Interesting little freeze on Chu Chu Rocket

MadDog

Interesting little freeze on Chu Chu Rocket

Unread post by MadDog »

While playing Chu Chu Rocket, I noticed a little freeze while it 'generated' the 3D effect of the rocket taking off when all the Chu Chu's are loaded on the rocket. Eventually it unfreezes and the game continues, but I have the real GBA cart of this game, and that never occurs.

Duplicatable (is that a word?) every time on every level. I'd capture it, but I currently don't have a way of doing a direct capture. Maybe someone else can confirm they notice the same thing? If not, I'll find a way of capturing it, even if it means a crude phone video.

I'm new to MiSTer, so it is completely and entirely possible I've missed setting something. I did try the Turbo option in the OSD, and that helps speed up the time it's frozen (from maybe 2 seconds down to 1 second or less).
FPGAzumSpass
Core Developer

Re: Interesting little freeze on Chu Chu Rocket

Unread post by FPGAzumSpass »

Can reproduce it and will look into.

While it's not really annoying or a big problem, i'm interested what takes so long there.
MadDog

Unread post by MadDog »

FPGAzumSpass wrote: Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:38 pm Can reproduce it and will look into.

While it's not really annoying or a big problem, i'm interested what takes so long there.
Thank you! I thought it was worth bringing up just for the sake of curiosity, so I'm in the same boat. Sadly, I'm not well versed in understanding how cores work... YET. Otherwise, I would love to contribute.
FPGAzumSpass
Core Developer

Unread post by FPGAzumSpass »

What takes so long there is the game writing to flash memory, probably to save that the level is done.

The game has a counter stored in 0x030061AC that counts down and it exits the save loop once it reached 1.

Each time it counts down, it has written one flash address and read it again, probably to check if saving was ok.