CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Aspie »

Well I have sussed out the problem. It's nothing to do with the core, it's the PS3 joypad. The left hand joystick when it is pushed in is pausing the game. I am not intentionally pressing it in but because of frantic movements it is registering. I need to find a way of deactivating that button.
User avatar
FatSlob71
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by FatSlob71 »

When is SOS Fever going public ?
XtraSmiley
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by XtraSmiley »

Aspie wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:26 am Well I have sussed out the problem. It's nothing to do with the core, it's the PS3 joypad. The left hand joystick when it is pushed in is pausing the game. I am not intentionally pressing it in but because of frantic movements it is registering. I need to find a way of deactivating that button.
Can't you just assign pause to another button?
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Aspie »

I guess I could but I never assigned pause to that button in the first place
XtraSmiley
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by XtraSmiley »

Aspie wrote: Thu Feb 25, 2021 9:19 am I guess I could but I never assigned pause to that button in the first place
So the default for pause on the controller may be P3, so if you reassign it to another button, leaving P3 unassigned, it may allow the core to run with that controller.

Regardless, you should let Nullobject know via a bug report so he can squash it!
Harrumph
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 8:13 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Harrumph »

On my Mister, Dodonpachi always seems to run at 57.2 Hz instead of 57.4 Hz. Any clue as to why?
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Aspie »

Thanks XtraSmiley. When I initially setup the PS3 joystick it never asks to assign a pause. It assigns left, right, up, down, then the 4 buttons, then left trigger right trigger, select and start, menu, menu select and menu back. Do you mean after I have done this I should then reassign the joystick press to some obscure key I don't use on say my keyboard?
XtraSmiley
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by XtraSmiley »

Aspie wrote: Fri Feb 26, 2021 10:51 am Thanks XtraSmiley. When I initially setup the PS3 joystick it never asks to assign a pause. It assigns left, right, up, down, then the 4 buttons, then left trigger right trigger, select and start, menu, menu select and menu back. Do you mean after I have done this I should then reassign the joystick press to some obscure key I don't use on say my keyboard?
Yes, in the DDP menu, select assign to this game and the "pause" will the be last (or next to last) button. Usually. I can't 100% remember on this core. But on the CPS cores for example, that's how it goes.

Please post back if this works and let him know if that's the issue!
XtraSmiley
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by XtraSmiley »

To be clear, in the MiSTer menu while the game is running.
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Aspie »

I reassigned the button and it's fixed the problem. Makes no difference to my playing because I am bad at this game :lol:

So how do I let nullobject know?
jca
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by jca »

Aspie wrote: Fri Feb 26, 2021 5:34 pm So how do I let nullobject know?
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Arcade- ... Ter/issues
riggel
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:44 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by riggel »

This new update solved my problem. I am outputting native resolution to a standard def crt via component video and the game was stuck on boot screen. Now the Japanese rom plays flawless as far as I can tell. The trainer mode hack is working too albeit with some issues.Thanks.
Ganondork
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:47 pm

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Ganondork »

Does anyone know if nullobject has abandoned the project and if he is fine? Not a single tiny update in a while and also not responding to dms or posts. Don‘t get me wrong, he doesn‘t owe me anything, I‘m just a little confused here, because he was advancing at such a fast pace first, now not even a sign of life n six weeks for his patreons. Again, not
judging, just wondering and also s little worried about him. Any information is appreciated. Cheers!
Milspex
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:46 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Milspex »

last update in the git was 9 days ago so I think it is still being worked on
User avatar
lamarax
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by lamarax »

Ganondork wrote: Tue Mar 16, 2021 12:48 pm Does anyone know if nullobject has abandoned the project and if he is fine? Not a single tiny update in a while and also not responding to dms or posts. Don‘t get me wrong, he doesn‘t owe me anything, I‘m just a little confused here, because he was advancing at such a fast pace first, now not even a sign of life n six weeks for his patreons. Again, not
judging, just wondering and also s little worried about him. Any information is appreciated. Cheers!
He's doing alright; he was just swamped with his day job. He told me that he'll very soon get back to further developing the core.
XtraSmiley
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by XtraSmiley »

Thank goodness he's alive and doing well. I was getting worried the CAVE rights holders had sent a Yakuza assassination team after him. After all, they have to keep making phone games...
User avatar
lamarax
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by lamarax »

XtraSmiley wrote: Wed Mar 17, 2021 5:48 pm Thank goodness he's alive and doing well. I was getting worried the CAVE rights holders had sent a Yakuza assassination team after him. After all, they have to keep making phone games...
Nah, Cave nowadays are into -quote-

"Live streaming service
New entertainment in response to the times.

Cave's new challenge, the live streaming business. In response to the times and social environment, Cave will provide new entertainment that users demand."
*

*sauce: Cave's own website

:mrgreen:
Ganondork
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:47 pm

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Ganondork »

Thanks guys. Good to see he‘ll continue, no matter how fast :)
User avatar
Armitage
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2021 10:38 pm

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by Armitage »

Anyone else have this issue with DDP? Works fine with HDMI output, but RGB to my 15KHz CRT goes blank after I launch the core. I've tried 59 and 60Hz options but it makes no difference. I've seen videos of people playing it on regular CRT TVs so it seems like it should work fine.
metalfacemark
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by metalfacemark »

I had this working before but just tried to go play it there - the rom starts to load and then it gets stuck on "sending rom".

Any idea what my problem is?

edit: - solved by removing cave.rbf
PikWik
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by PikWik »

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Arcade- ... /issues/44

anyone else experiencing this graphic error after the cave update from a couple days ago?
im also in the batch of affected users, 128mb with no issues with any other cores (jotego cores load just fine).

i see someone posted that swapping their 128 for a 32mb RAM module resolved the issue, but i dont want that to be the solution.
NullObject is a wizard so i hope this will get ironed out soon !
User avatar
ItalianGrandma
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by ItalianGrandma »

Interesting...I have 128MB sdram and the latest rbf and mras and everything is working just fine. Curious what the issue could be
User avatar
SegaMan
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 8:23 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by SegaMan »

No issue with the latest rbf with 128MB sdram to me.
jca
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by jca »

No issues here with 32MB, it is much better than the previous version where the mras did not start each time, now they start on the first try.
I also noticed something on the github issue: on the video posted the text for 1 player/2 players is waving, on my roms obtained via the update script the text is not waiving.
PikWik
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: CAVE 68000 Any News for MiSTer

Unread post by PikWik »

from looking at the github issue above, im not alone, and this is affecting a good chunk of people.
theres assumably more people who are experiencing this, but arent reporting the issue on github.

for now, i have switched back to the original 1/13/21 public release, because i do play this game alot.
and im honestly not even sure what the new 4/6/21 release is fixing/improving (there are no release notes).

nullobject has said hes back at home where his work station is, so im hopeful this will get fixed soon !
Post Reply