FM Towns core

Awestyn
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 11:11 am

FM Towns core

Unread post by Awestyn »

Just putting this out there :D
User avatar
AmigoMexicano
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 3:06 am

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by AmigoMexicano »

OMG I got excited, don't play with my poor heart XD
--
From Mexico City... AmigoMexicano!
(Yes, the same from all other retro forums)
*MiSTer FPGA Owner since April 2020*
puu
Core Developer
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:20 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 76 times
Contact:

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by puu »

That's right, it was completed.
Then there's nothing I can do :mrgreen:
Awestyn
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 11:11 am

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Awestyn »

What was completed puu?
Awestyn
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 11:11 am

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Awestyn »

This is running a Intel 386, so it is very possible borrowing from the ao486 project I would think.
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Moondandy »

Wait, has someone in Japan done an FM Towns core Puu?
puu
Core Developer
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:20 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 76 times
Contact:

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by puu »

No, I've never heard that it was made.
Does this thread mean that someone has completed this core?
Thank you for using it.
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Moondandy »

No Puu, nobody has done this core, but people would love it if somebody did!
User avatar
JUNKER Seed
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:49 pm
Has thanked: 12 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by JUNKER Seed »

I would imagine a working FM Towns core would have big implications for projects like ao486. Or vice versa — perhaps it could provide a starting point for an FM Towns core (the launch model had a 386SX @ 16mhz or something like that).

It would be a nice core to have after the X68000 and PC-88 cores become more mature.
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Alkadian »

I would love to see this happening! What a dream!
softtest9
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 7:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by softtest9 »

I would love to have FM-Towns as well. The FM-Towns uses the YM2612 for FM music, same as the MegaDrive. I believe that some code could be shared with a PC-98 core as well (the x86 CPU).
fraggore@sky.com
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 7:52 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by fraggore@sky.com »

Yep FMtowns would be very cool
puu
Core Developer
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:20 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 76 times
Contact:

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by puu »

Is MiSTer's HDMI circuitry okay with video formats other than the resolutions normally used for HDMI?
TOWNS uses various resolution modes such as horizontal 15k, 24k, and 31kHz, but will convert it to the corresponding resolution if the synchronization signal is input at the original timing? Or is it serialized and output only as it is like DVI?
dshadoff
Core Developer
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:30 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 108 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by dshadoff »

MiSTer's HDMI will be OK with that.
There is an internal scaler which converts basically any video format into a HDMI-compatible format, so don't worry.
The original resolution modes (15k,24k,31k, etc.) will normally be sent through the I/O board's VGA output.
puu
Core Developer
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:20 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 76 times
Contact:

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by puu »

dshadoff wrote: Sun Mar 14, 2021 2:10 am MiSTer's HDMI will be OK with that.
There is an internal scaler which converts basically any video format into a HDMI-compatible format, so don't worry.
The original resolution modes (15k,24k,31k, etc.) will normally be sent through the I/O board's VGA output.
Thanks.
User avatar
deltax0
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:17 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by deltax0 »

I noticed there is a computer fmtowns and a console style (fm towns marty). Which one did you want to see?
I am going to watch a video of the top games to see what the computer / console is all about.
ThetaX55
MiSTer
4tb external hard drive, blister and io.
puu
Core Developer
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:20 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 76 times
Contact:

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by puu »

Little by little, it started working.

20210506_120135-screen.png
20210506_120135-screen.png (3.6 KiB) Viewed 9359 times
retrorepair
Posts: 257
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:06 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by retrorepair »

puu wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 12:33 pm Little by little, it started working.
Now THIS is exciting :)

Incredible work!
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Alkadian »

puu wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 12:33 pm Little by little, it started working.
Awesome news here!!! Many thanks Puu!!!
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

puu wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 12:33 pm Little by little, it started working.
Thank you Mr Puu !!
Great job
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Moondandy »

Wow, good stuff Puu! Are the FM computer and the Towns Marty similar in technical spec?
Milspex
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:46 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Milspex »

wow!
softtest9
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 7:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by softtest9 »

Amazing! Will you be using Jotego's YM2612 code?

https://github.com/jotego/jt12
Estrayk
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:57 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Estrayk »

puu wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 12:33 pm Little by little, it started working.
wow! :o :o :o :o :o :o
PepAlacant
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:34 pm

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by PepAlacant »

Hope this one will be finished. FM-Towns is a system that should be preserved due the fragility of the real systems.
sofakng
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:52 am
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by sofakng »

Woah.... this is EXTREMELY exciting! Is there a Patreon to support development?
cyo.the.vile
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2021 5:17 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by cyo.the.vile »

puu wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 12:33 pm Little by little, it started working.
Puu-san,

If you need help testing please let me know.

I own CX20, UX20, TC Marty, HR100, S12, HA53 computers.

I would be happy to help preserve my favorite computer.
Elrinth
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:28 am

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by Elrinth »

This is awesome! puu is working on pc88, pc98, x68k and fmtowns cores?! :D
User avatar
jurkevicz
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 2:49 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by jurkevicz »

Any Updates on this Core?
cyo.the.vile
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2021 5:17 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: FM Towns core

Unread post by cyo.the.vile »

puu wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 12:33 pm Little by little, it started working.
Puu-san,

To clarify, is your development environment DE0 or DE0-CV? Me and captainys both have DE0-CV.
Post Reply