N64 Core

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

same cycle access to RSP and RDP registers from CPU and RSP fixed
RDP: fix 9th bit readback index for frame and z-buffer

Attachments
N64_20230922.rbf
(3.44 MiB) Downloaded 145 times
User avatar
Alkadian
Top Contributor
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Alkadian »

Guys,
Can you please let me know if it is possible to use savestates with Excitebike? I am pretty sure I am missing how to use the savestates function in general.
Many thanks!

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

RDP: fix palette mode for 16/32bit textures (e.g. Mario Kart)

Attachments
N64_20230923.rbf
(3.38 MiB) Downloaded 192 times
FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Going to stop posting builds now as its part of update all if you do the following

Download with "update_all" - add the following to your /media/fat/downloader.ini:

Code: Select all

[n64_dev]
db_url = https://raw.githubusercontent.com/RobertPeip/Mister64/db/db.json.zip
spud_q
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2022 8:07 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by spud_q »

FPGA64 wrote: Sat Sep 23, 2023 3:37 pm

Going to stop posting builds now as its part of update all if you do the following

Download with "update_all" - add the following to your /media/fat/downloader.ini:

Code: Select all

[n64_dev]
db_url = https://raw.githubusercontent.com/RobertPeip/Mister64/db/db.json.zip

Thanks for posting them up until now. The updates and release notes have been fun to follow.

RainDelay
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2023 11:51 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by RainDelay »

rayman147 wrote: Sat Aug 26, 2023 3:54 pm

OK I have a curious issue, and wonder if anyone else is experiencing it... I bought the 8BitDo Mod Kit for Original N64 Controller with the rumble pack and the Hall Effect joystick swap, and I'm LOVING it however I cannot map C-Up and C-Left when using it with MiSTer (which is a super bummer when trying to use it with the new core). I've verified the buttons work fine, as I can connect it to my Mac and my PC and they map without issue. But on MiSTer it just doesn't register presses at all. Perhaps I am simply using it in the wrong mode or something, but it's curious to me and I was wondering if anyone else happened to have the kit and had a similar issue.

I am having the exact same issue you are. Have you been able to find a fix?

Raul3D
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 11:08 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Raul3D »

spud_q wrote: Sat Sep 23, 2023 9:08 pm

Thanks for posting them up until now. The updates and release notes have been fun to follow.

If you still want to follow the update notes, you can do so at Robert's Github repository:
https://github.com/RobertPeip/Mister64/commits/main

RainDelay wrote: Sat Sep 23, 2023 11:53 pm

I am having the exact same issue you are. Have you been able to find a fix?

I think it is the same for all N64 based controllers, at least it was like this with the NSO controller. You have to fully map the controller in Mister main and then map the controller in the N64 core. In main you cannot map the C buttons, in the core you should be able to.

User avatar
Phoenix
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 8:08 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Phoenix »

I've read some people mapping a right stick on C button (when defining the buttons on Mister main menu), could do the trick?

But you may want to try an X-Input mode, which would be more compatible for the rumble feature 😉

chopperthedog
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 10:47 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by chopperthedog »

The camera buttons on the 8bitdo mod kit are handled as right analog stick and need to be assigned as so in main. Learned rumble will only work on the switch while playing n64 games. The mod kit only supports D input as well.

good day.

_javi_
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:49 pm
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by _javi_ »

FPGA64 wrote: Sat Sep 23, 2023 3:37 pm

Going to stop posting builds now as its part of update all if you do the following

Download with "update_all" - add the following to your /media/fat/downloader.ini:

Code: Select all

[n64_dev]
db_url = https://raw.githubusercontent.com/RobertPeip/Mister64/db/db.json.zip

I dont have an Unstable dir, so dunno where to look for the downloaded core.

And update_all keeps telling media/fat full (when there's way more than 500mb left).. so i'll stick with the old manual updating method :oops:

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

New build

RDP: add dithering
RDP: stop zero or negative length DMA request (fixes OOT boot hang)
add Swap Analog<->DPAD option
remove savestate from button mapping
add some registers to COP0 savestate reset

You can get it via the update all with the line from earlier post

RAK4TW
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2023 10:53 pm

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by RAK4TW »

Great that Zelda OOT now boots!

Is anyone else using the RetroUSB N64 adapter? (https://www.retrousb.com/product_info.p ... 9ff5f3a470) I've had some issues with it when trying to map X/Y axes

Sliff2000
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:18 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Sliff2000 »

So I found even with the nso controller I had to go through the full controller mapping in the mister (before the n64 core mapping) I hit my space bar to skip the mouse stuff which screwed up my analog stick -- only left and right.... But at the end was the tilt which was necessary for the analog stick to be picked up fully. I would just hit finish when the mouse stuff started which will mess things up and miss out on the menu control. In the n64 core mapping it doesn't even ask for analog input. But note, it won't pick it up if you don't have it recognize the tilt in the mister controller setup. And since we are here, when setting up in the mister menu you can use a combo for the menu and reuse keys to select and go back (ie: a and b). For most this is all a no brainer. I think I was in denial seeing my favorite n64 games playing. Hope this helps!

User avatar
Chris23235
Top Contributor
Posts: 867
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:45 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 180 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Chris23235 »

Sliff2000 wrote: Tue Sep 26, 2023 10:23 am

So I found even with the nso controller I had to go through the full controller mapping in the mister (before the n64 core mapping) I hit my space bar to skip the mouse stuff which screwed up my analog stick -- only left and right.... But at the end was the tilt which was necessary for the analog stick to be picked up fully. I would just hit finish when the mouse stuff started which will mess things up and miss out on the menu control. In the n64 core mapping it doesn't even ask for analog input. But note, it won't pick it up if you don't have it recognize the tilt in the mister controller setup. And since we are here, when setting up in the mister menu you can use a combo for the menu and reuse keys to select and go back (ie: a and b). For most this is all a no brainer. I think I was in denial seeing my favorite n64 games playing. Hope this helps!

For every new controller you connect to the MiSTer it is necessary to go through the mapping in the MiSTer main menu. Otherwise it won't work

jordi
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by jordi »

RAK4TW wrote: Mon Sep 25, 2023 6:23 pm

Great that Zelda OOT now boots!

Is anyone else using the RetroUSB N64 adapter? (https://www.retrousb.com/product_info.p ... 9ff5f3a470) I've had some issues with it when trying to map X/Y axes

Sliff2000 wrote: Tue Sep 26, 2023 10:23 am

So I found even with the nso controller I had to go through the full controller mapping in the mister (before the n64 core mapping) I hit my space bar to skip the mouse stuff which screwed up my analog stick -- only left and right.... But at the end was the tilt which was necessary for the analog stick to be picked up fully. I would just hit finish when the mouse stuff started which will mess things up and miss out on the menu control. In the n64 core mapping it doesn't even ask for analog input. But note, it won't pick it up if you don't have it recognize the tilt in the mister controller setup. And since we are here, when setting up in the mister menu you can use a combo for the menu and reuse keys to select and go back (ie: a and b). For most this is all a no brainer. I think I was in denial seeing my favorite n64 games playing. Hope this helps!

I opened this issue here because I can't use analog stick (I did a video as well with the input n64 tester). I'm using a Xbox-like generic controller from Tronsmart with X-Input, Android Input, and D-input
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/issues/829

1) is it related to mouse? I didn't knew it, but I created a pull request to ensure controller is properly mapped:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Gamecon ... Ter/pull/1

2) how this txt GameControllerDB.txt is used in Mister?? Could I test my own change before it is merged???

Edit
Finally, got it working by:
Main
1)Map right analog stick as stick 1
2)Map left analog stick as stick 2.
3)skip mouse by pressing space

N64
Assign C buttons to digital input.
Assign directions as right stick

Then digital are c buttons, right joy are digital and left joy is analog joy in n64

Sliff2000
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2021 4:18 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Sliff2000 »

For me if I didn't map the tilt to the analag through mister mapping up and down wouldn't work in n64.

User avatar
SegaMan
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 8:23 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by SegaMan »

8bitdo Ultimate via 2.4Ghz dongle ... no up/down on analog Stick.

PS5 Controller via USB.... works fine.

User avatar
SwedishGojira
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:26 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by SwedishGojira »

I have just released a script that will fetch and install the recommended NTSC and PAL bioses for the N64 core on my Github.

HarborSeal
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:54 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by HarborSeal »

Dithering does help with slight banding, but it doesn't help in all instances. The most glaring example I can think of is the game over scene for Banjo Kazooie where Gruntilda emerges from the pod as a supermodel. I'm looking forward to the 24-bit rendering option that's on the PSX core.

Calolo
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2022 5:02 am

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Calolo »

HarborSeal wrote: Wed Sep 27, 2023 11:22 am

Dithering does help with slight banding, but it doesn't help in all instances. The most glaring example I can think of is the game over scene for Banjo Kazooie where Gruntilda emerges from the pod as a supermodel. I'm looking forward to the 24-bit rendering option that's on the PSX core.

It seems that 24bit mode would take too much resources and is low priority, even savestates are out of reach for now :(

metalfacemark
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by metalfacemark »

I’ve been away on holiday for 3 weeks, I did update the n64 script, does analogue out still not work?

Just wondered if I’d missed someone while away, I use vga to bnc cables to my monitor.

3style
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by 3style »

metalfacemark wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 11:20 am

I’ve been away on holiday for 3 weeks, I did update the n64 script, does analogue out still not work?

Just wondered if I’d missed someone while away, I use vga to bnc cables to my monitor.

Analog out works great now in my case. I also use a VGA to bnc cable for a Sony BVM.

User avatar
Newsdee
Top Contributor
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 1:07 am
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 209 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Newsdee »

SegaMan wrote: Tue Sep 26, 2023 7:20 pm

8bitdo Ultimate via 2.4Ghz dongle ... no up/down on analog Stick.

Try remapping the controller again in the startup menu core, then again in the n64 core.

I had the exact same problem with another controller (USB adapter with the original N64 pad). I figure the Y axis got mapped wrong somehow.

metalfacemark
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by metalfacemark »

3style wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 11:35 am
metalfacemark wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 11:20 am

I’ve been away on holiday for 3 weeks, I did update the n64 script, does analogue out still not work?

Just wondered if I’d missed someone while away, I use vga to bnc cables to my monitor.

Analog out works great now in my case. I also use a VGA to bnc cable for a Sony BVM.

Oh thats strange - i just get a black screen after i load any of the games.

Any ideas what i could be doing wrong?

I have downloaded the bioses, renamed to boot.rom and boot1.com - downloaded the database - games look like they are loading but then just a black screen once the loading sequence has completed.

Edit got it working - it was the roms that i had, got the no intro ones.

HarborSeal
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:54 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by HarborSeal »

Calolo wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 6:17 am
HarborSeal wrote: Wed Sep 27, 2023 11:22 am

Dithering does help with slight banding, but it doesn't help in all instances. The most glaring example I can think of is the game over scene for Banjo Kazooie where Gruntilda emerges from the pod as a supermodel. I'm looking forward to the 24-bit rendering option that's on the PSX core.

It seems that 24bit mode would take too much resources and is low priority, even savestates are out of reach for now :(

IIRC, Robert mentioned that he may implement a more advanced version of the core for a successor to the MiSTer (MiSTer 2.0, etc) if there isn't enough space to fit all the features he wants to use.

3style
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by 3style »

metalfacemark wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 5:39 pm
3style wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 11:35 am
metalfacemark wrote: Thu Sep 28, 2023 11:20 am

I’ve been away on holiday for 3 weeks, I did update the n64 script, does analogue out still not work?

Just wondered if I’d missed someone while away, I use vga to bnc cables to my monitor.

Analog out works great now in my case. I also use a VGA to bnc cable for a Sony BVM.

Oh thats strange - i just get a black screen after i load any of the games.

Any ideas what i could be doing wrong?

I have downloaded the bioses, renamed to boot.rom and boot1.com - downloaded the database - games look like they are loading but then just a black screen once the loading sequence has completed.

Edit got it working - it was the roms that i had, got the no intro ones.

OK, glad it worked out

leosmendes
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 9:54 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by leosmendes »

Hi guys, I'm experiencing a drop in frames per second in Mario 64 on the first map, especially when there is the giant turtle and access to the highest part (which is after the bridge that moves) part of what is on the left side of the beginning of the map. The fps reaches 20, and I haven't noticed this in the videos I see on the internet. any suggestion

GuilhermeC
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2023 2:12 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by GuilhermeC »

Phoenix wrote: Sun Sep 24, 2023 12:06 pm

I've read some people mapping a right stick on C button (when defining the buttons on Mister main menu), could do the trick?

But you may want to try an X-Input mode, which would be more compatible for the rumble feature 😉

That's how I setup a DS4 controller to use in the N64 core before I was able to use my 8bitdo modkit on a N64 controller. It's a bit weird, but it works.

metalfacemark
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by metalfacemark »

Im having a bit of a weird issue trying to get the core running at a decent resolution on my CRT diamondtron monitor.

My ini for this is standard so

; 0 - 1280x720@60
; 1 - 1024x768@60
; 2 - 720x480@60
; 3 - 720x576@50
; 4 - 1280x1024@60
; 5 - 800x600@60
; 6 - 640x480@60
; 7 - 1280x720@50
; 8 - 1920x1080@60
; 9 - 1920x1080@50
;10 - 1366x768@60
;11 - 1024x600@60
;12 - 1920x1440@60
;13 - 2048x1536@60
;
; custom mode: hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz
; video_mode=1280,110,40,220,720,5,5,20,74250
video_mode=0

; These parameters have the same format as video_mode.
; You need to supply both PAL and NTSC modes if you want vsync_adjust to switch between
; predefined modes as a base. This will reduce the range of pixel clock.
;video_mode_ntsc=0
;video_mode_pal=7

As soon as i load the n64 core on that ini alt - i lose sync with my monitor.

I can run it on my standard mister ini which is set for 240p 120hz - however the screen is squished - i can fix on other cores by pressing full screen but its not an option on the n64 core at the moment, any idea if this is fixable on one of the above?

video details for the 240p 120hz

; custom mode: hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz

video_Mode=2048,40,442,200,240,3,10,8,85909

; set to 1-10 (seconds) to display video info on startup/change
video_info=1

The ini that does work is one i had set for my old dell 2007 20" TFT

; don't delete the following line I need it for 1600x1200 in mister on my Dell
video_mode=1,1600,64,192,304,1200,1,3,46,162.

Appreciate its quite a long winded post but any advice - ideally to get the 120hz one working for those lovely scanlines, or failing that the standard second alt one would be appreciated.

thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1143
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 566 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by thorr »

metalfacemark wrote: Fri Sep 29, 2023 7:09 pm

Im having a bit of a weird issue trying to get the core running at a decent resolution on my CRT diamondtron monitor.

Just a quick easy answer is to turn on forced_scandoubler=1 and turn off the scaler. You can do this under the core name. I am not sure if you are using HDMI or the analog VGA output. Something like:

[n64]
forced_scandoubler=1
vga_scaler=0
direct_video=1

This will not be a 120Hz mode and will as a result not have the scanlines you are looking for, but it will be zero lag. If you want a 120Hz mode and for it to not be squished, you could theoretically create a custom video mode that is 4:3 in video resolution at 120Hz. Like 320x240@120Hz.

Post Reply