Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

User avatar
charmless
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 3:38 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 69 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by charmless »

Hi!

Is there no Flickerblend option in the Neo Geo Core? The Monitor I use with Mister is really sensetive to static flickering (the Life Bar in Samurai Shodown IV for example). I might just be missing it.

If there are none. Are there other options to mitigate this problem? Maybe by using a different filter.

All the help/guidance I can get is much appreciated.
MiSTer Community Game Club Join the fun club today!
User avatar
aberu
Core Developer
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
Location: Longmont, CO
Has thanked: 203 times
Been thanked: 313 times
Contact:

Re: Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by aberu »

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Gameboy ... 5c219737d9 - This is how it was done in the Game Boy core for reference.

However it would have to be done somewhat significantly differently in the Neo Geo core, and it would consume more logic because there are much more pixels being drawn on the screen, and it might stress the timing a bit more. Just posting this here for perspective however. It would be more involved than in the cores with frameblend/flickerblend currently.
birdybro~
User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 151 times

Re: Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

The Lynx core also has flickerblend, blending up to three frames.
User avatar
lufeig
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2022 3:29 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by lufeig »

Does using a patched 60Hz Neo Geo core alleviate the problem?
User avatar
charmless
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 3:38 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 69 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by charmless »

lufeig wrote: Wed Apr 20, 2022 5:10 pm Does using a patched 60Hz Neo Geo core alleviate the problem?
The mother of late replies. Sadly, no. The status/life bars in Samurai Shodown IV is still flickering like crazy.
MiSTer Community Game Club Join the fun club today!
fierman
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2022 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by fierman »

The flickering is an interlacing effect, to simulate transparency with other 'layers' in the game. It's a relatively cheap effect which works well on crt monitors, less on lcd screens. Flickerblend would get rid of those transparency effects as well.
FoxbatStargazer
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Flickerblend on the Neo Geo Core

Unread post by FoxbatStargazer »

Samura showdown does not have an interlacing effect, it's just flashing within 240p, and it's even more noticable/distracting on a CRT because of the lack of motion blur to soften the contrast between on and off. Although devs did use this trick often in spite of that, if for no other reason than being computationally cheap.

IPS screens can also have problems with image persistence triggered by flashing effects, especially when you take into account overdrive that compensates for their inherent motion blur. Heck I have one monitor that can keep flickering for hours after using the 240p test suite shadow test. So that's one issue that CRT didn't have to worry about at least, and can be a problem for playing on modern displays.

Still the biggest challenge here, is that flickerblend is usually for handhelds, which did have horrendously blurry screens and some games took good advantage of that. But that's not how Neo Geo was ever experienced back in the day, so it might be a bit weird to see the effort put in to that feature.

Maybe this is something that could be implemented universally at the scaler level and enabled with ini? LCDs are the main place where you would want this anyway on most cores, and there's already some kind of framebuffer when using vsync_adjust=0 or 1.
Post Reply