Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Discussion about displays and related hardware including MiSTer filters and video settings.
blacklistedcard
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

Hello everyone, I have my mister hooked up to a Dell FP2700 Monitor that was working great with no issue until recently. There was an update in early May that cause my video output to be blank no output. There was some adjustment made to the main core that rendering the video_Mode: video_mode=1600,64,192,304,1200,1,3,46,162 to not function anymore.

The fix was to put the video_mode to this value: video_mode=1600,1200,60

Now the last update has put the Dell FP2700 back into not being able to display anything with both video_mode values. The Dell FP2700 just displays for about 1 second of video output and then disappears with a black blank screen. The mister is functioning ok because I do get 1 second of video output and can ssh into the mister and do various activities like update_all.

Is there any debug or logging I can setup to figure out what the problem is? The last update was the yc.txt update?

AngelicLiver
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:50 am
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

I would check if you are using the latest version of the MiSTer.ini file.

Failing that please post your MiSTer.ini. Does it work with another display in case it's an issue with your monitor?

personinarug
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2023 4:57 pm

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by personinarug »

I'm not familiar with the FP2700 but I had this issue with my Dell 2007fpb; the fix that worked for me was to add 000 to the video mode. I found this fix here: https://gist.github.com/hernan43/dc7e6b ... d486cc613b
So, you could try video_mode=1600,64,192,304,1200,1,3,46,162000
No idea if it will work for you, but good luck.

blacklistedcard
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

AngelicLiver wrote: Sun Jul 07, 2024 7:15 pm

I would check if you are using the latest version of the MiSTer.ini file.

Failing that please post your MiSTer.ini. Does it work with another display in case it's an issue with your monitor?

I will try grabbing a new copy of the MiSTer.ini and re-do my config. Here is my existing MiSTer.ini file

[MiSTer]
;bootcore=
font=font/Arcade_ATASCII.pf
fb_size=0
fb_terminal=1
key_menu_as_rgui=0 ; set to 1 to make the MENU key map to RGUI in Minimig (e.g. for Right Amiga)
forced_scandoubler=0 ; set to 1 to run scandoubler on VGA output always (depends on core).
ypbpr=0 ; set to 1 for YPbPr on VGA output.
composite_sync=0 ; set to 1 for composite sync on HSync signal of VGA output.
vga_scaler=0 ; set to 1 to connect VGA to scaler output.
hdmi_audio_96k=0 ; set to 1 for 96khz/16bit HDMI audio (48khz/16bit otherwise)
keyrah_mode=0x18d80002 ; VIDPID of keyrah for special code translation (0x23418037 for Arduino Micro)
vscale_mode=0 ; 0 - scale to fit the screen height.
; 1 - use integer scale only.
; 2 - use 0.5 steps of scale.
; 3 - use 0.25 steps of scale.
vscale_border=0 ; set vertical border for TVs cutting the upper/bottom parts of screen (1-99)
;bootscreen=1 ; uncomment to disable boot screen of some cores like Minimig.
;mouse_throttle=10 ; 1-100 mouse speed divisor. Useful for very sensitive mouses
rbf_hide_datecode=0 ; 1 - hides datecodes from rbf file names. Press F2 for quick temporary toggle
menu_pal=0 ; 1 - PAL mode for menu core

; USER button emulation by keybaord. Usually it's reset button.
; 0 - lctrl+lalt+ralt (lctrl+lgui+rgui on keyrah)
; 1 - lctrl+lgui+rgui
; 2 - lctrl+lalt+del
; 3 - same as 0 (lctrl+lalt+ralt on keyrah)
reset_combo=0

dvi_mode=1 ; set to 1 for DVI mode. Audio won't be transmitted through HDMI in DVI mode.

; 0 - 1280x720@60
; 1 - 1024x768@60
; 2 - 720x480@60
; 3 - 720x576@50
; 4 - 1280x1024@60
; 5 - 800x600@60
; 6 - 640x480@60
; 7 - 1280x720@50
; 8 - 1920x1080@60
; 9 - 1920x1080@50
;10 - 1366x768@60
;11 - 1024x600@60
;
; custom mode: hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz
; video_mode=1280,110,40,220,720,5,5,20,74250
;video_mode=1280,960,60
video_mode=1600,1200,60
;video_mode=1600,64,192,304,1200,1,3,46,162
;video_mode=0

; set to 1-10 (seconds) to display video info on startup/change
video_info=10

; Set to 1 for automatic HDMI VSync rate adjust to match original VSync.
; Set to 2 for low latency mode (single buffer).
; This option makes video butter smooth like on original emulated system.
; Adjusting is done by changing pixel clock. Not every display supports variable pixel clock.
; For proper adjusting and to reduce possible out of range pixel clock, use 60Hz HDMI video
; modes as a base even for 50Hz systems.
vsync_adjust=2

; These parameters have the same format as video_mode.
; You need to supply both PAL and NTSC modes if you want vsync_adjust to switch between
; predefined modes as a base. This will reduce the range of pixel clock.
; video_mode_ntsc=8

; no_merge_vidpid=0x00790006

; JammaSD/J-PAC/I-PAC keys to joysticks translation
; You have to provide correct VID and PID of your input device
; Examples: Legacy J-PAC with Mini-USB or USB capable I-PAC with PS/2 connectors VID=0xD209/PID=0x0301
; USB Capable J-PAC with only PS/2 connectors VID=0x04B4/PID=0x0101
; JammaSD: VID=0x04D8/PID=0xF3AD
;jamma_vid=0x0079
;jamma_pid=0x0006

controller_info=0

player_3_controller=usb 1-5/
player_1_controller=usb 1-4/
player_2_controller=usb 1-6/
player_4_controller=usb 1-7/

blacklistedcard
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

I grabbed the latest copy of the MiSTer.ini and re-did my config. Same situation. The Dell monitor has output for 1 second and then disappears. All other functions are working correctly including the joysticks.

Ummm. Still working on it.

chanunnaki
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:33 am
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by chanunnaki »

Never heard of the FP2700, do you mean FP2007?

AngelicLiver
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:50 am
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

I wouldn't have thought vsync_adjust=2 would be all that compatible with this monitor. I would test it with vsync_adjust=0, and vsync_adjust=1 to see if that resolves the problem.

I do have an FB2007Fpb, if I get time later I'll test some settings myself.

blacklistedcard
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

chanunnaki wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 6:24 am

Never heard of the FP2700, do you mean FP2007?

Yep.. FP2007.

blacklistedcard
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

AngelicLiver wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 8:21 am

I wouldn't have thought vsync_adjust=2 would be all that compatible with this monitor. I would test it with vsync_adjust=0, and vsync_adjust=1 to see if that resolves the problem.

I do have an FB2007Fpb, if I get time later I'll test some settings myself.

I tried both vsync_adjust=0, and vsync_adjust=1 and only got 1 second of video output and then black screen.

AngelicLiver
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:50 am
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

Have you tested another display?

blacklistedcard
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

Let me hook up my tv and set the DVI=0 and video mode to 8

rcade
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 7:57 pm
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Dell FP2700 With HDMI To DVI Won't Display Anymore

Unread post by rcade »

Also of course test the monitor with something else. I've had several of those Dells, and while they are nice, they do tend to suddenly die. Sometimes you can recap and rescue them, sometimes not.

Post Reply