Atari 2600

KremlingKuthroat19
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2020 3:08 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by KremlingKuthroat19 »

Just wanna thank you guys for implementing my request for dedicated buttons for the B&W switch and the P1 and P2 difficulty switches. It works great! Also, adding stereo support was a nice feature I didn't expect.
User avatar
JWDog
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 6:54 pm
Has thanked: 28 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by JWDog »

Hi Mister friends, I am having trouble with Deadly Duck being jittery, any ideas on the video settings to fix, or is anyone else having this issue with this game? Please help. Thx.
User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by kathleen »

Just tested and same issue here. Whatever the options (Vblank, De-com, Aspect etc) I have graphic problems (jumping up and down by few pixels and seems to be a bit faster than the original.
Edit : According to the videos I saw on the net the speed seems to be correct. It is a nervous game.
User avatar
JWDog
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 6:54 pm
Has thanked: 28 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by JWDog »

The Mister Atari2600 Compatibility Sheet is awesome that NML32 created, however I am curious if there is a way to have like an .ini files or something to somehow setup the video, audio settings, etc (core settings) for individual roms? so it is a more automatic process... just curious

I know you can setup the core settings at start in the mister.ini thx
gordonfish
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:04 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by gordonfish »

I was trying Jr. Pac-Man for Atari 2600 on my MiSTer and while other ROMs all seem to run fine (including regular Pac-Man), Jr. Pac-Man seems to have a strange issue, where pellets do not disappear when they are eaten. The same rom works fine in Stella and RetroArch on my computer; the pellets correctly vanish upon being consumed.

I have enclosed some screenshots (taken using the win+prints-creen keys on a keyboard - I can also take a photo of the monitor if requested.)

Has anyone else noticed this, and could anyone confirm this on their MiSTer?

Thanks,
-gfish


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Brief summary of my set up:

MiSTer_20201106
Atari2600_20201106.rbf
Jr. Pac-Man (USA).a26, 36c29ceee2c151b23a1ad7aa04bd529d, matching the one in the list at https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Atari2600_MiSTer
Output: HDMI to 1080p TV that I otherwise use as a secondary monitor.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Attachments
20201118_165906-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_165906-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (658 Bytes) Viewed 1398 times
20201118_165901-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_165901-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (698 Bytes) Viewed 1398 times
20201118_165849-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_165849-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (663 Bytes) Viewed 1398 times
20201118_165846-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_165846-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (699 Bytes) Viewed 1398 times
20201118_165843-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_165843-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (716 Bytes) Viewed 1398 times
20201118_165916-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_165916-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (650 Bytes) Viewed 1398 times
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by NML32 »

@gordonfish Jr. Pacman is a SuperChip cart so just change the extension to .00s
gordonfish
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:04 am
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by gordonfish »

NML32 wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 2:27 am @gordonfish Jr. Pacman is a SuperChip cart so just change the extension to .00s
Thanks, that did it! [1] I didn't realize the file extension would make that difference. (I guess I should have read the this part of the README.md a bit closer :) ) I've also never seen .00s in any Atari emulator before, nor was I too keen on what games use SuperChip. Thanks again for your help.

[1]
Attachments
20201118_211719-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png
20201118_211719-Jr. Pac-Man (USA).png (755 Bytes) Viewed 1340 times
venice
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 9:29 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by venice »

thorr wrote: Mon Aug 24, 2020 10:29 pm I have an unofficial core that supports SNAC and works with my Atari Paddles.
...
Any chance that I can test this unofficial Atari core?

Cheers
My tty2oled Add-On
thorr
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by thorr »

Is it allowed to just share unreleased cores here? I don't want to get in trouble. I wish the SNAC code would just get included in the main build. A developer has the code but is probably super busy and hasn't gotten to including it yet.
WolfgangBlack
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2020 3:19 am
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by WolfgangBlack »

thorr wrote: Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:58 am Is it allowed to just share unreleased cores here? I don't want to get in trouble. I wish the SNAC code would just get included in the main build. A developer has the code but is probably super busy and hasn't gotten to including it yet.
Post a link.
People share unreleased cores all the time.
The core owner is the one who controls it so if they are ok with that you're 100% good to go.
thorr
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by thorr »

I got it through a MiSTer parts seller who knows the developer and was working with me to test and fix the SNAC issues once I got it. I didn't get it directly. I don't know if the author cares or not about sharing it. :-( I could post the name of the author, but I don't want him/her to be hounded by y'all.
venice
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 9:29 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by venice »

thorr wrote: Mon Nov 30, 2020 4:50 am I got it through a MiSTer parts seller who knows the developer and was working with me to test and fix the SNAC issues once I got it. I didn't get it directly. I don't know if the author cares or not about sharing it. :-( I could post the name of the author, but I don't want him/her to be hounded by y'all.
Please, could you try to contact the author and ask him to share the core.

Thx
My tty2oled Add-On
User avatar
FatSlob71
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by FatSlob71 »

All the Starpath Supercharger games do not work on this core !!!
Zorro
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 6:16 pm

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by Zorro »

On my learning path into FPGA stuff, I stumbled over a course called "Learn Assembly Language by Making Games for the ATARI 2600" on Udemy. That is almost better than playing games on it. While probably most other students test their roms on soft emus like STELLA, I just turned on the MiSter, moved my file onto it via Samba connection and ... it's running. COOL
(Definitly much easier than a EEPROM burning process for a proper cartridge.)
User avatar
SegaSnatcher
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by SegaSnatcher »

Now what this core really needs is an optional frame buffer toggle for the few games that have weird output. Most games can handle the low latency V_Sync=2 setting no problem, but a few games are very problematic and it would be nice if one could turn on a buffer on the fly specifically for those games.
rhester72
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by rhester72 »

SegaSnatcher wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:56 pm Now what this core really needs is an optional frame buffer toggle for the few games that have weird output. Most games can handle the low latency V_Sync=2 setting no problem, but a few games are very problematic and it would be nice if one could turn on a buffer on the fly specifically for those games.
Can you give examples?
User avatar
SegaSnatcher
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by SegaSnatcher »

rhester72 wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 4:00 pm
SegaSnatcher wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:56 pm Now what this core really needs is an optional frame buffer toggle for the few games that have weird output. Most games can handle the low latency V_Sync=2 setting no problem, but a few games are very problematic and it would be nice if one could turn on a buffer on the fly specifically for those games.
Can you give examples?
Air Raid and Jr. Pacman are two examples of games that loses sync on my PC monitor.

Also, I get a blank screen from Popeye and Qbert's Cubes.

Edit: Seems like Popeye and Qbert's Cubes are also broken with V_Sync=0
rhester72
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by rhester72 »

@SegaSnatcher are you on a CRT or something? On HDMI, Popeye and Qbert's Cubes are fine with v_sync=2 (at least on my TV)
User avatar
SegaSnatcher
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by SegaSnatcher »

rhester72 wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 11:08 pm @SegaSnatcher are you on a CRT or something? On HDMI, Popeye and Qbert's Cubes are fine with v_sync=2 (at least on my TV)
I'm using HDMI out and those games crash on me. Maybe I have to add the mapper extension?
rhester72
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by rhester72 »

OK, next question - have you set VBlank to Regenerate? (If not, try it.)
User avatar
SegaSnatcher
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by SegaSnatcher »

rhester72 wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 11:40 pm OK, next question - have you set VBlank to Regenerate? (If not, try it.)
I think I found the issue, I didn't realize some roms needed mapper extensions at the end of file.
User avatar
skooter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 1:37 pm
Location: Brazil
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by skooter »

rhester72 wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 4:00 pm
SegaSnatcher wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:56 pm Now what this core really needs is an optional frame buffer toggle for the few games that have weird output. Most games can handle the low latency V_Sync=2 setting no problem, but a few games are very problematic and it would be nice if one could turn on a buffer on the fly specifically for those games.
Can you give examples?
Condor Attack
Deadly Duck
Front Line
Turmoil

This is just a small list that came to mind now, there are many others games that won't work with v_sync=2 because they keep changing the number of lines (refresh rate) on-the-fly. VBlank Regeneration won't help on these ones.
rhester72
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Atari 2600

Unread post by rhester72 »

I see your point there - Condor Attack looks like Atlantis used to before vblank generation. Bummer.
Post Reply