Automatic horizontal integer scaling implementation on SMS/Genesis/potentially others

Discussion about displays and related hardware including MiSTer filters and video settings.
Yim

Automatic horizontal integer scaling implementation on SMS/Genesis/potentially others

Unread post by Yim »

There's been a fair bit of talk lately about using custom aspect ratios with vscale_mode 1 to get integer scaling both horizontally and vertically. This works, but it's a bit of a nuisance. I've had a fiddle with the SMS core and implemented automatic horizontal integer scaling as an OSD option which can be set to round the scaling multiple to the nearest integer either above or below what the selected aspect ratio would produce with non-integer scaling. I'm not a programmer and what little I know of verilog, system verilog, and vhdl I learned trying to figure this out (and my previous modification of the SMS core), so it probably could have been done more cleanly, but my implementation seems to work, at least in my limited tests (via HDMI in video modes 0 and 8).

I changed the menu a little in SMS.sv, and the rest of the changes all took place in sys_top.v and ascal.vhd. Both of those files are in the sys section of the code, so changing them is maybe a no-no and this won't get accepted into the official core, but it also means that if my changes (maybe cleaned up a bit) are accepted into the framework then adding this feature to other cores should just require adding an item to the OSD menu.

I've made a branch to my fork of the SMS core here with this change implemented. The .rbf build is under releases as SMSHoriMenu.rbf. Anyone interested, please download it, try it out, see if I've broken anything, and let me know. Thanks.