Considerations for a custom case?? Where to buy??

Showcase builds, discuss cases, embedding MiSTer into existing computer cases.
hitm4n

Considerations for a custom case?? Where to buy??

Unread post by hitm4n »

Lets start with the case. I'm considering a case like this one... Cheap and moddable. 248 x 209 x 81 mm - Looks pretty enough and i think the right size?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002584251622.html

I will probably spray the coloured half orange and might replace the front plate with a 3d printed one (definately will if i butcher the original one :) )

I've seen so many neat cases and projects, lots of custom parts are used to wire it all up internally. But i've seen little about where to get all these parts from, or what are the must have (required) parts to do this. As i have very little electronics experience, and my soldering skills are limited too (i can do a bit), i need this to be as plug and play as possible.

First, where are you guys finding these nifty 3 coloured buttons for the IO board, and are they simple to connect up? ref: download/file.php?id=2552

How much is involved in one of the TTY2OLED displays, does anyone sell pre-made plug and play versions i can connect and mount. What sizes of display are possible, what colours? Or are they all mono (which is fine). Mounting it and setting it up shouldn't be a problem, but if i have to wire up a board and solder components in, its probably not for me.