SMS core only shows SEGA logo

rubeon
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:55 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by rubeon »

New MiSTER without SDRAM board here

When I load any ROM in the SMS core, it only shows the Sega logo and doesn't progress to the game. Is there some step I'm missing?

Other cores that don't require SDRAM are working properly (Genesis, GBA, etc.)

Core: SMS_20200602.rbf

Thanks
User avatar
Nat
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:28 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Been thanked: 38 times
Contact:

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Nat »

According to the list on the Wiki the SMS requires a memory board.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... -use-SDRAM
MiSTer FPGA Add-On Boards : UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
TailsGuy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 6:08 pm

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by TailsGuy »

Do you have the BIOS?
User avatar
Threepwood
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:14 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Threepwood »

TailsGuy wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:50 pm Do you have the BIOS?
There is no BIOS needed.
chimaera
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:53 am
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by chimaera »

Threepwood wrote: Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:49 am
TailsGuy wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:50 pm Do you have the BIOS?
There is no BIOS needed.
Unless you are nostalgic for Snail Maze :D
User avatar
Reed_Solomon
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:37 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Reed_Solomon »

rubeon wrote: Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:58 pm New MiSTER without SDRAM board here

When I load any ROM in the SMS core, it only shows the Sega logo and doesn't progress to the game. Is there some step I'm missing?

Other cores that don't require SDRAM are working properly (Genesis, GBA, etc.)

Core: SMS_20200602.rbf

Thanks
Wait, does SMS not require SDRAM? I thought it did.
User avatar
darksakul
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 283 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by darksakul »

Reed_Solomon wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:47 am Wait, does SMS not require SDRAM? I thought it did.
The SMS core does require SDRAM.

Only the GBA, Genesis, and the PC Engine Core does not require the SD RAM board.
It is my great regret that we live in an age that is proud of machines that think and suspicious of people who try to.
vxand
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:18 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by vxand »

Hello. Having same problem here and got 128. When I enter SMS core it only shows Sega logo and freeze too.
Used upload_all and nothing changes. Some help please? Thanks in advance.
vxand
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:18 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by vxand »

Hello. After it says SEGA, press the OSD button on the board if you have it and choose your game and will do it then. Here it worked that way.
zorrobandito
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by zorrobandito »

It sounds like you're doing everything right. I have an SDRAM board and can confirm Master System is working well.
rubeon
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:55 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by rubeon »

For posterity: It was indeed the missing SDRAM that caused the issue; I ordered it and then everything started working so great that I forgot to follow up here!

Thanks for the input, gang.
Ikefix
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 4:49 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Ikefix »

rubeon wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:55 am For posterity: It was indeed the missing SDRAM that caused the issue; I ordered it and then everything started working so great that I forgot to follow up here!

Thanks for the input, gang.
I'm happy for you.
My solution was way different.

I already had the sdram

I remapped the joystick with a xbox controller because I was getting nothing with me pushing the 8bitdo like an idiot and I noticed that I got access to the sms core menu; I choose Sonic game and after that I swapped the xbox controller for the 8bitdo.

I love Mister project, but it is not plug and play. And I love it because it is not plug and play. The feeling of having sorted out this silly thing by myself and not having paid 50+ dollars for another sdram makes me feel as a child again.

Cheers
User avatar
marcelosofth
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by marcelosofth »

Hello friends, any updates on how to choose Bios at startup of each game?
User avatar
darksakul
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 283 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by darksakul »

marcelosofth wrote: Mon Oct 11, 2021 1:05 pm Hello friends, any updates on how to choose Bios at startup of each game?
Any reason you would need this?

The Bios don't region lock games
It is my great regret that we live in an age that is proud of machines that think and suspicious of people who try to.
Yim
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2021 11:51 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by Yim »

It’s hardly essential, but I’d like to have the Sega logo at the start come up the way it did on my old console. Plus the bios we have is imperfect: there are a couple of games that won’t run correctly with it on.
User avatar
marcelosofth
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by marcelosofth »

Every Master System from around the world has its own Bios, so having the option to choose the Bios in which we had our Master System at the time is the most correct and beautiful, as it is possible in Retroarch ^_^
pcfreak324
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by pcfreak324 »

marcelosofth wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:30 pm Every Master System from around the world has its own Bios, so having the option to choose the Bios in which we had our Master System at the time is the most correct and beautiful, as it is possible in Retroarch ^_^
If you just want a BIOS to be loaded at the start of the core, then this is already possible.

Get the desired BIOS, use a hex editor to remove the cartridge check (or get a premodified BIOS, for example from here: https://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topi ... 8#msg68358), rename it to boot.rom and place it in the folder \games\SMS\.
User avatar
marcelosofth
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:03 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: SMS core only shows SEGA logo

Unread post by marcelosofth »

I'm currently using it so I put "boot.rom" in the SMS directory, when loading the CORE enters Bios, it's not correct, but you can fool the nostalgia for now, but the mail is loading the Bios at the beginning of each game and not at the start of Core!
Post Reply