Unable to capture HDMI video through capture card

ShadowsTakeFall
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:48 am

Unable to capture HDMI video through capture card

Unread post by ShadowsTakeFall »

Hello,


I recently acquired a setup with help from some friends however I'm currently stuck with no idea how to proceed. I currently have a MiSTer that successfully does everything it should when connected up to a 1080p display through HDMI however when going through the internal capture card on my PC, I'm given what is seen in the attached image. The capture card I use is the Avermedia Live Gamer HD 2 and either through RECentral 4 or OBS, I get nothing but this colorful screen.

I was advised to set the following on my board under ini settings:

Video_mode 1080p60
Vsync_adjust Low lag
Vscale_mode Use integer scale only

I hope that the picture will give some indication as to where I should be looking, also I can confirm that I am only having issues with capturing video as the audio seems to come through okay. I used the pass-through on my capture card to ensure that the board was outputting an actual signal. Any help is greatly appreciated. I did try to search the forums but was unable to find
Attachments
capturecard.png
capturecard.png (297.32 KiB) Viewed 196 times
User avatar
Newsdee
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 1:07 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Unable to capture HDMI video through capture card

Unread post by Newsdee »

Try vsync_adjust=0 first for maximum compatibility.
ShadowsTakeFall
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:48 am

Re: Unable to capture HDMI video through capture card

Unread post by ShadowsTakeFall »

Dont seem to be having any luck with changing to either mode 0 1 or 2 for that setting. I did find documentation on those and that it notes that theres less and less compatibility for modes 1 and 2, however I started to run into issues where my pass through monitor was getting the pink tinted screen I've seen some posts referencing.
rafael
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:11 pm

Re: Unable to capture HDMI video through capture card

Unread post by rafael »

I have another model of Avermedia's capture cards and I had an issue with the signal not being picked up by either OBS nor Avermedia's streaming software. Turns out I had the hdmi_audio_96k set to 1. When I switched it off it worked. Maybe you can give it a try.
ShadowsTakeFall
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:48 am

Re: Unable to capture HDMI video through capture card

Unread post by ShadowsTakeFall »

Sadly hdmi_audio_96k is set to off, i did try with it on and no difference.


I'm going to list the full settings of my ini settings, maybe theres something else that could be problematic. as a side note I have tested the hdmi cable with my nintendo switch and can confirm it captures that signal fine.


video_mode 1080p60
video_mode_ntsc 1080p60
video_mode_pal 1080p50
vsync_adjust match display freq
vscale_mode integer scale only
fb_size automatic


all other settings are default/off/not set


I've found a new symptom of my capture card but its hard to explain. I pulled the HDMI from the switch and inserted it back into the MiSTer and a still from the previous capture is there. I dont know if this is typical for it to buffer an image or what, but its currently showing my switch screen.
Post Reply