No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Hecky666
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 11:10 am

No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by Hecky666 »

Hi there,

im new to the misterproject.
Got a single de10nano running and updated it with the mr fusion update_all-script.
Dont have the ramupdate / usb hub / io-board jet. Ordered them, but sill waiting for arrival - availability in germany is horrible :(

Genesis / TG16 / Atari and some (old) arcadecores are running nicely.

But I am not able to start any nintendo rom f.e. nes.
The screen stays allways grey.
I can see the "loading-rom-bar" (on snes-games) but nothing showes up.
I can still access the menu via F12 - so it does not hang up just wont boot the rom properbly.

Tried different roms from different sources, non of them worked.
Also tried to duplicate the boot0.rom and renaming them to ..1.rom/..2.rom/..3.rom ... nothing changed.

I am not sure about the headers mentioned in this forum.
I tried to use iNES information but dunno how to read it :(
I attached a file from a .nes game.

Please can someone help me?
Attachments
01.jpg
01.jpg (80.26 KiB) Viewed 408 times
Xbytez
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 481 times

Re: No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by Xbytez »

You need a memory module for the NES core, it is not optional.

See here for a list of the cores which require a memory module to function:

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... -use-SDRAM
Hecky666
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 11:10 am

Re: No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by Hecky666 »

Thanks a lot.
Was on that site but misinterpreted the info.
Xbytez
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 481 times

Re: No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by Xbytez »

Hecky666 wrote: Fri Jun 10, 2022 9:43 am Was on that site but misinterpreted the info.
Do you have any suggestions on how to improve the wiki page, so the information more easily interpreted?
FPGA64
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Xbytez wrote: Fri Jun 10, 2022 2:54 pm
Hecky666 wrote: Fri Jun 10, 2022 9:43 am Was on that site but misinterpreted the info.
Do you have any suggestions on how to improve the wiki page, so the information more easily interpreted?
BirdyBro already did this

https://mister-devel.github.io/MkDocs_M ... s/console/
Xbytez
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 481 times

Re: No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by Xbytez »

FPGA64 wrote: Fri Jun 10, 2022 2:57 pm BirdyBro already did this

https://mister-devel.github.io/MkDocs_M ... s/console/
I have seen the two pages for SDRAM requirements for consoles and computer cores on the docs site, however not everyone finds that as an information source first, I am still interested in how the wiki page was misinterpreted from a new MiSTer users point of view so an effort can be made to improve it.

My interpretation of the wiki site is if it has a specific SDRAM speed requirement listed for a core, then SDRAM memory it is needed for said core, unless is states SDRAM as being optional, however others may not interpret the page in this way.
Yim
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2021 11:51 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: No Game Will Start Just Grey Background

Unread post by Yim »

I think I’d find it easier to understand if the optional and required cores were separated - maybe at the start of the page list the ones where it’s optional and have text saying the cores can use it but will run without it, and then list the ones where it’s required and specifically say “the following cores will not work without SDRAM” or something to that effect.
Post Reply