Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by Alkadian »

Hi guys,

I haven't played duck hunt for a while. Today I have decided to give it a go again. However, not sure what happened, but the USB sensor bar doesn't seem to be working anymore as the red crosshairs doesn't move at all. I have tried with another usb sensor bar but to no avail, still it doesn't work.

My (unchanged) settings are:

Swap Joystick : No
Peripheral: Zapper (Joy 1)
Zapper Trigger: Joystick
Crosshairs: On

Any ideas at all please?
User avatar
skooter
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 1:37 pm
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: WIimote and WII usb sensor bar

Unread post by skooter »

I have the same issue. It seems Wii Mote support is broken in the current MiSTer Main version.

Check this bug report and sorgelig response:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/issues/267
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: WIimote and WII usb sensor bar

Unread post by Alkadian »

Hi,
Thanks for sharing your experience and the link to the bug report.

For a moment I thought I have burnt the infrared LED’s within both the USB sensor bars.

I am glad to hear that sorgelig is already working on a fix! That’s awesome!
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: WIimote and WII usb sensor bar

Unread post by Alkadian »

@sorgelig,
Many thanks for fixing this. It's now working like a charm!
What a happy boy now :mrgreen:

EDIT: I think I have spoken too early. After rebooting it doesn't work anymore!
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar

Unread post by Alkadian »

Excellent news!!

I have just re-installed everything starting from a fresh install of MiSTer and that did the trick!

Everything is working perfectly fine! :mrgreen:
User avatar
barfood
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:55 pm
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by barfood »

I can't get the crosshair to move with MiSTer v210711, I am using a wii sensor bar powered by my Wii U. Is the bug back?
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by Alkadian »

I haven't used the Wiimote for a while. Let me check it again and I will come back to you.
User avatar
Alkadian
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 167 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by Alkadian »

I have just checked it and it's working fine on my side. However, I have had to change only this setting: Peripheral: Zapper (Joy 2). I have replicated this behaviour after every reboot and it has worked every time. Try that.
User avatar
Sigismond0
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

Just throwing in my experience here--joycon remote worked fine with Duck Hunt a couple of days ago as long as I set Zapper to Joy1 or Joy2. Using a battery powered sensor bar.

Also, side note, but the Precision FX pistol grip for the Wii Remote is great. Puts a joystick under your thumb and extra buttons on the bottom/sides, so you can map it out to easily navigate menus right from the gun.

550x446.jpg
550x446.jpg (38.17 KiB) Viewed 7799 times
commander
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 6:56 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by commander »

any info where to buy this Precision FX ?
User avatar
Sigismond0
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

Best bet is probably eBay or Google shopping to scrape the web. I'm sure it's been out of production for close to a decade. I snagged the last one on Datel's eBay front a year or so ago.
User avatar
barfood
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:55 pm
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by barfood »

Thanks for coming back to me! I'll try out some more.
User avatar
Sigismond0
Posts: 339
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by Sigismond0 »

Tangential to this, is anyone else not seeing any change in behavior when re-calibrating the screen edges in the F10 menu? It feels like no matter where I point during that process, the tracking of the crosshairs never changes--I always have to point at the far left/right of my 16:9 display to get the crosshair to the edge of the 4:3 letterbox. And verticalally it doesn't register numbers higher than 760 for the bottom edge of the screen if I have the bar above the screen (or numbers below 000 if the bar is below the screen), so vertical pointing just can't calibrate to the actual height of the screen.

Not sure if it's just a hardware limitation of the Wii remote, or a software issue of the calibration screen not having a full range and/or not storing the values I set.
User avatar
siskavard
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by siskavard »

I have the issue where I have to tilt the wiimotes up slighty - I can't point them straight at my display else the crosshair will be much lower than where I'm pointing.
User avatar
chocomochino
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 4:43 am
Location: Mexico
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Wiimote and WII usb sensor bar [Solved]

Unread post by chocomochino »

has someone sorted out this calibration thing? it just keeps worse;
So the sensor bar has to be on the bottom right? is there any way to reset it to default?
Post Reply