Cannot Load Any ROMs

genjurro
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:29 pm

Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by genjurro »

Hi,

I'm struggling to get the core working: I don't manage to load any NeoGeo roms.
I just got empty directories when browsing.

I followed the guide on wiki:
- created a Neogeo directory on root filesystem
- put inside bios required files:
uni-bios.rom
000-lo.lo
sfix.sfix

- put inside romsets.xml from github: https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/NeoGeo_ ... omsets.xml
- downloaded Darksoft at archive.org which contains games directories with the following files per directory: crom0, fpga, m1rom, prom, srom, vroma0
- Put all these game directories inside Neogeo directory
- change to unibios in core settings

any idea on what i've missed ?
Can't wait to try these neogeo games with lag-free experience :)

Thanks !
User avatar
bazza_12
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:49 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by bazza_12 »

has the uni-bios loaded? check with f12, it should say 'Bios - Uni-bios'
what happens when you try to load a rom? does it say directory not found? does it list the roms in the folder?
might be worth adding sp-s2.sp1 (MVS) & neo-epo.sp1 (AES) to your neogeo directory?
The music is reversible but time is not. Turn back. Turn back
genjurro
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by genjurro »

I've added both sp-s2.sp1 (MVS) & neo-epo.sp1 (AES) to neogeo directory. No change
when i click on 'Open a ROM set *.*' , i'm landing into neogeo directory that is listing all games directories but when i enter each of them, the core is not seeing any files inside.
genjurro
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by genjurro »

Hi bazza_12,

well black screen when hitting F12. No 'Bios - Uni bios'.
Seems Bios is not loaded ?
how can i load it ?

i don't have such issue with other Bios (MegaCd, PcEngine-CD,...).
Just dropping the good Bios file in games/MegaCd directory and then core loads it automatically.
genjurro
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by genjurro »

managed to solve it somehow !

I removed neogeo folder on the root and just kept neogeo folder inside /games.
Also i've removed .rbf core file from SD card and redownload it. I've seen that it has downloaded a new romsets.xml file in games/Neogeo folder.
User avatar
bazza_12
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:49 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by bazza_12 »

nice one, glad you have it sorted..
The music is reversible but time is not. Turn back. Turn back
genjurro
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:29 pm

Re: Cannot Load Any ROMs

Unread post by genjurro »

thanks man.
this thing was driving me crazy :)
Post Reply