What amp fuse in the plug should I use?

Showcase builds, discuss cases, embedding MiSTer into existing computer cases.
Fuzzball

What amp fuse in the plug should I use?

Unread post by Fuzzball »

This is probably the most stupid question asked in these forums ;) Please bear with me. I've never built a device before. I'm still waiting for my DE10 to arrive but have all the other parts. I even bought a Mean Well 5V 4A power supply even though I know the DE10 comes with one as I'll be using a MT32-Pi hat and an external usb drive so wanted a few extra amps for peace of mind and also a uk plug rather than having to use an adapter.

I didn't realize the power supply doesn't come with a plug lead. I went for the 2 pin one. I have a few of those cables lying around but here is the silly question. What amp fuse should be in the plug?

I know nothing about electronics and you can probably tell I'm probably biting off more than I can chew building a Mister ;)
wodmarach

Re: What amp fuse in the plug should I use?

Unread post by wodmarach »

Technically a 5A but who actually bothers with less than a 13A in a plug these days? Your breaker board probably out reacts the fuse, unless ofc you plan on dropping it in water?
Fuzzball

Unread post by Fuzzball »

So I can use any fuse? Sorry you lost me at the breaker board bit lol. I don't know why I've never bothered understanding all this stuff over the years. I guess I've just been lazy and always used the plug that came with every device in my house. I did once blow up my boiler when I was renting many moons ago when I changed the fuse in the plug and must have done something wrong.
yxkalle

Unread post by yxkalle »

It's 20W (4A x 5V).
20W / 240V + 10% = ~0.092 Amperes.

The ideal fuse would be a 1 amp one, but 3A will work too, in a pinch.
Blitzwing

Unread post by Blitzwing »