SMS core only shows SEGA logo

rubeon
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:55 pm

SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by rubeon »

New MiSTER without SDRAM board here

When I load any ROM in the SMS core, it only shows the Sega logo and doesn't progress to the game. Is there some step I'm missing?

Other cores that don't require SDRAM are working properly (Genesis, GBA, etc.)

Core: SMS_20200602.rbf

Thanks
User avatar
Nat
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:28 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Nat »

According to the list on the Wiki the SMS requires a memory board.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... -use-SDRAM
MiSTer FPGA Add-On Boards : UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
TailsGuy
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 6:08 pm

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by TailsGuy »

Do you have the BIOS?
User avatar
Threepwood
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:14 am
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Threepwood »

TailsGuy wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:50 pm Do you have the BIOS?
There is no BIOS needed.
chimaera
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:53 am
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by chimaera »

Threepwood wrote: Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:49 am
TailsGuy wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:50 pm Do you have the BIOS?
There is no BIOS needed.
Unless you are nostalgic for Snail Maze :D
User avatar
Reed_Solomon
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:37 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Reed_Solomon »

rubeon wrote: Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:58 pm New MiSTER without SDRAM board here

When I load any ROM in the SMS core, it only shows the Sega logo and doesn't progress to the game. Is there some step I'm missing?

Other cores that don't require SDRAM are working properly (Genesis, GBA, etc.)

Core: SMS_20200602.rbf

Thanks
Wait, does SMS not require SDRAM? I thought it did.
User avatar
darksakul
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by darksakul »

Reed_Solomon wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:47 am Wait, does SMS not require SDRAM? I thought it did.
The SMS core does require SDRAM.

Only the GBA, Genesis, and the PC Engine Core does not require the SD RAM board.
It is my great regret that we live in an age that is proud of machines that think and suspicious of people who try to.
vxand
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:18 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by vxand »

Hello. Having same problem here and got 128. When I enter SMS core it only shows Sega logo and freeze too.
Used upload_all and nothing changes. Some help please? Thanks in advance.
vxand
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:18 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by vxand »

Hello. After it says SEGA, press the OSD button on the board if you have it and choose your game and will do it then. Here it worked that way.
zorrobandito
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 5 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by zorrobandito »

It sounds like you're doing everything right. I have an SDRAM board and can confirm Master System is working well.
Post Reply