Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

JETFIRE13
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:38 am

Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by JETFIRE13 »

Hello! I was trying to play Super Mario Land 2 and no matter what version or revision I try, the sprites are corrupted. Mario is invisible and there’s odd sprites on the screen. I tried the several USA revisions and even the Japanese rom and they are all doing the same thing.

Just wanted to see if this was an isolated issue or if anyone else was experiencing the same issues I am.

Thanks and have a great night!
JETFIRE13
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:38 am

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by JETFIRE13 »

Apparently this is an open defect. Disregard.
FPGAzumSpass
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption.

Unread post by FPGAzumSpass »

Already fixed by Paul.

You can grab a testbuild here:
https://github.com/MiSTer-unstable-nigh ... 1_822b.rbf
morgoth
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:25 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by morgoth »

I'm seeing very similar issues with "Wario Land - Super mario land 3"; is the root cause (and fix) the same?
Thanks,
Jberb98
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2021 4:28 pm

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by Jberb98 »

Yeah I've been having the same issue with "Wario Land - Super mario land 3" idk why or how to fix it so... if this helps with this too, that would be much appreciated.
morgoth
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:25 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption.

Unread post by morgoth »

Hi there,
While we wait for the above fix to be officially released/rolled out, can somebody please tell me how to "apply" the above .rbf as my new gameboy core? Also, if I do this, will a newer gameboy rbf automatically overwrite it if I do an update_all?
Thanks much
Stupid Dufus
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 12:04 am
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by Stupid Dufus »

Should be able to simply copy the rbf to where the other console cores are: /media/fat/_Console

Might need to rename the existing GB core so it doesn't interfere. Not sure. Just add ".bak" to the end of the old GB core. Or delete the old one completely if you don't think you'll go back to it.
morgoth
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:25 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by morgoth »

Stupid Dufus,
Replacing the .rbf in this manner seems to work. Thank you!
However, and this may be unrelated, are you still able to apply custom palettes? At some point after updating to the newest Gameboy core (Gameboy_20210930.rbf), switching palettes doesn't seem to have any effect...
Thanks!
morgoth
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:25 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by morgoth »

Just to close this out, the problem I described in my prior post was the result of user error, see here:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=3547

Thanks
morgoth
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:25 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Super Mario Land 2 Sprite corruption

Unread post by morgoth »

The sprite corruption issue has been fixed:
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (5.85 KiB) Viewed 381 times
Post Reply