I think my DE10 is fried

If you have just joined the community and are seeking help then post/ask here.
WestonianB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:30 pm

I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by WestonianB »

I had everything setup and working fine. I changed some video settings and rebooted and nothing comes up on screen. I've completely wiped and rebuilt my SD card several times, and tried a different SD card.

The DE10 powers on.
The blue power led comes on.
The amber led comes on.
The green leds 0 and 5 alternate.

I've double checked the dip switches are in the right position (I never changed them out of the box). I've removed the I/O board, USB board, and SDRAM. Same behavior.

I'm on the verge of just ordering a new DE10, but I'd there anything else I'm missing before I drop another $140 to rehabber the FPGA?

jca
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by jca »

Double check your video settings in Mister.ini.

WestonianB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by WestonianB »

I factory reset/rebuilt the entire SD card with fresh files and settings. So the ini file should be the defaults.

I've also tried it on both my TV and monitor with the same results.

User avatar
Hodor
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 8:29 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by Hodor »

That´s weird. Changing the video settings should not make any harm to your DE10 but to the monitor/TV instead. At least hypothetically.

PikWik
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:00 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by PikWik »

my first idea would be a bad power supply.
second is maybe a bad video cable. does the VGA and HDMI not output?

Gymcrash
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:08 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by Gymcrash »

Have you tried using a different sd card?
And as others have suggested, try a different hdmi cable.

WestonianB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by WestonianB »

I’ve tried multiple SD cards. Multiple HDMI cables on multiple displays (monitor, old 1080p tv, 4K tv). The power seems fine, as everything turns on. With no SD card, it just turns the power led blue with no other lights. With any SD card in, I get the blue power led, amber led, and then the green leds 0 and 5 alternate on and off.

PikWik
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 7:00 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by PikWik »

last couple things before getting a new de10 is trying a different power cable, and double checking dip switches with a working DE10

https://misterfpga.co.uk/mister-de10-na ... iguration/ - dip switch settings

also, this post from atari forums might be helpful too - https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.p ... 22a565148d
(which also suggests a broken power cable)

akeley
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by akeley »

Your LED behaviour is normal, so I suppose this is a video related problem. I know you said you've rebuilt the SD but it wouldn't hurt manually checking that the video settings are appropriate for HDMI.

If it fails, it's a long shot but you might try emailing their support, perhaps they have some ideas: support@terasic.com
Also, isn't there a warranty for these boards?

zanthraxuk
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:57 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by zanthraxuk »

Hi There, I have the same issue, if the lights are glowing the MiSTer has booted, but apparently the HDMI out is slightly out of spec causing no display on many TV/Monitors. out of 3 monitors and 2 TVs the output is only accepted on one of them, I have been told a USB HDMI booster, will resolve, but to be fair I have not got one to test this however, there is a link in the forum addressing HDMI issues, hope it helps

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=303

to quote what I was told "Yes. There is a known issue with bad hardware producing marginal signals for the HDMI output. Most TVs are fine, but some screens are picky and don't like it.
Get a USB powered HDMI signal booster. Problem solved."

ZigZag
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:05 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by ZigZag »

This just happened with my board after connecting to a new monitor HDMI has stopped working altogether. VGA still works (I want to use HDMI for certain cores on a different display).

Will investigate some more, no doubt whilst uttering innumerable obscenities.

Gymcrash
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:08 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by Gymcrash »

ZigZag wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:37 am
This just happened with my board after connecting to a new monitor HDMI has stopped working altogether. VGA still works (I want to use HDMI for certain cores on a different display).

Will investigate some more, no doubt whilst uttering innumerable obscenities.
Did you also have an IO board connected initially?

ZigZag
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:05 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by ZigZag »

Yes, was a full MiSTer with IO board. I tried a fresh install on another microSD & same thing, no signal from HDMI. My only option now is to dismantle the MiSTer & rebuild, I'm hoping that "resets" everything. I recall my dad's PC stopped working after a thunderstorm once. My guess was the BIOS was corrupted & told him to pull the button battery to reset to factory, that worked. I'm hoping (likely with tragic futility) something similar works with the DE10 h/w.

I suspect a static spark fried something when plugging it into the monitor. I'm lucky VGA still works, but will probably end up getting a replacement DE10 Nano if this one doesn't magically fix itself.

WestonianB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by WestonianB »

ZigZag wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:52 pm
Yes, was a full MiSTer with IO board. I tried a fresh install on another microSD & same thing, no signal from HDMI. My only option now is to dismantle the MiSTer & rebuild, I'm hoping that "resets" everything. I'm hoping (likely with tragic futility) something similar works with the DE10 h/w.
Godspeed. I've stripped it down back to just the DE10, tried multiple SD cards, pulled the SDRAM to no avail. I've got another DE10 arriving tomorrow, so if it works with all the rest of the daughterboards, SDRAM, and SD card, I'll know for sure it was the main board.

aberu
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by aberu »

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AAHT8AQ/

For anyone reading here and maybe wondering about surge protectors and static discharge, I work in IT in manufacturing with a lot of IoT devices. Get a good surge protector (one of the kinds our maintenance department regularly orders for offices is linked above). Additionally only touch the board by the sides and try to statically discharge yourself sufficiently before touching the board (ideally use an ESD wrist strap though). Try not to touch any of the chips directly, ever. Be careful with the MicroSD slot, they are often very fragile to insert pressure directly and laterally on SoC's like this.

Not saying OP did anything wrong, but good advice in general.

ZigZag
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:05 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by ZigZag »

I'm usually pretty careful. I guess I was careless plugging the HDMI cable into a monitor while it was turned on.

WestonianB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by WestonianB »

New DE10 board arrived today and it works flawlessly with my existing SD card and daughterboards. Anyone know off Terrasic offers a warranty on bad DE10s?

ZigZag
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:05 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by ZigZag »

Glad your new DE10 nano is working.

Stripped mine down, definitely HDMI is dead. I managed to get 1600x1200 out @60 over VGA. It's a bit annoying to lose ability to connect monitor & TV at same time, but I'm now thinking it's not really worth £110 just for that functionality. Maybe I'll stick to VGA.

Are there any other reasons I'd want/need HDMI? Go on, convince me to splash myoney around & help the devastated economy!

Gymcrash
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:08 am

Re: I think my DE10 is fried

Unread post by Gymcrash »

WestonianB wrote:
Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:46 pm
New DE10 board arrived today and it works flawlessly with my existing SD card and daughterboards. Anyone know off Terrasic offers a warranty on bad DE10s?
Contact the company you purchased the board from and explain the situation - you've got nothing to lose. They'll probably RMA it back to Terasic.

Post Reply