New hardware platforms for MiSTer?

For topics which do not fit in other specific forums.
iamTeddyNL

New hardware platforms for MiSTer?

Unread post by iamTeddyNL »

Greetings MiSTer community members. My name is Teddy, I am an electronic engineer and a (retro) gaming enthousiast.

I am highly impressed by the technology developed by this community, and I see great potential for real life adaptations. However, I get the idea that the hardware that is currently available is not ideal to achieve that. Being a dev kit, it is not designed for a ‘production’ (real life application) environment, some features are missing that may impact reliability, it is not available as a complete solution and has to be assembled and sourced separately, and the only enclosure that I’ve seen (from sheet metal?) could do the job but isn’t visually appealing and probably also not cost effective. I get the idea that this project would benefit from new hardware that would offer a compatible, complete and reliable solution to end users. I have been flirting with the idea to raise a kickstarter campaign to support that, so I created an account here to introduce myself and to gather feedback about this idea.

Right now I have two products in mind that would facilitate real life applications:

- A console, similar to a Super NT but without the cartridge slot of course. Customers would receive a complete and enclosed unit, no assembly required and ready to be configured right away. Target audience would be retro gamers and content creators.
- An arcade computing unit, similar to an automotive computer/industrial pc, intended to be retrofitted into an arcade cabinet where the processing hardware has failed – in the end, all of them will fail eventually. With industrial grade assembly processes and components, it would be designed for a production environment with high reliability and long lifetime.