MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

immaburr
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by immaburr »

Hello everyone,

Seeing this error on the LCD screen when trying to start the MT32-pi. Connected only to the USER I/O port:

"UART framing error!"

It's also jumping through some other errors but they are too fast to read. If I comment out PSU errors from the wiki the error messages cycle through the above and something "break".

Same issues if I add the PI power supply but didn't leave on too long just in case that was too much voltage. I am using a digital I/O 6.0 revision if that's potentially any factor? Possibly an issue with the I/O board itself?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
User avatar
legacypixels
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by legacypixels »

How long is the cable you are using?

Also, you can use a separate power supply for the pi safely if you turn the mt32-pi power switch OFF- that will disconnect the power lead from the MiSTer.
US based seller of MiSTer addon boards. Visit https://www.legacypixels.com/mister
immaburr
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by immaburr »

legacypixels wrote: Sun Jun 20, 2021 2:04 am How long is the cable you are using?

Also, you can use a separate power supply for the pi safely if you turn the mt32-pi power switch OFF- that will disconnect the power lead from the MiSTer.
I'm using a USB 3.0 cable that came with the MT32-pi hat. If I turn the hat off and use the power supply with the PI I get the same errors if I'm also connecting the USB User I/O port.

If I disconnect the USB cable from the I/O port and power on it comes up fine. This sort of leads me to believe this might be an I/O board issue.
User avatar
legacypixels
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by legacypixels »

Hmm, OK.
Any chance you can post a picture of your I/O board?
US based seller of MiSTer addon boards. Visit https://www.legacypixels.com/mister
User avatar
legacypixels
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by legacypixels »

Also, try plugging your USB cable in the other way around.
US based seller of MiSTer addon boards. Visit https://www.legacypixels.com/mister
immaburr
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by immaburr »

I've attached shots of the I/O board I'm using. Please let me know if you need any closer shots.
Attachments
IMG_20210622_205558525.jpg
IMG_20210622_205558525.jpg (223.65 KiB) Viewed 349 times
IMG_20210622_205547754.jpg
IMG_20210622_205547754.jpg (141.99 KiB) Viewed 349 times
IMG_20210622_205508194.jpg
IMG_20210622_205508194.jpg (264.07 KiB) Viewed 349 times
User avatar
Nat
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:28 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by Nat »

Have a check for bridges / shorts on resistor networks RN12, RN13, RN14, and RN15

Looking at the pictures it seems you have a bridge on RN12 see where I've marked it on the below image.

Possible RN12 Bridge IO Board.jpg
Possible RN12 Bridge IO Board.jpg (615.61 KiB) Viewed 327 times
MiSTer FPGA Add-On Boards : UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
immaburr
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:57 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: MT32-Pi Issue "UART framing error!"

Unread post by immaburr »

Nat wrote: Wed Jun 23, 2021 11:20 am Have a check for bridges / shorts on resistor networks RN12, RN13, RN14, and RN15

Looking at the pictures it seems you have a bridge on RN12 see where I've marked it on the below image.

Possible RN12 Bridge IO Board.jpg
Thank you for this! I reflowed the contacts and tested and all seems to work now.

Thank you again for everyone's help!
Post Reply