Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Lightwave
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:06 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by Lightwave »

CafeClimber wrote: Sun Mar 21, 2021 2:52 pm
Lightwave wrote: Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:36 pm Can anyone suggest a good controller setup for this core if we don't have an original Intellivision controller?
Ultimate PC Interface
I'm set for the controller adapters, I have 2 D9 adapters made by the same person who makes the Ultimate PC Interface. The supported devices are almost identical between the 2 adapters, aside from the 2 Intellivision devices that require both joystick ports (the typing and musical keyboards).
CafeClimber wrote: Sun Mar 21, 2021 2:52 pm Intellivision Flashback
Yes, this was the conclusion I came to as well, but as you mentioned they are going for quite inflated prices on ebay right now. So I'll just have to keep an eye out I guess.

Anyway, thanks for confirming this setup works well.
teller
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:29 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by teller »

I just tested the lastest Intv.rbf from 2021-04-05. Is it possible that it has more bugs than the last one posted before? The sound of the voice sounds distorted and chopped off.
User avatar
Grabulosaure
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:41 pm
Location: Mesozoic
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by Grabulosaure »

teller wrote: Fri Apr 09, 2021 8:24 pm I just tested the lastest Intv.rbf from 2021-04-05. Is it possible that it has more bugs than the last one posted before? The sound of the voice sounds distorted and chopped off.
That's strange, I didn't change anything to sound.

But sound have always been wrong somewhere. Voice is distorted/choppy.
teller
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:29 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by teller »

But I'm sure that wasn't before. I tested an older version and it's also distorted and choppy. Must be because of a massive MiSTer update that the sound got distorted. This also happened with the VIDEOPAC core, which was recently updated. The voice there is distorted too.
Lightwave
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:06 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by Lightwave »

Not sure if you are referring to Intellivoice specifically, but there are definitely sound issues in general with this core that have always been there (Astrosmash is a good example where this is immediately obvious).

Otherwise, the core is spot on as far as I can tell.
jca
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by jca »

After reading your posts the first thing I did was to rename the previous version in order to make comparisons between cores. I am not sure that there is a difference. I can post the old core if you want to test it yourself.
jca
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by jca »

On his FTP server he also has a new core: Channel F. This was the first video console using ROM cartridges and using a microprocessor. Released by Fairchild Camera and Instrument in November 1976. That is retro!
I think it is a work in progress, I managed to load Space War but did not figure out how to play it with a laser firing randomly by itself. I had better luck with Pinball Challenge which is Arkanoid and Spitfire which is similar but different from Pong.
teller
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:29 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by teller »

I think since the global volume has changed somehow the audio signal of the Intellivision core is too loud. That wasn't the case before.
Maybe it's only hearable when using a crt, through analog audio?
User avatar
Grabulosaure
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:41 pm
Location: Mesozoic
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by Grabulosaure »

Many changes to Intellivision sound and voice:

http://temlib.org/pub/mister/Intv.rbf

Please report any problem.
Lightwave
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:06 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by Lightwave »

Fantastic!

Just tested a bunch of games, Astrosmash and Night Stalker sound great.

This core seems almost perfect to me now!

Thanks so much for putting the in final effort to get this to release state, much appreciated.

Between this and 7800, it's a great time for fans of these older systems.
Now the only thing left that needs some love and attention is the 2600 :)
User avatar
NML32
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by NML32 »

Grabulosaure wrote: Sun Apr 25, 2021 12:04 am Many changes to Intellivision sound and voice:

http://temlib.org/pub/mister/Intv.rbf

Please report any problem.
Thank you!! Ms. Pacman sounds much better. :D
https://youtu.be/p3nnuRbZxX8

Does the Intellivision core volume seem kind of low?
User avatar
jlancaster86
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:33 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by jlancaster86 »

Frogger crashed on me during gameplay, but I'm assuming that's just down to the core being immature.
RascalUK
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:02 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by RascalUK »

Thanks Grab. Sterling work on my fave system as a kid.
teller
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:29 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by teller »

Fantastic update, thanks! Sound and Voice is now spot on!
thorr
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by thorr »

This looks fantastic! I just bought a controller with a DB9 connector from ebay. Can this work with SNAC? I would prefer to use this instead of buying another adapter to USB.
RockySuezo
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2021 10:34 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Intellivision Core? (INTV)

Unread post by RockySuezo »

First off, much thanks to Grabulosaure for this core. The Intellivision was my first console, and it's amazing to have it present on the Mister. The latest update corrected the sound for me, but some games (specifically Commando and Star Strike in my case) seem to be running slightly faster than before. Hopefully this is useful information, and again thank you for helping get me through some sort of classic game mid-life crisis I'm having.
Post Reply