MiSTer As An Arcade System

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
rikdenio

MiSTer As An Arcade System

Unread post by rikdenio »

Hi,

I am very new to MiSTer fpga and just starting to learn about it. I love arcade games especially capcom CPS1, CPS2 and neogeo MVS

I want to know if these arcade boards are perfectly replicated using MiSTer fpga

Thanks in advance
MostroW

Re: MiSTer As An Arcade System

Unread post by MostroW »

The MiSTer wiki has all systems listed that have had public releases but:

Neo Geo is working AES/MVS
CPS1 has partial releases, you can support Jotego on Patreon if you like his work.
CPS2 no, have not seen any cores yet, maybe there are people working on it, maybe not.
Slipard

Unread post by Slipard »

Neo-Geo is OK now, some tweaks were being worked on last time I checked, but mostly, it's accurate enough to ditch your original hardware and software.
CPS1 is being worked on and is already quite mature to be playable and sell your original hardware.
CPS1.5 is being worked on and CPS2 will be done once 1.5 is done.

So, basically, if you really play your games one at a time in order to 1cc each, then you can invest in the MiSTer and Jotego's Patreon and start with Neo-Geo library.
Hodor

Unread post by Hodor »

CPS 1.5 and CPS2 are likely to be available in the next months as Jotego is working on them actively. Be aware, thought, that CPS2 will require 128MB of RAM for a number of games -no more details are known about which exactly-.
aberu
Core Developer

Unread post by aberu »

The arcade boards aren't technically "perfectly replicated", but the logic of their digital circuitry has very accurately been reimplemented in FPGA. Probably a semantics thing, but it's a common misconception.
birdybro~
Newsdee
Top Contributor

Unread post by Newsdee »

aberu wrote: Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:09 pmProbably a semantics thing, but it's a common misconception.