GBA core and BVM question

slai50
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 12:14 am

GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by slai50 »

For those who are using mister with BVM monitors, if you run GBA core on a mister connected to a BVM-20F1U, will there be black borders around the picture or will it be full screen?
Atohmdiy
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:20 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Atohmdiy »

I just finish metal slug advance with my mitser in direct video and my BVM-20F1E
In direct video you get a small image as it is in gba native resolution. You need the scaler to get something full screen but as gba resolution is not a multiple of the standard 320x240 res you are not suppose to end up with something great.
slai50
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 12:14 am

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by slai50 »

When you say scaler do you mean something like the OSSC?
Peredonov
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 4:04 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Peredonov »

The MiSTer has a scaler function that can work for the "VGA"/analogue output just as it works on the HDMI digital output. But if your monitor is not multisync the scaled output may not be displayable on it.
Sigismond0
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

GBA has a resolution of 240x160. So native display will take up about 2/3 the height of your screen and 3/4 the width (approximations here). If you want it to take up the full width, you'd need to enable the scaler as mentioned. But you can't just double it, because 480x320p is too large to display on a 15khz display. You'll have to do a 1.25x or 1.5x scale, and that leaves you with uneven pixels and a very bad image overall.

Anyway, if you want to see what it looks like with the scaler enabled, try adding this to your ini file:

[GBA]
video_mode=320,8,32,24,240,4,3,16,6048
vga_scaler=1
vsync_adjust=2
vscale_mode=0

Edit: If you have a multisync display, someone else has posted these settings, which should be integer scaled and near fullscreen:

[GBA]
video_mode=856,40,80,120,642,3,4,19,43750
vscale_mode=1
vsync_adjust=2
User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:44 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Brettster »

Do those only work with a BVM / PVM? when I try the first one on a 15hkz CRT TV, I see the start up image briefly appear then it goes out of sync
Arcade, Video Game and Tech Junkie
Sigismond0
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

I've used the first one personally, and it works fine on my PVM-20M2MDU. Doesn't look great, but runs just fine. That's copied directly out of my alt ini, and I just used it yesterday. Can't speak for the second, as my PVM isn't multiformat.
User avatar
Brettster
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:44 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Brettster »

Thanks, I guess its just my generic TV that doesn't like it :(
Arcade, Video Game and Tech Junkie
Sigismond0
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GBA core and BVM question

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

Interesting. If I recall correctly, I had initially used those settings on a consumer Trinitron set so I'd expect them to work there, too.
Post Reply