Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

AmintaMister
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by AmintaMister »

thera34 wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 7:55 am
akeley wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 1:55 am C64 OS has just been released: https://c64os.com/ One of the "recommended" setups is C128, wonder if it would work on this core (baring the fact it's somewhat costly, especially seeing as there is no digital download option).
According to the site, we would need a SD2IEC drive to begin with. Maybe it would work with an SNAC2IEC adapter like this https://ultimatemister.com/product/mister-snac-iec-c64/ and an SD2IEC drive connected, but I have neither of those to test out.

Minimum Hardware Requirements
A Commodore 64 computer
A Joystick
An SD2IEC drive* **
I own both SNAC2IEC adapter and an SD2IEC drive if a test is needed on the core...
akeley
Posts: 1092
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 329 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by akeley »

thera34 wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 7:55 am According to the site, we would need a SD2IEC drive to begin with.
SC2IEC is listed as the cheapest solution, there are others:
* C64 OS can access all your floppy disk drives, but a mass-storage device with support for native CMD-style subdirectories is required for the system drive. Check out the Commodore 8-Bit Buyer's Guide for a wide range of mass storage devices commercially available for the C64.

** An SD2IEC is the least expensive of the supported storage device families. But, an IDE64 or CMD HD or RamLink can be used in place of an SD2IEC.
Whether these other ones could be emulated in the FPGA I don't know, but you can also install that OS in Vice on a PC, so maybe there could be a way to do it without connecting extra hardware. It also could be that these "CMD-style directories" are already supported.
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

rhester72 wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 6:25 pm
djsquare wrote: Wed Sep 28, 2022 4:46 pm Hey I just want to say I've been having fun playing with this core and thank you eriks5 for all your hard work. Now I wonder what else I can do in 80 column mode...
Productivity (including GEOS and CP/M) and Infocom games. LOL

Though I will confess that if he hooks it up to serial the way the C64 is on MiSTer so you can "dial out" to BBSes over telnet, seeing DESterm 128 actually do something again 30 years later would be AWESOME!
Serial is inherited from the C64 core and works. Retro Tech Shed made a YouTube video showing it working: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNJQo9Dt9QM
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

akeley wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 9:28 am
Whether these other ones could be emulated in the FPGA I don't know, but you can also install that OS in Vice on a PC, so maybe there could be a way to do it without connecting extra hardware. It also could be that these "CMD-style directories" are already supported.
Mass storage and CMD style directories are not supported in the core
rhester72
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 86 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by rhester72 »

eriks5 wrote: Thu Sep 29, 2022 11:59 am Serial is inherited from the C64 core and works. Retro Tech Shed made a YouTube video showing it working: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNJQo9Dt9QM
Awesome! I will try this. Thank you!
djsquare
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by djsquare »

It's probably not possible to get that snes controller user port thing to work with the core for Attack of the Petscii Robots? It's one of the only games I mess around in C128 40 column mode. Probably too much work for one game huh?
ZigZag
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:05 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by ZigZag »

What about a RAM drive?
djsquare
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by djsquare »

djsquare wrote: Thu Oct 06, 2022 8:26 pm It's probably not possible to get that snes controller user port thing to work with the core for Attack of the Petscii Robots? It's one of the only games I mess around in C128 40 column mode. Probably too much work for one game huh?
sorry guys, you can just remap keyboard to joystick controls. I've been a MiSTer user since 2018 and I'm still stupid sometimes
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

ZigZag wrote: Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:22 pm What about a RAM drive?
REU functionality is inherited from the C64 core and works as far as I know. It provides a ramdisk to software that supports it. Disk images load and save to/from the MiSTer SD card or a USB drive which is already as fast as it can get using the IEC protocol.
User avatar
Juri
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:49 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by Juri »

hi Eriks5,
thank you for your magneficent work, is something new? the core is still 5 months old, are there bugs fixed in the upcoming release?
thank you so much again
JF
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

Juri wrote: Fri Nov 11, 2022 12:21 pm hi Eriks5,
thank you for your magneficent work, is something new? the core is still 5 months old, are there bugs fixed in the upcoming release?
thank you so much again
Still working on it. It's done when it's done
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

Sneak peek of the latest feature
Sequence 01.gif
Sequence 01.gif (3.64 MiB) Viewed 881 times
can you spot it? :mrgreen:
rcade
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 7:57 pm
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by rcade »

Vertical lines? Authentic, but not endearing.
User avatar
ericgus09
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:47 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by ericgus09 »

rcade wrote: Mon Nov 21, 2022 8:07 pm Vertical lines? Authentic, but not endearing.
Its like the Amiga floppy drive TICK TICK TICK .. you miss it when its gone forever..
jordi
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by jordi »

Mistaken
User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Posts: 860
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 543 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

Faint yellow vertical lines used to be a telltale sign that my VIC-20 had crashed.
rcade
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 7:57 pm
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by rcade »

Binary?
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

New development/test release of the C128 core is here!

Changes in this release compared to the last dev release:
  • 1570/1571 now support reading from and writing to MFM disks (for CP/M). Passes all disk tests of C128 factory test
  • External fast serial now actually works (thanks to a lot of help from https://github.com/thierer)
  • Selectable VDC colour palette
  • And the most important feature of the core: VIC jail bars, cause it ain't a C128 without! (sorry Bil :mrgreen:)
Also merged in the changes Sorgelig and others made to the C64 core.

Doesn't look like much changes, but adding MFM support to the 157x meant having to rewrite most of the existing disk handling code, which took a lot of time and trial-and-error.

In the attachment you'll find the .rbf for the core, and a modified MiSTer main binary because the core needs changes to that for the 157x changes. Disk I/O won't work without the modified main binary. The provided main binary is up-to-date with the latest changes as well. See my previous post on how to update your MiSTer main binary.
Attachments
C128-dev-release-20221123.zip
(2.98 MiB) Downloaded 44 times
User avatar
tontonkaloun
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:38 pm
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by tontonkaloun »

Thank you so much !
EeDee
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:33 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by EeDee »

Jail bars for those nostalgic moments. Nice!
Thank you @eriks5
User avatar
ericgus09
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:47 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by ericgus09 »

<3 Jailbars!
User avatar
ericgus09
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 2:47 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by ericgus09 »

eriks5 wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 11:45 am In the attachment you'll find the .rbf for the core, and a modified MiSTer main binary because the core needs changes to that for the 157x changes. Disk I/O won't work without the modified main binary.
Im just curious .. I often see cores mention changes to the main mister binary frequently .. usually in reference to disk support, can you maybe elaborate a little what the change is that requires it in this case .. again more curious than anything .. Just trying to learn. Thanks! (you don't need to go into super detail, I am just trying to understand the issue better). I get this core disks functions wont work without them .. just curious what changes have to happen on the mister main binary end.
Malor
Posts: 571
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2022 11:50 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by Malor »

I hope the bars are optional? They look like crap.
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

ericgus09 wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 8:19 pm can you maybe elaborate a little what the change is that requires it in this case .. again more curious than anything .. Just trying to learn. Thanks! (you don't need to go into super detail, I am just trying to understand the issue better). I get this core disks functions wont work without them .. just curious what changes have to happen on the mister main binary end.
In a nutshell, adding support for .d71 and .g71 formats. These have double the amount of tracks since they're dual sided. With .g71 there's the added complexity of needing to support MFM formatted tracks that store about twice as much data as a GCR formatted track. The main binary handles the details of the file format itself, so the core only has to deal with the data for a single track and not how it's stored in the files.
rhester72
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 86 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by rhester72 »

@eriks5 Does that imply that in C64 mode it supports G64 as well? If so...wow. This may be another core supplanting another like the 7800 entirely functionally replacing the 2600 one.
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

rhester72 wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 10:52 pm @eriks5 Does that imply that in C64 mode it supports G64 as well? If so...wow. This may be another core supplanting another like the 7800 entirely functionally replacing the 2600 one.
The C64 core also supports .g64 images. In fact, that's technically the only format it supports for the 1541. The main mister binary converts .d64 into .g64 on the fly. For the C128 core it does the same for .d71 to .g71
rhester72
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 86 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by rhester72 »

eriks5 wrote: Wed Nov 23, 2022 11:00 pm The C64 core also supports .g64 images. In fact, that's technically the only format it supports for the 1541. The main mister binary converts .d64 into .g64 on the fly. For the C128 core it does the same for .d71 to .g71
I did not realize that! Thanks for the tip. :)

SUPER excited for the C128 though - it's the ultimate 8-bit from my past. Appreciate your efforts very much!
User avatar
kathleen
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:23 am
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by kathleen »

Thank you @eriks5,

I really like the VIC jail bars option. It's impressive how now the display mimics the original hardware.

Thanks again for your hardwork
AmintaMister
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by AmintaMister »

Thanks Eriks5! The VIC jail bars are so important for the reproduction of the real hardware that I would like to reproduce them also in the C64 core, is it possible?
eriks5
Core Developer
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 21, 2022 11:51 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: Commodore 128 for the MiSTer?

Unread post by eriks5 »

AmintaMister wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:23 am The VIC jail bars are so important for the reproduction of the real hardware that I would like to reproduce them also in the C64 core, is it possible?
Should be easy to backport it. I purposely try to keep as close to the C64 core as possible to make cherry picking commits from that repository easy. Works the other way around too :D

The VIC jail bars is a standalone commit: https://github.com/eriks5/C128_MiSTer/c ... 08ad805883
Biggest departure from the C64 core is that the display resolution doubled, the jail bars are rendered at half-pixel widths to make them look better and offset from the actual pixels. For the C128 core, that resolution was already doubled because of the VDC.

There are probably other fixes I made along the way that could be backported. I was planning on going over every little thing I did at some point and see if it's something that could possibly be backported.
Post Reply