LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Discussion of developmental aspects of the MiSTer Project.
kaboekieman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:25 am

LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by kaboekieman »

Hi all, I have a question.
is there a chart out there (for the newest Mister) that displays the minimum required LUTs + RAM for the diverent OS's (cores + peripherals).

For example:
- to run the C64 core (with HDMI display + sound + USB control) the Cyclone V needs x LUT's and need x RAM (is this block ram, SRAM?)
- to run the Amiga core (with HDMI display + sound + USB control) the Cyclone V needs x LUT's and need x RAM (is this block ram, SRAM?)
- to run the ao486 core (with HDMI display + sound + USB control) the Cyclone V needs x LUT's and need x RAM (is this block ram, SRAM?)

I hope this comparisment chart is available?

Cheers and thanks, Jeroen
Xbytez
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 249 times

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by Xbytez »

This should help, however the information may be outdated.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... edit#gid=0
kaboekieman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:25 am

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by kaboekieman »

Thx Xbytes,
I guessed the 486 core was pretty hefty, but never reaized SNES took so much resources from the FPGA.
cheers, Jeroen
Mr. Encyclopedia
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 1:52 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by Mr. Encyclopedia »

I'd imagine it's because of the dozen+ additional chips that some SNES carts contained that all have to be recreated in the FPGA, and all the overhead those optional chips require. List of Super NES enhancement chips
kaboekieman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:25 am

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by kaboekieman »

Thx Mr. Encyclopedia, also thx for the link.

Another question.
I'm also really into ScummVM games. On the Mister, which core is used to run ScummVM?
I'm interested to know how much LUTs and Ram is needed to run (most) of the games for this excellent platform.

grts, Jeroen
zakk4223
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:55 pm
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by zakk4223 »

ScummVM doesn't run a 'core', it runs on the linux side on the ARM processor
kaboekieman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:25 am

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by kaboekieman »

Thx zakk (cool game zak mc kracken and the alien mindbenders ;))
So does this mean games with the scummvm engine are emulated??
Cheers, Jeroen
zakk4223
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:55 pm
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by zakk4223 »

ScummVM is not an emulator. It's a reimplementation of the games it supports, it is basically using the art and scripting assets in the game files and 'running' them in a modern cross platform executable.

ScummVM can run on a variety of platforms (windows, x86_64 linux, ARM linux etc). When you run it on the Mister you are just running the linux arm version of ScummVM
kaboekieman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:25 am

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by kaboekieman »

Thx for your answer zakk4223 :) I appreciate it :)
kaboekieman
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:25 am

Re: LUTs / DRAM / SRAM / Block RAM chart

Unread post by kaboekieman »

Hi all, 2 more questions regarding this topic (scummvm and ram).

1. Scummvm is not using a core (read: making use of the fpga on the de10 board). But a distribution for linux thus making use of the arm processor on the de10 board? Is this true for video and audio, or is audio processed via the fpga (thus making use of more better options for sound like the roland mt32)?

2. The de10 board has 1GB DDR3, but an external ram module (32MB-128MB) is used. Is this because of latency issues with DDR3? The external ram module is this fast ram? and how does this differ from block ram of the fpfa itself?
What type of ram is used in this module and is there any more info (on this forum / site) regarding the use of ram for the many cores like snes and amiga (whdload)?

Thx so much in advance, Jeroen
Post Reply