Wallpapers

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
Atohmdiy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:20 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Atohmdiy »

I try to put a wallpaper without success, i rename my file menu.jpg, i tried to put in the root of sd and in a wallpapers dir. I can press F1 as much as i want and reboot it doesn't do anything. I check my config file and it's nothing fancy, 1920x1080 and fb_terminal=1
I think i remap the F1 button. How to delete the keyboard mapping ? I delete the config folder but it doesn't seems to work with keyboard mapping.
retrorepair
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by retrorepair »

A core specific wallpaper would be fantastic :)
Sigismond0
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

What would that even do? Show when you load the core, until you load your ROM?

I've kind of done similar by picking games that have nice/iconic attract modes set as boot.rom for most cores. SMB3 for NES, SMW for SNES, Pokemon Yellow for GB, etc.
Atohmdiy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:20 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Atohmdiy »

Well it's not the F1 mapping, after remove the config files F1 just give the configuration menu, exactly like F2, but still no way to change the background. I guess i must miss something. Am i crazy ?
Gymcrash
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:08 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Gymcrash »

You can only have a custom wallpaper on the mister main menu. Core menus don't have wallpapers.

You know you're doing the right thing with F1 on the main menu if it cycles through the built in backgrounds before getting to your menu.jpg, which should be located on (windows - root of the sdcard, Linux/Mac - /media/fat/menu.png)
retrorepair
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by retrorepair »

Sigismond0 wrote: Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:13 pm What would that even do? Show when you load the core, until you load your ROM?
Yeah pretty much. Would be nice to be able to create box art wallpaper for each system.
Atohmdiy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:20 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Atohmdiy »

Gymcrash wrote: Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:31 pm You can only have a custom wallpaper on the mister main menu. Core menus don't have wallpapers.

You know you're doing the right thing with F1 on the main menu if it cycles through the built in backgrounds before getting to your menu.jpg, which should be located on (windows - root of the sdcard, Linux/Mac - /media/fat/menu.png)
Yes i know that i cannot have it with core, thing is i if i press F1 i just have the main menu that appear, same if i press F2, and i don't see any wallpaper appearing, even if i reboot. I have a menu.jpg on the root of the sd card at the good resolution. I just don't understand why it's not working.
Gymcrash
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:08 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Gymcrash »

And you have the latest menu core and MAIN?
Atohmdiy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:20 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Atohmdiy »

Yes latest menu core, main, i even update the linux boot.
Atohmdiy
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:20 am

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Atohmdiy »

So i finally understand where the problem come from, i think it's a bug of Mister. I change my sd card for something bigger so i made a clean new install. Problem was the same, with F1 i just got the menu and it changed no wallpaper.
I use a logictech keyboard + touchpad bluetooth combo, si i tried with a usb keyboard and it finally worked, F1 change the wallpaper.
rhester72
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by rhester72 »

Probably have to hold down Alt or Func or something with the Logitech - by default, F1 is a Windows media key.
bostown
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 12:23 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by bostown »

I've tried for days now to get wallpapers to show up on the menu page and It just doesn't seem to work. F1 does nothing. Creating a wallpapers folder ? NO, removing wallpapers folder and using an image as "menu.png" does nothing either. The Mister logo doesn't even show up. I've read forum posts , watched videos , googled this issue to death and still nothing. Does anyone have any idea ? I've tried changes to the .ini etc.

Tested it on both a panel via HDMI and now using a small PVM still nothing. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I'm going nuts with that silly static screen which just kills my eyes.

EDIT and UPDATE:. Finally got it to work. The culprit appears to be the keyboard. Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard USB. All the Function keys in MiSTer were working EXCEPT F1. I'll check to see if it's specifically my Keyboard or if it's that model since I have 2 more of them here. RECAP:. If you can get the internal wallpapers to show up by pressing F1 and you tried all other options. you might want to try a different keyboard. Another person mentioned finding success a few post above mine after switching keyboards which is what prompted me to try doing the same.
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Aspie »

I thought I'd have a go at creating a wallpaper.
Attachments
menu4.png
menu4.png (271.9 KiB) Viewed 1250 times
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Aspie »

Here's a Doom one
Attachments
doom.jpg
doom.jpg (175.32 KiB) Viewed 1225 times
User avatar
Aspie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:07 pm
Location: Manchester
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Aspie »

Metal Slug
Attachments
Metal_Slug.jpg
Metal_Slug.jpg (389.99 KiB) Viewed 1166 times
Namdor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Namdor »

All of these wallpapers are great.

Is there a way to not have the MISTer fpga logo appear in the top left of the screen? I just want to see my wallpaper and the menu if possible.

Thank you
breiztiger
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:17 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by breiztiger »

; 0 - disable MiSTer logo in Menu core
logo=1
Namdor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Namdor »

breiztiger wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:57 pm ; 0 - disable MiSTer logo in Menu core
logo=1
Is it a setting i can change while mister is on or do I have to access it by pc and modify .ini?

Thank you for the prompt response as well!
grizzly
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by grizzly »

Namdor wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:07 pm Is it a setting i can change while mister is on or do I have to access it by pc and modify .ini?
Both!
You can put the sd card in a pc and change the mister.ini.
You can use SSH from a pc to change the mister.ini while the mister is running.
You can use ftp to download the mister.ini while the mister is running change it and upload it.
You can use SMB to open the mister.ini and change it, then after changing mister.ini using ssh/ftp/smb restart the mister to start with the changes made.
There´s probably one or two more ways to do it that i can´t think about right now.
And yes it´s the mister.ini that needs changing.
catenaccio
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by catenaccio »

I like darker themes for wallpapers... :mrgreen:
Attachments
spyhunter.jpg
spyhunter.jpg (352.17 KiB) Viewed 872 times
moon.jpg
moon.jpg (379.07 KiB) Viewed 872 times
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Alkadian »

This is my attempt to create a Bubble Bobble wallpaper @1600x1200. I just love the game :mrgreen:
Attachments
BubbleBobble.png
BubbleBobble.png (819.51 KiB) Viewed 740 times
User avatar
charmless
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 3:38 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by charmless »

Alkadian wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:46 pm This is my attempt to create a Bubble Bobble wallpaper @1600x1200. I just love the game :mrgreen:
Nice!
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Alkadian »

charmless wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:55 pm
Alkadian wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:46 pm This is my attempt to create a Bubble Bobble wallpaper @1600x1200. I just love the game :mrgreen:
Nice!
Thanks!
Namdor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by Namdor »

grizzly wrote: Mon Oct 26, 2020 5:18 am
Namdor wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:07 pm Is it a setting i can change while mister is on or do I have to access it by pc and modify .ini?
Both!
You can put the sd card in a pc and change the mister.ini.
You can use SSH from a pc to change the mister.ini while the mister is running.
You can use ftp to download the mister.ini while the mister is running change it and upload it.
You can use SMB to open the mister.ini and change it, then after changing mister.ini using ssh/ftp/smb restart the mister to start with the changes made.
There´s probably one or two more ways to do it that i can´t think about right now.
And yes it´s the mister.ini that needs changing.
Weird. It doesn't exist in my ini. I added it manually but it still shows no matter if I have it set to 0 or 1.

I'll have to try again this weekend. I appreciate your willingness to help.
ellie
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2020 8:20 pm

Re: Wallpapers

Unread post by ellie »

I've always liked that SNES Sim City one, but I wanted it zoomed out, so I doubled the resolution and copy-pasted the buildings. Definitely not great at image editing, so someone should do it better!
Attachments
simsmaller.png
simsmaller.png (1.77 MiB) Viewed 477 times
Post Reply