Super Pacman messed up graphics

User avatar
Captain FPGA
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by Captain FPGA »

Many other Arcade cores work okay. I used update all script to bring me the latest compatibility files for Super Pacman but nothing works. I even tried the alternative ROM sets but it's the same every time.

The only thing I can think of is some games aren't compatible with HDMI, and only work with analog signals, such as VGA. Is this one of them? My current Mister set-up is in HDMI.
im-right-here.jpg
im-right-here.jpg (110.8 KiB) Viewed 385 times
jca
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by jca »

When Super Pacman was released it worked fine with HDMI. I will test it again and post the result.
User avatar
wark91
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:34 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by wark91 »

The last RBF generated Super Pacman not working, Pac&Pal also.
The RBF may need to be rebuild somehow.
User avatar
lamarax
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by lamarax »

wark91 wrote: Thu Jun 10, 2021 3:37 pm The last RBF generated Super Pacman not working, Pac&Pal also.
The RBF may need to be rebuild somehow.
Indeed, I can confirm Arcade-Druaga_20210425.rbf is still working, but you'd have to hunt for @blackwine's mras. Version 20210519 also broke flip screen support.

I guess you could rename 20210425 -> 20210519 to prevent the updater script from re-downloading the core, but that would break symlinks. Anyway, I hope Porkchop who's responsible for the latest changes would look into this issue.
User avatar
aberu
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
Location: Longmont, CO
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 112 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by aberu »

I'm wondering if the MRA update having different syntax for the part repeats is why... I'm checking with porkchop.
jca
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by jca »

I can confirm that Super Pacman, Pac & Pal, Pac-Man & Chomp Chomp no longer work, at least on HDMI.
I also noticed something strange with the mras as I have:
Pac & Pal.mra and Pac %26 Pal.mra
Pac-Man & Chomp Chomp.mra and Pac-Man %26 Chomp Chomp.mra
26 is the hex code for &. Either mra result in a broken arcade.

Browsing the mras I also found:
Space Race %5BTTL%5D.mra
Qiiz %26 Dragons Capcom Quiz Game-USA 920701-.mra
User avatar
wark91
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:34 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by wark91 »

You can get the RBF here fixing Super Pacman and Pac&Pal waiting it was merge.
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Arcade- ... f3bbfb360e

Thanks,
User avatar
Captain FPGA
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by Captain FPGA »

wark91 wrote: Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:21 pm You can get the RBF here fixing Super Pacman and Pac&Pal waiting it was merge.
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Arcade- ... f3bbfb360e

Thanks,
Appreciate it but if I use this here to make changes, wouldn't that mess with the update all script?
User avatar
aberu
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
Location: Longmont, CO
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 112 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by aberu »

Captain FPGA wrote: Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:24 pm
wark91 wrote: Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:21 pm You can get the RBF here fixing Super Pacman and Pac&Pal waiting it was merge.
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Arcade- ... f3bbfb360e

Thanks,
Appreciate it but if I use this here to make changes, wouldn't that mess with the update all script?
Sorta, you will have to manually delete the current core and replace it with this core, then when the official release comes out you may have to manually delete it and run update-all again. It's up to you. Personally it's not that big a deal to do this, but if you want everything automatically to happen, you should wait for the release.
User avatar
wark91
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:34 pm
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by wark91 »

If you do like Aberu said the update-all.sh will not update the RBF when the release is done but it is not an issue because you have already the last release in advance.
update-all will update the RBF for the next next release.
My message is for persons want the fix before the release.
User avatar
lamarax
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by lamarax »

The core is now updated in the main repo. All games run fine again!
User avatar
Captain FPGA
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 pm
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Super Pacman messed up graphics

Unread post by Captain FPGA »

Just ran the update all script and you're right the Super Pacman files got updated in the main repo, update all caught it! Now is working like a charm. :D

Thanks guys, now excuse me while I go eat some apples and ghouls. Wahowahowaho!
Post Reply