Looking for Amiga driver developer

Sorgelig
Site Admin

Looking for Amiga driver developer

Unread post by Sorgelig »

I want to make a way to access Linux file system from Amiga.
I know how to make it in general. It requires to write a filesystem driver. Basically a simple and tiny driver is required which will write request to shared memory and then wait for reply.
The problem is that i don't know Amiga OS. I need a developer who is familiar with Amiga OS and can help me to assign a proper resources and other internal things and write such driver.
We can re-use part of this driver:
https://github.com/niklasekstrom/a314/t ... are/a314fs
It works similarly to what i want but we don't need complexity of that HW. We simply can create a shared memory between Amiga and Linux.

If it will be done, then Minimig will get a fast file exchange like UAE.
mbo77

Re: Looking for Amiga driver developer

Unread post by mbo77 »

I'm not a developer, but interested in your approach.
By exposing a filesystem you refer to a block-level SCSI-like device?
Jeruro

Unread post by Jeruro »

Maybe you should post in https://eab.abime.net/
robinsonb5

Unread post by robinsonb5 »

mbo77 wrote: Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:06 am I'm not a developer, but interested in your approach.
By exposing a filesystem you refer to a block-level SCSI-like device?
Not quite - this would be a filesystem handler - i.e. something that lives in L: rather than Devs:
Think of it more like NFS, only communicating through a closely-coupled memory window instead of over a network cable.
kolla

Unread post by kolla »

File systems are non-trivial to implement, issues like file locking, character encoding of filenames, illegal filename chars, metadata, buffers and cache...
Sorgelig
Site Admin

kolla wrote: Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:35 pm File systems are non-trivial to implement, issues like file locking, character encoding of filenames, illegal filename chars, metadata, buffers and cache...