.CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Marauder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:42 am

.CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by Marauder »

Audio and video are out of sync on the .CHD I converted. Original I created it from is fine.
Not sure if this is the same for other PC Engine CD games, but its very obvious in this title. Tried with original Japanese and some English translations, result is the same.

Mega CD games I've converted are playing correctly as far as I can tell.

Could someone try Rondo and see if they get sync issues as a .CHD.

Thanks.
12characters
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by 12characters »

I recently noticed this as well. It appears that PREGAP is not handled correctly after conversion to CHD. I do not know whether it is a limitation of the format or due to the implementation in MiSTer.

Anyhow, my solution was to find CD images that have been ripped without using PREGAP. A such image of the original Japanese version of Rondo of Blood can be found on the Internet. I have not found one of the fan-translated version though. A working CD image has entries like these in the CUE file:

Code: Select all

  TRACK 02 MODE1/2352
    INDEX 00 00:00:00
    INDEX 01 00:03:00
instead of:

Code: Select all

  TRACK 02 MODE1/2048
    PREGAP 00:03:00
    INDEX 01 00:48:65
dshadoff
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:30 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by dshadoff »

Does the non-CHD version still work properly, or has that also been affected ?
12characters
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by 12characters »

dshadoff wrote: Wed Jan 13, 2021 3:38 pm Does the non-CHD version still work properly, or has that also been affected ?
The BIN/CUE version works properly.

Running the CHD-converted image appears to have the same sync issues as running the BIN/CUE version after deleting PREGAP entries in the CUE file. For example, the intro to Rondo of Blood starts mid-sentence.
Marauder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:42 am

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by Marauder »

Thats it, I've got a pile of CDRs for the Duo-R. I used Imgburn I think to rip them when support arrived on Mister, no problems with those rips until now.
Just tried a rip of translated Rondo CDR I have using CloneCD and it works fine when converted to chd.

I'll convert them all again over the next few days. Thanks for help.
zakk4223
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:55 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by zakk4223 »

I'll take a look and make sure it isn't something I mishandled in converting the chd metainfo into a mister friendly TOC. Although the fact changing it from PREGAP to INDEX 00 might point at something going on with chdman. Perhaps there's something subtle I missed, though.
dshadoff
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:30 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by dshadoff »

Well, before playing around with all sorts of formats and modified files, I was hoping to understand about the CHD modifications - which seem to have caused a bug which needs to be fixed.

Two things I understand about the CHD modifications (which are not mine, and are very invasive - and I am not likely to be able to correct in any case):

1) There sounds like there is an issue with playing that image of that game as a CHD.
-> This should be stated as a bug in Main-MiSTer, as that's where the CHD code resides.

2) They not only implemented a large amount of functionality by creating CHD accessibility; they changed the existing access code. This is why I am asking whether the same image - used without CHD - has the same problem.
-> If images which worked fine prior to the CHD update no longer work properly - as was the case with SegaCD recently - this would be a major concern.

At the moment, I can't clearly understand what is being stated.
12characters
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by 12characters »

dshadoff wrote: Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:05 pm -> If images which worked fine prior to the CHD update no longer work properly - as was the case with SegaCD recently - this would be a major concern.

At the moment, I can't clearly understand what is being stated.
Sorry for not being clear. Images which worked fine prior to the CHD update still work properly as far as I can tell. There are only issues if converting them to CHD.
Marauder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:42 am

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by Marauder »

The image I created the CHD from still works fine.
chimaera
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:53 am

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by chimaera »

I don't think you'll have to worry about official games that has been checked against redump .dat, my jap Rondo of Blood works perfectly with sound and speach in .chd format.
Fanpatches or hacks was sometimes applied to bad rips, and some rips floating around the internet seems to be bad.
dshadoff
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:30 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by dshadoff »

Yes, this was my point - the TGFX/PC Engine core was in a very good working state with substantial coverage of games before the CHD change, and I haven't personally played much since it was released. I'm a little apprehensive and worry about the possibility of upsetting existing functionality for changes like that.

...And bad rips have been a source of problems/confusion for over 20 years...
zakk4223
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:55 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by zakk4223 »

Ah, think I've fixed it. When chdman converts a PREGAP track the meta data is slightly different than if it uses INDEX 00. (Related to the pregap data being in the image or not). Requires adjusting the track start+end lba differently.

I'll do some more testing and submit a PR soon.
Marauder
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:42 am

Re: .CHD out of sync - Rondo of Blood

Unread post by Marauder »

That's good news you've found an issue.
I won't convert my CDRs, thanks.
Post Reply