Integer; 2) reset; 3) press C, Return, Return; 4) enter the following line (don't miss the semicolon): FORR=1TO48:?CHR$(187);:NEXT

Character 187 is a chequerboard pattern. When not all pixels are uniform, it should be apparent. It seems to happen about 50% of the time; the other 50% they look fine. For reference, the attached pic shows the problem when it isn't correct.

Hi,

Thanks very much for looking into this. I'll see if I can fix it...

D.
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

pgimeno wrote: Wed Sep 01, 2021 1:37 am Thanks a lot, that's a huge improvement! Now the screen can be shown with uniform pixels, which was something that drove me mad in the previous version, and the screenshots also have uniform pixels. And the graphics of Super Invaders look great!

I don't care about the scandoubler FX, but something's wrong with the integer H/V scale. Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is wrong; it seems to change between resets (I used the menu reset only, not sure if it will be reproducible with Ctrl+LAlt+RAlt or the User button).

It can be reproduced as follows: 1) set Scale to Wider HV-Integer; 2) reset; 3) press C, Return, Return; 4) enter the following line (don't miss the semicolon): FORR=1TO48:?CHR$(187);:NEXT

Character 187 is a chequerboard pattern. When not all pixels are uniform, it should be apparent. It seems to happen about 50% of the time; the other 50% they look fine. For reference, the attached pic shows the problem when it isn't correct.
Hi,

I think that the attached version solves the uneven pixel problem.

It seems to me that this kind of detail actually differs slightly depending on the resolution and aspect ratio of your display, so I would really appreciate some feedback on whether this version looks OK to you.

I think I am going to release this version, with scandoubler effects removed from the menu; it is much better than the current official version, and a good base for future improvements. I was kind of hoping that fixing the pixel problem would also fix the scandoubler, but, although it is better than it was before, it is still not right.

D.
Attachments
UK101_20210901.zip
(808.54 KiB) Downloaded 109 times
EeDee
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

Hi Daniel,
On previous releases the characters were not very sharp which I took for a problem with my monitor which is quite small but they are sharper now.
What I am getting is a slightly unstable image. A slight right/left jitter.
User avatar
pgimeno
Top Contributor
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:44 am
Has thanked: 246 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by pgimeno »

Thanks, I'm still experiencing problems with that version. This time it mostly works, but sometimes it changes spontaneously with no apparent reason to trigger it, and some time later it changes back to good.

I think Sorg once said or implied that it's indeed tied to the resolutions. Mine is 1920x1080 in case that helps.
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

EeDee wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 6:13 pm Hi Daniel,
On previous releases the characters were not very sharp which I took for a problem with my monitor which is quite small but they are sharper now.
What I am getting is a slightly unstable image. A slight right/left jitter.
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I can only replicate this if vsync_adjust=0 in my Mister.ini. If it is set to vsync_adjust=1 I get a very stable image.

D.
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

pgimeno wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 6:23 pm Thanks, I'm still experiencing problems with that version. This time it mostly works, but sometimes it changes spontaneously with no apparent reason to trigger it, and some time later it changes back to good.

I think Sorg once said or implied that it's indeed tied to the resolutions. Mine is 1920x1080 in case that helps.
Hi, thanks again for checking.

After staring at the screen for several minutes, I saw what you describe. I'll take a look at it.

D.
EeDee
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

danielb wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 7:59 pm
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I can only replicate this if vsync_adjust=0 in my Mister.ini. If it is set to vsync_adjust=1 I get a very stable image.

D.
Thanks I'll check
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by NML32 »

I'm not able to load minicom with MiSTer OS version 210831.
Is anyone else getting "command not found" when trying to run minicom?
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

pgimeno wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 6:23 pm Thanks, I'm still experiencing problems with that version. This time it mostly works, but sometimes it changes spontaneously with no apparent reason to trigger it, and some time later it changes back to good.

I think Sorg once said or implied that it's indeed tied to the resolutions. Mine is 1920x1080 in case that helps.
Hi,

I suddenly realised what my mistake was...

I have now locked the system clock, the pixel clock, and pixel drawing in perfect sync (I hope). This version reports a completely consistent resolution and refresh rate every time the core is loaded (it varied at the second digit after the decimal point before), and, as far as I can see, produces perfectly even pixels in HV-Integer mode. This is quite an adventure for a noob like me, I had to go in and rewrite a significant chunk of Grant Searle's video code :shock:

Again, I'd really appreciate it if you could verify my testing.

D.
Attachments
UK101_20210902-2.zip
(790.05 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

NML32 wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 8:29 pm I'm not able to load minicom with MiSTer OS version 210831.
Is anyone else getting "command not found" when trying to run minicom?
Hi, you're right, I can't load it either. :shock:

I also can't sync my bluetooth keyboard anymore.

D.
User avatar
Alkadian
Top Contributor
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 289 times
Been thanked: 116 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by Alkadian »

NML32 wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 8:29 pm I'm not able to load minicom with MiSTer OS version 210831.
Is anyone else getting "command not found" when trying to run minicom?
Yes, same here.
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

Deleted. ;)
User avatar
pgimeno
Top Contributor
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:44 am
Has thanked: 246 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by pgimeno »

Thanks a lot danielb! The new core works perfectly, as does the released core. It seems you hit the nail in the head!

As for the minicom issue, maybe someone with a GitHub account can report it? I guess the right repository is https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Linux_I ... Ter/issues
EeDee
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

EeDee wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 8:26 pm
danielb wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 7:59 pm
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I can only replicate this if vsync_adjust=0 in my Mister.ini. If it is set to vsync_adjust=1 I get a very stable image.

D.
Thanks I'll check
Your new release fixed it without adjustment from me.
Thanks for your efforts. I'm enjoying your journey :-D
Do you have plans to reinstate 64x32 at some point?
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

EeDee wrote: Fri Sep 03, 2021 2:14 pm
EeDee wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 8:26 pm
danielb wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 7:59 pm
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I can only replicate this if vsync_adjust=0 in my Mister.ini. If it is set to vsync_adjust=1 I get a very stable image.

D.
Thanks I'll check
Your new release fixed it without adjustment from me.
Thanks for your efforts. I'm enjoying your journey :-D
Do you have plans to reinstate 64x32 at some point?
Hi,

Good to hear it's working OK. Yes I will be reinstating the 64x32 mode, although I suspect it will be more involved than in the previous version...

D.
EeDee
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by EeDee »

Looking forward to seeing it
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by NML32 »

A few things I noticed about the UK101 core since I made my YT video on Aug 24, 2021.

- The video looks weird on my HDMI TV.
- The video looks good on my PVM. Maybe a little too close to the left side of the screen.
- The screen rolls on Component video.
- I'm not sure if this is a bug. I noticed this after watching a YT video linked below. After you press C then A for Memory Size you should get a message that says "This is the COMPUKIT UK101" On the MiSTer "is is the COMPUKIT UK101" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aD844aXw9z8 Around :35

My Sony PVM
UK101-PVM.JPEG
UK101-PVM.JPEG (149.7 KiB) Viewed 4233 times
My HDMI TV
UK101-TV_HDMI.JPEG
UK101-TV_HDMI.JPEG (161.66 KiB) Viewed 4233 times
danielb
Core Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Compukit UK101 core

Unread post by danielb »

    Hi,

    What resolution is your MiSTer reporting on the HDMI monitor? That is exactly what mine looks like with the scandoubler fx switched on, which is why I removed it from the menu.
    I don't really have any way to test anything other than HDMI, so thanks for letting me know about the component video.
    As for the ROM message..... :o


    Rgds, D.
    User avatar
    NML32
    Posts: 288
    Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
    Has thanked: 272 times
    Been thanked: 43 times

    Re: Compukit UK101 core

    Unread post by NML32 »

    danielb wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 8:59 pm
      Hi,

      What resolution is your MiSTer reporting on the HDMI monitor? That is exactly what mine looks like with the scandoubler fx switched on, which is why I removed it from the menu.
      I don't really have any way to test anything other than HDMI, so thanks for letting me know about the composite video.
      As for the ROM message..... :o


      Rgds, D.
      The MiSTer connected to my TV is reporting (Bad Text)
      494x512 31.16KHz 49.6Hz
      1920x1080 148.50MHz 60.0Hz

      My AOC HDMI monitor is reporting (Bad Text)
      494x512 31.16KHz 49.6Hz
      1920x1440 185.20MHz 60.0Hz

      My PVM monitor is reporting (Good looking Text)
      494x256 15.58KHz 49.6Hz
      1920x1440 153.12MHz 49.6Hz
      danielb
      Core Developer
      Posts: 227
      Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
      Has thanked: 41 times
      Been thanked: 64 times

      Re: Compukit UK101 core

      Unread post by danielb »

      That is double resolution. HDMI on my monitor is 494x256 at 15.58 khz. Could it be a setting in your ini file? I have yet to find out why double resolution is not working right. I was wondering whether it might be because it has rectangular pixels which take up two scanlines.

      D.
      User avatar
      NML32
      Posts: 288
      Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
      Has thanked: 272 times
      Been thanked: 43 times

      Re: Compukit UK101 core

      Unread post by NML32 »

      I changed forced_scandoubler=1 to forced_scandoubler=0 now the text looks normal.
      ; set to 1 to run scandoubler on VGA output always (depends on core).

      494x256 15.58KHz 49.6Hz
      1920x1080 148.50MHz 60Hz
      danielb
      Core Developer
      Posts: 227
      Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:43 pm
      Has thanked: 41 times
      Been thanked: 64 times

      Re: Compukit UK101 core

      Unread post by danielb »

      Excellent :D

      D.
      Post Reply