Is my USB Hub 2.1 faulty?

MammonMachiner

Is my USB Hub 2.1 faulty?

Unread post by MammonMachiner »

(Final Edit: Just wanted to add that Ken of LegacyPixels reached out to me and offered to send me a new hub, free of charge! It even has a new special modification of his own design that should help with wifi issues. He shipped it out within hours of his first e-mail! You really can't beat that kind of customer service.

I also wanted to say, for the record, I truly had no ill-intent when I mentioned his company in one of my comments below. I bought my IO board and RAM from him too and it's all very well made. The issues I'm dealing with may be, and likely are, from something else entirely. Nonetheless, he was generous enough to send me a new board and I'm very grateful for that. I'd definitely recommend him to anyone else interested in Mister stuff. Thanks again, Ken!)

Hi, I'm new to the Mister project and I'm just now finalizing my build. I've had the USB hub for about 3 weeks (around when I first built my Mister) and I've been having an issue where I could only have around 3 (or maybe 4) things plugged in at one time, otherwise I'd experience issues. I wrote this off as being a power issue with the stock PSU. Well, today I finally got a new PSU from zerohimself (5v 4 amp), along with the y-splitter/power button cord from misteraddons, and when I tried using more than 4 ports, I was getting the same strange issue where the USB LEDs would sporadically flash or not come on at all on a few of the ports. Just to clarify, I have 3 8bitdo pads plugged in, a logitech 400 unifying dongle, and tried adding a bluetooth and wifi adapter (both from misteraddons). The LEDs for the last two would never go solid green and wouldn't work at all.

If anyone has any idea on what the problem is, I'd really appreciate the info. Thanks in advance!