Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Discussion of developmental aspects of the MiSTer Project.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

So far I tried both Lite and Standard 17.0.x. It won't let me open the project because it seems the core project requires pro features.
I tried also the pro version but there is an error message about missing the target device. I tried to find the cyclone V but it is not available in the list of downloads on the intel site. What am I missing here?
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

I am super confused when I look into the qsf file I see the standard version is used?!
set_global_assignment -name LAST_QUARTUS_VERSION "17.0.2 Standard Edition"

More info:
I am using the windows version: QuartusSetup-17.0.0.595-windows
Device is: cyclonev-17.0.0.595.qdz
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

I updated my standard version to 17.0.2 build 602. I still have the same error message when I try to open the Neogeo.qpf project file.
The exact message is: "This project uses the Quartus Prime Pro Edition compilation directory structure. It can only be opened in the Quartus Prime Pro Edition."
bellwood420
Core Developer
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:39 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by bellwood420 »

I confirmed I can open and build the latest master branch with 17.0.2 Lite Edition build 602.

Would suggest to execute clean.bat or re-clone the repository.
Something might be messed up.

Btw Pro Edition does not support Cyclone V.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

bellwood420 wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 3:52 am I confirmed I can open and build the latest master branch with 17.0.2 Lite Edition build 602.

Would suggest to execute clean.bat or re-clone the repository.
Something might be messed up.

Btw Pro Edition does not support Cyclone V.
Right now I straight download from GitHub as zip. I will try a git clone instead to see if it makes a difference. Will also try the clean batch file.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

uberyoji wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 4:41 pm
bellwood420 wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 3:52 am I confirmed I can open and build the latest master branch with 17.0.2 Lite Edition build 602.

Would suggest to execute clean.bat or re-clone the repository.
Something might be messed up.

Btw Pro Edition does not support Cyclone V.
Right now I straight download from GitHub as zip. I will try a git clone instead to see if it makes a difference. Will also try the clean batch file.
Clone did the trick..... i feel silly now :oops:
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

Compilation done. Took 30 mins. Now I need to find out how to generate the rbf.
JaguarLV
Core Developer
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 12:39 am
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by JaguarLV »

uberyoji wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 6:00 pm Compilation done. Took 30 mins. Now I need to find out how to generate the rbf.
When you do a compile, several directories will be created. The rbf file will be in the output_files directory.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

JaguarLV wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:29 pm
uberyoji wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2021 6:00 pm Compilation done. Took 30 mins. Now I need to find out how to generate the rbf.
When you do a compile, several directories will be created. The rbf file will be in the output_files directory.
I must not compile properly as I do not have the rbf in the output folder. However the compilation looks successful.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

Found something. I believe I found the culprit.
Info: *******************************************************************
Info: Running Quartus Prime Assembler
Info: Version 17.0.2 Build 602 07/19/2017 SJ Standard Edition
Info: Processing started: Wed Feb 24 16:28:07 2021
Info: Command: quartus_asm --read_settings_files=off --write_settings_files=off NeoGeo -c NeoGeo
Warning (292011): Can't generate programming files because you are currently using the Quartus Prime software in Evaluation Mode.
Info: Quartus Prime Assembler was successful. 0 errors, 1 warning
Info: Peak virtual memory: 4984 megabytes
Info: Processing ended: Wed Feb 24 16:28:10 2021
Info: Elapsed time: 00:00:03
Info: Total CPU time (on all processors): 00:00:03
zakk4223
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:55 pm
Been thanked: 107 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by zakk4223 »

I had this issue too, although I was doing command line linux.

There's this thread: https://www.fpgarelated.com/thread/1020 ... t-required

I think the problem is that it thinks you installed standard and not lite. Maybe poke around the windows installer files (or the installer itself) and see if you're experiencing the same issue.

Edit: just looked closer at your screenshot. It says 'Standard Edition'. Mine (which produces rbfs) says 'Lite Edition'. That's your issue.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

Yup! Success I have the RBF now. This has been a great learning experience.
Now I need to test this on mister.
User avatar
uberyoji
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Need help setting up Quartus to build the NeoGeo core

Unread post by uberyoji »

It works! Thanks to everyone who helped the newb that I am. Even the mod I made works! Yay!
Post Reply