New MiSTer hardware board

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
noel

New MiSTer hardware board

Unread post by noel »

Hello,

I'm a french hardware engineer and I love MiSTer project. I built my own setup using the DE-10 nano board with some RAM and custom USB boards and I would love designing a custom MiSTer hardware based on the same Cyclone V chip.

I know that we couldn't beat the current price of the DE10 Nano board, as the chip 5CSEBA6U23I7N cost more than 200€ by itself !! On the other side, when new users have to buy the DE10 Nano board with all additional USB, IO, SDRAM, ... boards the total price is quite high too.

I could spend some free time designing a custom board and share this design via CC / openhardware license. I would be interested to manufacture those boards and sell them through my company for user who may be interested.

Maybe is a bad idea, as we could spend those effort into building a new hardware based on a more powerfull chip, but it would require a lot of work too to port all the fpga core to the new platform and to maintain core for more than one hardware...

Before going any further in this kind of huge development, I would like to get your feedback. I'm quite open-minded so please give me your positive and negative feedback about this kind of idea.
Retrogaming, arcade and pinball machines fan. Current project : Open Source Hardware ITX motherboard new design to host MiSTer FPGA cores. Wan't to support me ? https://www.patreon.com/nlemoult
ExCyber

Re: New MiSTer hardware board

Unread post by ExCyber »