N64 Core

xyla
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2023 8:43 pm
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by xyla »

The black screen question has been asked a few times on here - I also get black screens for a lot of games I wanna try.
Banjo, Majora, OoT, Diddy are all not working at all. SM64, Mk64, Starfox are working flawlessly for example.

From what I understand, the unstable release is not needed anymore?
I put in the boot.roms, the database txt file and updated the Mister to the latest release with update_all.
What else can I do to make this work?

Roms have been from two separate Archives, the most popular ones. No idea if it could be that though as about half of them work just fine.

Things I did so far:
looked around the archive and found two EverDrive 64 collections
updated the Mister to the latest stable build (as I understand, unstable is no longer needed?)
got the latest N64 core build from Github
got the boot and boot1.rom
Got the latest N64-database.txt
took my NSO N64 controller and configured it through the Mister Main Menu

Do I need to use this step from vapier.net for the database?
"To get the md5 value over the first 4096 bytes you can use this command in Linux
head -c 4096 '/media/fat/games/N64/romname.z64' | md5sum "

FPGAzumSpass
Core Developer
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGAzumSpass »

You database is not working, make sure you download it and put it with the correct name in the folder on the sdcard.

Double check when starting OoT that in system settings the CIC is set correct and no "database missing" overlay appears

User avatar
segamemister
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2022 3:13 pm
Location: Chao Garden
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by segamemister »

the unstable release is not needed anymore?

is this true?

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 171 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by rhester72 »

segamemister wrote: Tue Feb 27, 2024 9:55 pm

the unstable release is not needed anymore?

is this true?

Are you talking about MiSTer Main? If so, no, unstable is not needed any longer.

User avatar
segamemister
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2022 3:13 pm
Location: Chao Garden
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by segamemister »

Are you talking about MiSTer Main?

yep and thank you got ma answer

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Technically if you want to use the cheats it is currently needed

kubay
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:37 pm

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by kubay »

How much SDRAM is needed to run Resident Evil 2, which is 64 MB in size? Readme on https://github.com/RobertPeip/Mister64 says that 32Mbyte SDRAM can only be used for games up to 16Mbyte in size. Does this mean that Resident Evil 2 needs 128MB? Will the game work with 64 MB SDRAM?

Antoine.WG
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2023 11:30 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Antoine.WG »

kubay wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 8:57 am

How much SDRAM is needed to run Resident Evil 2, which is 64 MB in size? Readme on https://github.com/RobertPeip/Mister64 says that 32Mbyte SDRAM can only be used for games up to 16Mbyte in size. Does this mean that Resident Evil 2 needs 128MB? Will the game work with 64 MB SDRAM?

Generally cores require more RAM than the ROM you're loading. RE2 would need 128 MB.

User avatar
evil_ash_xero
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2023 6:39 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by evil_ash_xero »

Do Star Fox and Sin and Punishment run well on the latest build? Like, perfect? I know there's a few games that hit a wall.

AngelicLiver
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:50 am
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

evil_ash_xero wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 1:49 pm

Do Star Fox and Sin and Punishment run well on the latest build? Like, perfect? I know there's a few games that hit a wall.

Both work great and have been played through to completion. No game can currently be considered cycle-accurate to the original hardware but most are perceptually indistinguishable outside of some edge-cases. Tightening of timings would be ideal but the ceiling has been hit in terms of DDR3 latency.

akeley
Top Contributor
Posts: 1309
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 423 times
Been thanked: 409 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by akeley »

AngelicLiver wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 2:55 pm

No game can currently be considered cycle-accurate to the original hardware but most are perceptually indistinguishable outside of some edge-cases.

How does that relate to the data from various compatibility sheets from https://vampier.net/N64/?

Only few games are marked "perfect", a something like a quarter "completable" and the rest "playable". I'm assuming that "completable" means 95-99% problem free, but "playable" is probably lower than that.

Primeira_Fase
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Primeira_Fase »

It seems like these guys found a solution to the latency issue in DDR3 on another FPGA board, but it's DDR3 memory as well.

https://www.ultrafp64.com/

Look the logs.

CMR
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:29 am
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by CMR »

Is N64 on the updater script yet? I'm still not seeing it in my menu.

ToothbrushThreepwood
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:39 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by ToothbrushThreepwood »

Primeira_Fase wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:57 am

It seems like these guys found a solution to the latency issue in DDR3 on another FPGA board, but it's DDR3 memory as well.

https://www.ultrafp64.com/

Look the logs.

According to Robert, the difference/issue on the MiSTer/De10-nano is that the DDR3 is shared between FPGA and linux on the HPS-side.

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

CMR wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2024 2:26 am

Is N64 on the updater script yet? I'm still not seeing it in my menu.

Not currently. You have to add a line to downloader.ini

Code: Select all

[n64_dev]
db_url = https://raw.githubusercontent.com/RobertPeip/Mister64/db/db.json.zip

NOTE this is downloader.ini not any other file. You will also need to obtain the bios files

Swainy
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 22, 2021 9:07 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Swainy »

Did the ingame music in Goldeneye ever get fixed?

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 171 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by rhester72 »

@Swainy What was wrong with it? Sounds fine to me (and certainly easy enough to check for yourself!)

Swainy
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 22, 2021 9:07 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Swainy »

rhester72 wrote: Sun Mar 24, 2024 1:04 pm

@Swainy What was wrong with it? Sounds fine to me (and certainly easy enough to check for yourself!)

Just checked it again, I’m not getting music ingame. That’s with the latest build.

User avatar
meauxdal
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 3:28 am
Location: atlanta
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 91 times
Contact:

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by meauxdal »

Swainy wrote: Sun Mar 24, 2024 3:52 pm

Just checked it again, I’m not getting music ingame. That’s with the latest build.

Music has worked in Goldeneye since the game started working (back when TLB was added, December iirc), and is still working fine on the latest core. It's something with your setup. Try resetting core settings/verifying BIOS & database/deleting .cfg files. It's also possible to turn the music off in-game - make sure that's not the case.

User avatar
jurkevicz
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 2:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by jurkevicz »

anyone have the latest turbo core?

KennyL
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:40 pm
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by KennyL »

jurkevicz wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 12:08 am

anyone have the latest turbo core?

N64_80MHz_20240323.rbf
(3.67 MiB) Downloaded 99 times
f0li0
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2024 10:21 am
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by f0li0 »

Swainy wrote: Sun Mar 24, 2024 3:52 pm
rhester72 wrote: Sun Mar 24, 2024 1:04 pm

@Swainy What was wrong with it? Sounds fine to me (and certainly easy enough to check for yourself!)

Just checked it again, I’m not getting music ingame. That’s with the latest build.

Have you tried deleting the N64.cfg? It has fixed issues for other people.

Blade Runner
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 6:49 am
Has thanked: 11 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Blade Runner »

Is this core available in update all ?

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 327 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by FPGA64 »

Blade Runner wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 7:18 am

Is this core available in update all ?

CMR wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2024 2:26 am

Is N64 on the updater script yet? I'm still not seeing it in my menu.

Not currently. You have to add a line to downloader.ini

Code: Select all

[n64_dev]
db_url = https://raw.githubusercontent.com/RobertPeip/Mister64/db/db.json.zip

NOTE this is downloader.ini not any other file. You will also need to obtain the bios files

Swainy
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 22, 2021 9:07 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by Swainy »

f0li0 wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 12:17 pm
Swainy wrote: Sun Mar 24, 2024 3:52 pm
rhester72 wrote: Sun Mar 24, 2024 1:04 pm

@Swainy What was wrong with it? Sounds fine to me (and certainly easy enough to check for yourself!)

Just checked it again, I’m not getting music ingame. That’s with the latest build.

Have you tried deleting the N64.cfg? It has fixed issues for other people.

I’ll give it a try tonight 👍

thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 558 times
Been thanked: 258 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by thorr »

I just got a 4-player SNAC adapter. Is there a way to plug in my memory card from my real N64 and use its save games? When I launch Super Mario 64, it is using the save games from the MiSTer, not from the memory card, and I am not sure what settings to change to get it to use the SNAC port. Thanks!

zaffo256
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2021 7:41 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by zaffo256 »

thorr wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:08 am

I just got a 4-player SNAC adapter. Is there a way to plug in my memory card from my real N64 and use its save games? When I launch Super Mario 64, it is using the save games from the MiSTer, not from the memory card, and I am not sure what settings to change to get it to use the SNAC port. Thanks!

Lots of games do not use Memory Card and save directly on the game cartridge. Mario 64 being one of them. Most first party Nintendo's game save on cartridge afaik. N64 Memory Cards (Controller Paks) where mostly a way for third party to save on Cartridge cost or to store larger files like Mario Kart's Ghost Data.

virtuali
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 10:41 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by virtuali »

thorr wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:08 am

When I launch Super Mario 64, it is using the save games from the MiSTer, not from the memory card

Even on a real N64, Super Mario 64 doesn't use memory cards from the controller pack, it saves directly on the cartridge. N64 saves were fairly complex with different methods to save on cartridge and then the controller pack, see here for a list of games and the type of save they use:

http://micro-64.com/database/gamesave.shtml

Of course, from a N64 or Mister user point of view, it all boils down to 2 methods: on cart or memory card but, for those that used copiers (I still have an old Doctor V64, and an Everdrive too), you had to be aware of the different save methods: the Doctor V64 even had separate hardware accessories to handle some save formats, like the elusive FlashRAM, used by JFG and a few others.

thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1128
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 558 times
Been thanked: 258 times

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by thorr »

Thanks! That is very helpful. For the games that use a memory card, what settings do I use?

kinooshi823
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2023 8:47 pm

Re: N64 Core

Unread post by kinooshi823 »

Few questions..

I purchased a SNAC adapter and it doesn't work. Am using the build I got from update_all. I bought a Hyperkin 64 to USB adapter and that works BUT with some limitations. The D-Pad does not register 360 movement. For example, Killer Instinct Gold, I cannot pull off moves the require half or quarter-circle movements. I cannot jump forward or backward as well. With analog, I can. Also, that adapter does not work with the wireless brawler controller. So far OEM for me.

There any way to fix that D-Pad issue?
Will there be a future update to enable snac adapters?
Also noticed cheats are not available for games. I have the z64 romset, do I need another version?

Post Reply