Sega 32X Core

futurepr0n
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2022 8:32 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by futurepr0n »

Yes I got it working - the trick for me is that I’m using a rom that I was successful playing on actual hardware too. I found many versions wouldn’t load for me on the 32x but this one works on both real hardware and the mister perfect so far. I can't recall which place I found it precisely - it might be a place that has a "Romance" with "CD" but I could be wrong, sorry
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (3.4 MiB) Viewed 3356 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (3.38 MiB) Viewed 3356 times
User avatar
Kitrinx
Core Developer
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 2:14 am
Location: NYC
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Kitrinx »

Yes, it works great. A very impressive patch I might add. Note that it must be applied to the european version of the game, perhaps you are patching the wrong rom?
CeeDeeVee
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 8:59 am
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by CeeDeeVee »

just bumping this:
Schyz wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 9:37 pm Let's not forget, srg320 has created this core while the second biggest military in the planet is occupying his town.

Please guys go to his Patreon to show some support: https://www.patreon.com/srg320
Yorkshire fella, living in California, where no one understands a word I say unless it's a quote from Game of Thrones.
I do music, code and burn myself with soldering irons. Part dog, part wolf, all coffee addict.
Grechy34
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2022 10:46 am

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Grechy34 »

ItalianGrandma wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 3:12 am
PistolsAtDawn wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 12:07 am
Neo666 wrote: Sun Apr 24, 2022 8:14 pm Pitfall only runs at 30FPS in-game on the 32x unfortunately, shame as it looks much better than the Mega Drive version
I think it's an improvement over the SNES version as well.

Does anyone else get a crash and debug message in Spiderman? It happens frequently when you fall to your death. Just curious if maybe I have a bad dump.
Yep, it happened to me as well. Someone else already reported the bug on Github.

I tried looking for an alternate rom, but wasn’t able to find any with a different CRC than the rom I already have.
Same error here also.
MickBerry1982
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:24 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by MickBerry1982 »

Has the 6 button controller been implemented or am I doing something stupid? :roll:
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Chris23235 »

MickBerry1982 wrote: Thu Apr 28, 2022 8:19 am Has the 6 button controller been implemented or am I doing something stupid? :roll:
It works for me in Star Wars (you have to enable it in the core menu).
MickBerry1982
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:24 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by MickBerry1982 »

I have it set in the core menu, but not having much luck.
It's probably something silly I've overlooked. Just checking with you guys though. 👍
User avatar
Captain FPGA
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 pm
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Captain FPGA »

This is great! Srg has really out done himself.
Dreams don't die!
Image
User avatar
Chris23235
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Chris23235 »

MickBerry1982 wrote: Thu Apr 28, 2022 8:29 am I have it set in the core menu, but not having much luck.
It's probably something silly I've overlooked. Just checking with you guys though. 👍
Did you setup all 6 buttons in the MiSTer controller menu? Does the 6 button work in the Genesis core? I only tried Star Wars Arcade, which games did you try?
Neo666
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Neo666 »

Neo666 wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 3:44 pm Has anyone else manged to get this Doom hack working on the core?

32X Resurrection: https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/6269/

The patched rom I have works fine in emulation, but I just get a black screen on the 32X core, tried manually setting region but no luck
Finally found out what the issue was (nothing to do with the ROM) the game just won't boot with Gun Contol settings on, which I didn't realise I had on or consider a possible issue! :lol:

Now working fine :D
Barone
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Barone »

Hi!

I would like to say THANK YOU VERY MUCH to Sergey (srg320) for this core.

As I had said in the previous 32X thread, there are some really interesting games on the 32X despite its super short lifespan and small library.
And, as others stated recently, the original 32X units can be a pain to work properly and especially when used for testing purposes; not a practical setup in several aspects. But it is, in many ways, a more feasible homebrew platform than other more commercially successful consoles.

Yesterday Doom 32X Resurrection v2.0 was released (full disclosure: I'm part of the team; mostly focused on QA-related stuff).
The link is the same that had been shared in the post above mine and more info can be found there; if you're enjoying this core you should probably check it out.

Again, thank you very much for this amazing gift, Sergey (and sincere thanks to this community and to everyone who supports him). I'm sure it will help more indie/homebrew projects to be developed for the 32X and surely a lot more people will get to know this platform now.
Just the positive coverage gotten by this core's release has already been a game-changer IMO.
blacklistedcard
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

This is the first time I have experienced the 32x. Thanks.
Narenek
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 2:04 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Narenek »

I'll have to download this and get it running, then i can officially retire the tower of Power and award it a long service medal.
blacklistedcard
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by blacklistedcard »

Kitrinx wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 4:53 pm Yes, it works great. A very impressive patch I might add. Note that it must be applied to the european version of the game, perhaps you are patching the wrong rom?
Wow what a difference. It really shows when you have enough time what people are able to achieve.

BOSS: You finished the game? Or your fired.
YOU: UMMM... What game?
BOSS: DOOM on 32x.....
YOU: This is the first time hearing about it.
BOSS: You have until this afternoon to make a game and get it out of the door. Your total budget is $10.00. We better sell millions of copies.
YOU: ERRR... OK...
User avatar
MiSTerEggman
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 6:33 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by MiSTerEggman »

Im using Antonio villena's s-video with analog io board to a 14" CRT

the colors are washed out / inaccurate / lots of flickering on this core... anyone else?

Tried switching the physical switch from auto to ovr on io, still doesnt fix it.

Looks fine over HDMI to my flat screen.
User avatar
Moondandy
Posts: 439
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:14 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Moondandy »

Not enabled yet, but we have a 32x cheat pack ready to go:
https://gamehacking.org/mister/
dyne
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by dyne »

I'm a scrub so THANK YOU!
jacob.pederson
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2020 12:48 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by jacob.pederson »

aberu wrote: Sat Apr 23, 2022 7:28 pm
jacob.pederson wrote: Sat Apr 23, 2022 12:59 pm I'm having a lot of issues with ROM's defaulting to PAL mode that are labeled as USA/JAPAN. Anybody else getting this?
Which roms? I will test and see. It's best to add more information to your bug reports like this.

EDIT: I just checked all of the commercial library with header detection and my region priority set to US>JP>EU. Here are the results and the reasons:

Shadow Squadron ~ Stellar Assault (USA, Europe) boots to European region. (Header has E for the region, so the developers set it to the european region, you will have to set the region manually).
FIFA Soccer 96 (Europe) boots to US Region. (JUE region code, so just set your region priority)
Mortal Kombat II (Europe) boots to US region. (JUE region code, so just set your region priority)

So everything is working normally, this isn't a bug.
I had some ROMs that weren't labeled correctly, I got everything going right now thanks!
the_muteKi
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 2:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by the_muteKi »

Are there any known releases of Chaotix that work with the core?
Stupid Dufus
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 12:04 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Stupid Dufus »

only played a few mins, but Chaotix with CRC32 of D0B0B842/MD5 of 47B1095E68B053125CD2CD5B1AC4EB50 worked fine for me.

The various betas for the game loaded up, but admittedly I didn't try playing those.
retro
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:19 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by retro »

Stupid Dufus wrote: Tue May 10, 2022 1:12 pm only played a few mins, but Chaotix with CRC32 of D0B0B842/MD5 of 47B1095E68B053125CD2CD5B1AC4EB50 worked fine for me.
Getting the same results too with this exact ROM :)
grizzly
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by grizzly »

retro wrote: Wed May 11, 2022 12:47 am Getting the same results too with this exact ROM :)
As in working good or have problems :?:
AtomicShroom
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2021 12:28 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by AtomicShroom »

Can you be more specific? Does it not run at all, or are you facing the known issue of the game crashing after completing the first special stage? Because if it's the latter, nothing can be done until a fix is issued.
the_muteKi
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 2:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by the_muteKi »

Yeah I'm referring to the black screen hang. I was just surprised as it's one or the few games to have such obvious issues.
User avatar
Kitrinx
Core Developer
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 2:14 am
Location: NYC
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 105 times
Contact:

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Kitrinx »

the_muteKi wrote: Wed May 11, 2022 3:15 pm Yeah I'm referring to the black screen hang. I was just surprised as it's one or the few games to have such obvious issues.
I fixed some of the 32x specific issues, but the remaining ones I think are all part of either the reworked genesis implementation or the SH2 chip. Trying to learn these bits of code without Sergey available to comment on them I feel wouldn't be a realistic use of time, so for the remaining issues I think it would be best to simply wait for his return.
Piplup87
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 8:27 pm

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Piplup87 »

MiSTerEggman wrote: Wed May 04, 2022 3:38 pm Im using Antonio villena's s-video with analog io board to a 14" CRT

the colors are washed out / inaccurate / lots of flickering on this core... anyone else?

Tried switching the physical switch from auto to ovr on io, still doesnt fix it.

Looks fine over HDMI to my flat screen.
I am experiencing exactly the same thing with my s-video signal (using the villena adapter). Im not experiencing anything similar in any other cores. did you ever find a fix to this? Thanks very much.
retro
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:19 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by retro »

grizzly wrote: Wed May 11, 2022 4:25 am
retro wrote: Wed May 11, 2022 12:47 am Getting the same results too with this exact ROM :)
As in working good or have problems :?:
oops sorry i wasn't specific... I meant Knuckles Chaotix works without any problems
Mistermonkey1080
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 12, 2022 7:09 pm

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Mistermonkey1080 »

retro wrote: Thu May 12, 2022 12:52 am
grizzly wrote: Wed May 11, 2022 4:25 am
retro wrote: Wed May 11, 2022 12:47 am Getting the same results too with this exact ROM :)
As in working good or have problems :?:
oops sorry i wasn't specific... I meant Knuckles Chaotix works without any problems

This absolutely DOES NOT work. Sure it plays until the special stage which is after act 3 but after that you select your character and then are hit with the black screen of death. So no this game does not fully work.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/S32X_MiSTer/issues/3
retro
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:19 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by retro »

Mistermonkey1080 wrote: Thu May 12, 2022 7:11 pm This absolutely DOES NOT work. Sure it plays until the special stage which is after act 3 but after that you select your character and then are hit with the black screen of death. So no this game does not fully work.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/S32X_MiSTer/issues/3
Fair enough... I couldn't get that far anyway (I suck at platformers)
Rolygon
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 3:52 am

Re: Sega 32X Core

Unread post by Rolygon »

MiSTerEggman wrote: Wed May 04, 2022 3:38 pm Im using Antonio villena's s-video with analog io board to a 14" CRT

the colors are washed out / inaccurate / lots of flickering on this core... anyone else?

Tried switching the physical switch from auto to ovr on io, still doesnt fix it.

Looks fine over HDMI to my flat screen.
Yup, I too am having the same issue with that adapter.
Post Reply