Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Darthcustom
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Darthcustom »

Hi,

I have installed Coffin r57 in my MiSTer with RTG support and looks great!!! Also added the shared folder.

MiSTer is an incredible piece of art!!!!!

Have fun!!!!
Attachments
IMG_4423.jpg
IMG_4423.jpg (3.13 MiB) Viewed 1277 times
User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by kathleen »

@Darthcustom,
Waow this is a very good news ! I've never thought having the Coffin running on the Mister. I agree with you this is an incredible hardware but especially due to the incredible developers of the Minimig core !
KnC
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:47 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by KnC »

i tried the coffin a few weeks ago on MiSTer bad apple demo is great :)
punnyandfunny
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:39 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by punnyandfunny »

Very cool! How did you manage to do this? πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‹
User avatar
Newsdee
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 1:07 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Newsdee »

It looks great! Is it just an OS we can install instead of workbench?
Darthcustom
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Darthcustom »

punnyandfunny wrote: ↑Sun Nov 15, 2020 10:39 pm Very cool! How did you manage to do this? πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‹
First, download r57 compressed file
Then burn content to USB stick
Configure WinUAE settings, add USB Drive and add second 30 Gb HDF file
Boot and copy content from USB mounted disks to HDF file
Move HDF to MiSTer, boot Minimig and configure RG and shared folder
There you go.....
Darthcustom
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Darthcustom »

Newsdee wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 1:00 am It looks great! Is it just an OS we can install instead of workbench?
AFAIK, it is based on Amiga OS 3.9, and yes, you can use it instead of Workbench 3.1
punnyandfunny
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:39 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by punnyandfunny »

Darthcustom wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:44 pm
punnyandfunny wrote: ↑Sun Nov 15, 2020 10:39 pm Very cool! How did you manage to do this? πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‹
First, download r57 compressed file
Then burn content to USB stick
Configure WinUAE settings, add USB Drive and add second 30 Gb HDF file
Boot and copy content from USB mounted disks to HDF file
Move HDF to MiSTer, boot Minimig and configure RG and shared folder
There you go.....
Thanks, currently have it booted up. I am a bit confused though as Coffin has 2 partitions on the desktop, surely you can't just copy those two partitions into the newly created HDF that is mounted?
allyourbasekris
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by allyourbasekris »

I just set it all up myself, you need to use something like winuae to copy the 2 partitions to separate hdf images. dh0: only needs to be about 300mb but dh1: will need to be over 25gb. Then add dh0: as master, dh1: as slave and you can use the kick.rom provided in the coffin package. Install RTG as you would normally.
allyourbasekris
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by allyourbasekris »

I should also add that most of the 68080 apps won't run. It's still cool to play with though.
KnC
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:47 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by KnC »

Darthcustom wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:44 pm
punnyandfunny wrote: ↑Sun Nov 15, 2020 10:39 pm Very cool! How did you manage to do this? πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‹
First, download r57 compressed file
Then burn content to USB stick
Configure WinUAE settings, add USB Drive and add second 30 Gb HDF file
Boot and copy content from USB mounted disks to HDF file
Move HDF to MiSTer, boot Minimig and configure RG and shared folder
There you go.....
i just renamed .HDF
allyourbasekris
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by allyourbasekris »

KnC wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:25 pm
Darthcustom wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:44 pm
punnyandfunny wrote: ↑Sun Nov 15, 2020 10:39 pm Very cool! How did you manage to do this? πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‹
First, download r57 compressed file
Then burn content to USB stick
Configure WinUAE settings, add USB Drive and add second 30 Gb HDF file
Boot and copy content from USB mounted disks to HDF file
Move HDF to MiSTer, boot Minimig and configure RG and shared folder
There you go.....
i just renamed .HDF
This might be the better solution πŸ˜†
User avatar
OneEightZero
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:14 pm

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by OneEightZero »

How do I set this up in the Amiga core? I renamed the image file to have a .hdf extension, but all I'm getting is a Kickstart logo when booting.
KnC
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:47 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by KnC »

they should be a coffin rom file you load as the kickstart to
Darthcustom
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Darthcustom »

punnyandfunny wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:16 pm
Darthcustom wrote: ↑Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:44 pm
punnyandfunny wrote: ↑Sun Nov 15, 2020 10:39 pm Very cool! How did you manage to do this? πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‹
First, download r57 compressed file
Then burn content to USB stick
Configure WinUAE settings, add USB Drive and add second 30 Gb HDF file
Boot and copy content from USB mounted disks to HDF file
Move HDF to MiSTer, boot Minimig and configure RG and shared folder
There you go.....
Thanks, currently have it booted up. I am a bit confused though as Coffin has 2 partitions on the desktop, surely you can't just copy those two partitions into the newly created HDF that is mounted?
I did partition de HDF empty file with 2 partitions, The first one was 300Mb to copy DH0 and the second one was the rest of the disk space to copy DH1:

Hope it helps.

Best
allyourbasekris
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by allyourbasekris »

WIth a bit of tweaking I've managed to get networking working!
20201118_210731.JPG
20201118_210731.JPG (4.2 MiB) Viewed 496 times
Darthcustom
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Darthcustom »

What TCPIP stack are you using? Miami, Roadshow, ...???
allyourbasekris
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by allyourbasekris »

Darthcustom wrote: ↑Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:22 am What TCPIP stack are you using? Miami, Roadshow, ...???
MiamiDX, I've got a configuration file that just works. You have to disable connect on boot from the main menu, load the config file into MiamiDX, then save it as a default. Then you can just hit Online and as long as you've got PPP turned on in your minimig core settings all the internet apps work. I'll upload the config file once I get back from work.

*EDIT* Here's an adf with the config file on for your convenience https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ajIieT ... sp=sharing *EDIT*
zoopster
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:08 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by zoopster »

It would be cool to have a maintained Minimig Coffin build with an auto update mechanism.
Darthcustom
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Coffin r57 running on MiSTer

Unread post by Darthcustom »

allyourbasekris wrote: ↑Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:06 pm
Darthcustom wrote: ↑Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:22 am What TCPIP stack are you using? Miami, Roadshow, ...???
MiamiDX, I've got a configuration file that just works. You have to disable connect on boot from the main menu, load the config file into MiamiDX, then save it as a default. Then you can just hit Online and as long as you've got PPP turned on in your minimig core settings all the internet apps work. I'll upload the config file once I get back from work.

*EDIT* Here's an adf with the config file on for your convenience https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ajIieT ... sp=sharing *EDIT*
Thanks, I followed your instructions and it works pretty straightforward.
Post Reply