No picture in SNES direct video mode

MrX_Cuci
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:09 pm

No picture in SNES direct video mode

Unread post by MrX_Cuci »

Digital IO board connected to a hdmi to vga converter (ag6200 chipset) 128MB RAM, USB hub board. The setup is connected to a 15Khz capable Dell U2311H TN panel monitor. (manual and specs: https://downloads.dell.com/manuals/all- ... _en-us.pdf I tested several cores and they all work in direct video mode=1

According to https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... patibility NES and SNES share the same frequency. NES works perfectly, SNES does not. OSD menu shows briefly, but disappears. (Flickering with huge intervals) No message from monitor, so it looks like it gets a signal.

What I already tried:
SD card issue, seemed plausible at first because chkdsk gave me an error on the SD card. Reformatted and used Mt. Fusion install method.
Tried the SNES core release before the newest release.
Tried different cores, like Genesis, Mega CD, NES, TGFX16, NeoGeo. Those all work.

I hope you guys can tell me what might be wrong. Any other suggestions to try are welcome.
MrX_Cuci
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:09 pm

Re: No picture in SNES direct video mode

Unread post by MrX_Cuci »

Update on this. Some other cores don't work either in direct_video=1 mode. The Minimig core works fine though. Everything I trow at it just plain works. Even the weirdest resolutions. If anyone has any suggestions, let me know.

Also tried a different hdmi to vga adapter (Logilink), same result. Work fine with direct_video=0
mapf
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:05 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: No picture in SNES direct video mode

Unread post by mapf »

What happens in the SNES core with

Code: Select all

forced_scandoubler=1
?
MrX_Cuci
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:09 pm

Re: No picture in SNES direct video mode

Unread post by MrX_Cuci »

Thanks for getting back to me. Unfortunately not a reliable picture either with forced_scandoubler=1. At some point it output 720x480, but it's not stable. Could it be a SDRAM issue? Mine fails at the 48Mhz Jotego test. 96Mhz works fine though.

This is the basic config I use:
[MiSTer]
;VIDEO MODE
video_mode = 0
;VIDEO SETTINGS
menu_pal = 0
dvi_mode = 0
fb_terminal = 1
fb_size = 0
video_info = 5
hdmi_limited = 2
vsync_adjust = 0
;VGA SETTINGS
forced_scandoubler = 0
ypbpr = 0
composite_sync = 1
vga_scaler = 0
direct_video = 1
;VIDEO SCALING
vscale_mode = 0
vscale_border = 0
;AUDIO SETTINGS
hdmi_audio_96k = 0
volumectl = 1
;MISC SETTINGS
key_menu_as_rgui = 0
rbf_hide_datecode = 0
;bootscreen = 0
recents = 1
gamepad_defaults = 1
keyrah_mode = 0x18d80002
reset_combo = 0
osd_timeout = 30
bootcore_timeout = 10

PS Even the memtest utility does not work in direct_video=1 mode.
Post Reply