Intellivision Core (INTV)

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by rhester72 »

Last time I did it on MiSTer, this worked for me:

http://www.2600-daptor.com/2600-daptor%20D9.htm

panik
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2023 3:03 pm

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by panik »

rhester72 wrote: Sun Jan 08, 2023 10:24 pm

Last time I did it on MiSTer, this worked for me:

http://www.2600-daptor.com/2600-daptor%20D9.htm

Did all 16 directors work on the intellivision flashback controller?

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by rhester72 »

I'm not sure that I confirmed that, I really only played some Astrosmash. LOL

Is there a diagnostic cart that clearly shows all 16 directions independently?

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by rhester72 »

Never mind - there is, and it does. :)

See this post:

viewtopic.php?t=598&start=120

(particularly the very important part about the need to define the analog axes at the very end of MiSTer main controller setup!) and be aware that Action Up is the top set of buttons, Action Left is the bottom left one, and Action Right is the bottom right one.

After that - yep, it's an Intellivision!

panik
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2023 3:03 pm

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by panik »

rhester72: I'm relatively new to MiSTer so please pardon my ignorance. How do I do MiSTer main controller setup and define the analog axes?

noted on actions! Thanks

panik
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2023 3:03 pm

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by panik »

PistolsAtDawn wrote: Tue Oct 04, 2022 5:35 pm

The controller (I think accurately?) shows multiple button presses for each keypad key or direction disc press.

This is exactly what I'm seeing too! Why does this happen? Is there a way to work around it?

I can get the flashback controller gamepad working, with all 16 directions (thanks for all the help here!) However, I cannot get the numberpad to work: most of the inputs end of mapping to multiple outputs. (There's an intellivision test cartridge I'm using to verify this)

User avatar
PistolsAtDawn
Posts: 346
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2022 7:29 pm
Has thanked: 258 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by PistolsAtDawn »

panik wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 5:52 pm
PistolsAtDawn wrote: Tue Oct 04, 2022 5:35 pm

The controller (I think accurately?) shows multiple button presses for each keypad key or direction disc press.

This is exactly what I'm seeing too! Why does this happen? Is there a way to work around it?

I can get the flashback controller gamepad working, with all 16 directions (thanks for all the help here!) However, I cannot get the numberpad to work: most of the inputs end of mapping to multiple outputs. (There's an intellivision test cartridge I'm using to verify this)

It was because of the physical design of the circuitry in the controller. It has a film the circuit is printed on that folds over itself, and the original console expects to receive both button presses for certain buttons on the number pad.

There is no way to work around this that I know of using the Retronic adapter.

panik
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2023 3:03 pm

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by panik »

Yeah— I figured out the same thing reading the thread on intellivision dracula: viewtopic.php?p=61163

The retronic adapters simply don't work, even after you map the keys. Bummer. What are these things even for?

The good news is that the ultimate PC interfacer (V2) I ordered shipped very fast, and it totally works! I spent 4 hours last night fiddling with the settings (it took forever to get the 2 joysticks mapped correctly— you need to hold down 0 so the autosense in the adapter recognizes the controller, then plug it into the mister usb, then map all the buttons including the sticks for both joysticks in the mister main core, then fire up the intellivision core and map all the buttons for the core, then SAVE the settings, and then fire up the test rom to confirm all 16 directions are working.). It was a lot of trial and error, but I now have BOTH joysticks working and I can play baseball with my dad! I've tried a bunch of games and they all work, and I've also confirmed that all 16 directions work. Im also gonna try some of the updated roms like baseball: http://intellivision.us/intvgames

The only issue I'm having now is that the core doesn't support the center disc button. This feels like something that shouldn't be too hard to add to the core— I've been a software engineer for years. Any idea where in the code I should start poking around? Here: https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Intv_Mi ... er/intv.sv ?

Lightwave
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:06 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by Lightwave »

panik wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 9:52 pm

The only issue I'm having now is that the core doesn't support the center disc button.

You're most likely having that issue because there is no center disc button on the Intellivision ;)

panik
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2023 3:03 pm

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by panik »

Lightwave wrote: Wed Jan 11, 2023 12:58 am
panik wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 9:52 pm

The only issue I'm having now is that the core doesn't support the center disc button.

You're most likely having that issue because there is no center disc button on the Intellivision ;)

Wait: so how do games like atlantis and super pro skiing that require a disc press to start the game work? Are they just looking for input from any of the 16 disc directions?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Intv_MiSTer/issues/16

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by rhester72 »

panik wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 5:02 pm

rhester72: I'm relatively new to MiSTer so please pardon my ignorance. How do I do MiSTer main controller setup and define the analog axes?

https://mister-devel.github.io/MkDocs_M ... ds-buttons

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Wiki_Mi ... ck-Mapping

thorr
Top Contributor
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:37 pm
Has thanked: 593 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by thorr »

panik wrote: Wed Jan 11, 2023 4:01 pm
Lightwave wrote: Wed Jan 11, 2023 12:58 am
panik wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 9:52 pm

The only issue I'm having now is that the core doesn't support the center disc button.

You're most likely having that issue because there is no center disc button on the Intellivision ;)

Wait: so how do games like atlantis and super pro skiing that require a disc press to start the game work? Are they just looking for input from any of the 16 disc directions?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Intv_MiSTer/issues/16

Good timing. I was thinking about making my own Intellivision controller and didn't realize there was a center disc button functionality. From what I know about the controller and would guess, pressing down the center disc probably presses multiple directions at the same time and when it detects that, it knows you pressed it down.

Lightwave
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:06 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by Lightwave »

panik wrote: Wed Jan 11, 2023 4:01 pm
Lightwave wrote: Wed Jan 11, 2023 12:58 am
panik wrote: Tue Jan 10, 2023 9:52 pm

The only issue I'm having now is that the core doesn't support the center disc button.

You're most likely having that issue because there is no center disc button on the Intellivision ;)

Wait: so how do games like atlantis and super pro skiing that require a disc press to start the game work? Are they just looking for input from any of the 16 disc directions?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Intv_MiSTer/issues/16

Yes. There is no physical button under the disc of an Intellivision controller. Games can only detect directional movement of the disc.

User avatar
n0xlf
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 21, 2023 4:21 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by n0xlf »

Does anyone have 16 way controls working with BOTH controllers? I took the plunge and got an Ultimate PC interface and flashback controllers (side note, the actual flashback hardware is horrible - sound issues and other bugs..)

I can get one or the other controller to work in 16 way depending on which I calibrate last in the main MiSTer menu, but not both when testing with handtest. The controllers work fine in games, other than the 16 way issue. Both controllers show 16 way when testing on Windows.

Ashfall
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 2:56 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by Ashfall »

n0xlf wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 9:29 pm

Does anyone have 16 way controls working with BOTH controllers? I took the plunge and got an Ultimate PC interface and flashback controllers (side note, the actual flashback hardware is horrible - sound issues and other bugs..)

I can get one or the other controller to work in 16 way depending on which I calibrate last in the main MiSTer menu, but not both when testing with handtest. The controllers work fine in games, other than the 16 way issue. Both controllers show 16 way when testing on Windows.

I'm seeing the same as you with the flashback controllers. Player 1 gets all 16 directions and Player 2 only gets 8. Tried 2 different controller test roms. And I tried with the 2600 Daptor, Ultimate PC Interface, and the Retronic Design adapter.

User avatar
n0xlf
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 21, 2023 4:21 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by n0xlf »

I suspect this is a MiSTer issue and not the core, since the 16 way recognition seems to take place in the main menu config and not in the core. As I mentioned, both controllers do work with all 16 controls on Windows, so it's not the adapter.

If there are any MiSTer devs watching this, here is what the adapter gets recognized as in Linux (not my MiSTer - I plugged it into a different server):

Code: Select all

[2270778.579970] usb 7-2: new full-speed USB device number 29 using xhci_hcd
[2270778.750710] usb 7-2: New USB device found, idVendor=04d8, idProduct=d4e2, bcdDevice= 0.22
[2270778.750722] usb 7-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[2270778.750727] usb 7-2: Product: Ultimate 2600-daptor
[2270778.750731] usb 7-2: Manufacturer: Microchip Technology Inc.
[2270778.775197] input: Microchip Technology Inc. Ultimate 2600-daptor as /devices/pci0000:20/0000:20:07.1/0000:25:00.3/usb7/7-2/7-2:1.0/0003:04D8:D4E2.0003/input/input3
[2270778.775498] hid-generic 0003:04D8:D4E2.0003: input,hidraw2: USB HID v1.11 Mouse [Microchip Technology Inc. Ultimate 2600-daptor] on usb-0000:25:00.3-2/input0
[2270778.787141] input: Microchip Technology Inc. Ultimate 2600-daptor as /devices/pci0000:20/0000:20:07.1/0000:25:00.3/usb7/7-2/7-2:1.1/0003:04D8:D4E2.0004/input/input4
[2270778.787429] hid-generic 0003:04D8:D4E2.0004: input,hidraw3: USB HID v1.11 Joystick [Microchip Technology Inc. Ultimate 2600-daptor] on usb-0000:25:00.3-2/input1
[2270778.799146] input: Microchip Technology Inc. Ultimate 2600-daptor as /devices/pci0000:20/0000:20:07.1/0000:25:00.3/usb7/7-2/7-2:1.2/0003:04D8:D4E2.0005/input/input5
[2270778.799428] hid-generic 0003:04D8:D4E2.0005: input,hidraw4: USB HID v1.11 Joystick [Microchip Technology Inc. Ultimate 2600-daptor] on usb-0000:25:00.3-2/input2

And the hexdump of my (probably related) configs:

Code: Select all

# hexdump -C Intellivision.CFG
00000000  08 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  |................|
00000010

# hexdump -C Intellivision_input_04d8_d4e2_v3.map
00000000  01 03 00 00 00 03 00 00  03 03 00 00 02 03 00 00  |................|
00000010  20 01 00 00 21 01 00 00  22 01 00 00 c1 02 00 00  | ...!...".......|
00000020  c3 02 00 00 c2 02 00 00  28 01 00 00 29 01 00 00  |........(...)...|
00000030  2a 01 00 00 2b 01 00 00  2c 01 00 00 2d 01 00 00  |*...+...,...-...|
00000040  2e 01 00 00 2f 01 00 00  c0 02 00 00 00 00 00 00  |..../...........|
00000050  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  |................|
*
00000080

# hexdump -C input_04d8_d4e2_v3.map
00000000  01 03 00 00 00 03 00 00  03 03 00 00 02 03 00 00  |................|
00000010  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  |................|
*
00000060  00 00 02 00 01 00 02 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  |................|
*
00000080
User avatar
Grabulosaure
Core Developer
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:41 pm
Location: Mesozoic
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by Grabulosaure »

@Ashfall, @n0xlf

Did you try the "swap joystick" menu option? What occurs?

User avatar
n0xlf
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 21, 2023 4:21 pm
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by n0xlf »

I did - It just swaps A <> B but the functionality is the same (16 on one, 8 on the other). The 16/8 stays with the physical controller on the swap setting.

User avatar
insanityprawnboy
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2022 12:54 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by insanityprawnboy »

I have the Ultimate PC interface and a Flashback controller.

While playing Deadly Discs I realised that I can't run northwest, northeast, southwest, and southeast.

How do I fix this? Or do controllers on the Intellivision core not work in those directions?

BabaYaga326
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by BabaYaga326 »

Okay, I messed up my INTV core today when I went to update my ROMs and now all I have is a black screen when I go to launch a game. The last time I remember the core working was when I was still using the Analog I/O board. I recently upgraded to the Digital I/O Board for dual SDRAM capability. All my other cores seem to be working fine.

When I replaced the ROMs (and didn't back them up) I may have deleted the boot roms that should be in there, but not sure.

I have the latest Intellivision_20230310.rbf core.

I have tried multiple .int ROM sets from Archive.

I have tried putting ECS, exec, grom, and ivoice bins in the ROMs folder, but I'm still getting a black screen. The github says something about renaming (or converting) the bins to boot0..3 rom files, but its not clear how I do that? I tried zipping the bin files up, renaming them, ...I'm at a loss, can anyone help me out? Thanks.

EDIT: Found the boot roms posted earlier in the thread. I'm all fixed up.
/media/fat/games/Intellivision

Attachments
No_name.7z
(18.17 KiB) Downloaded 185 times
BabaYaga326
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by BabaYaga326 »

LamerDeluxe wrote: Thu Mar 18, 2021 9:42 am

Great to hear, well done!

I used to play Auto Racing with my friend who had an Intellivision. It is also featured on Knight Rider as a kind of radar system of KITT :D

https://youtu.be/uBo2YKIHatI?si=czFJui3wIUiMLcV4

t2dxk0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2024 12:58 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by t2dxk0 »

hello, I'm using the ultimate pc interface with the intellivision flashback controller. I can map the buttons ok but can't get it to function in a game. Any ideas? thanks nevermind figured it out, had to set up controller in main mister menu. working now

BabaYaga326
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by BabaYaga326 »

Asking for a friend….

Can anyone suggest an alternative to the (now) out-of-production ‘Ultimate PC interface’ adaptors for original INTV controllers?
http://www.intellivision.us/interface.php

Lightwave
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:06 pm
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by Lightwave »

BabaYaga326 wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2024 10:31 pm

Asking for a friend….

Can anyone suggest an alternative to the (now) out-of-production ‘Ultimate PC interface’ adaptors for original INTV controllers?
http://www.intellivision.us/interface.php

If you are looking to use Intellivision II or Intellivision Flashback controllers, the 2600daptor D9 (made by the same guy as the Ultimate PC interface) works pretty much identically:

https://www.2600-daptor.com/

It will also work with original Intellivision controllers, you just need to purchase an additional $4 adapter sold from the same shop.

BabaYaga326
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by BabaYaga326 »

Lightwave wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2024 11:10 pm
BabaYaga326 wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2024 10:31 pm

Asking for a friend….

Can anyone suggest an alternative to the (now) out-of-production ‘Ultimate PC interface’ adaptors for original INTV controllers?
http://www.intellivision.us/interface.php

If you are looking to use Intellivision II or Intellivision Flashback controllers, the 2600daptor D9 (made by the same guy as the Ultimate PC interface) works pretty much identically:

https://www.2600-daptor.com/

It will also work with original Intellivision controllers, you just need to purchase an additional $4 adapter sold from the same shop.

On that website…..** I have stopped making adapters. Only have Jaguar adapters left. **

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by rhester72 »

BabaYaga326 wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 2:11 am

On that website…..** I have stopped making adapters. Only have Jaguar adapters left. **

Oh wow. That's (bad) news.

User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Top Contributor
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 847 times
Been thanked: 270 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

rhester72 wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 3:41 am
BabaYaga326 wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 2:11 am

On that website…..** I have stopped making adapters. Only have Jaguar adapters left. **

Oh wow. That's (bad) news.

I hope they can license out the design to other hardware sellers, like the ones selling MiSTer accessories.

rhester72
Top Contributor
Posts: 1171
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 2:31 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by rhester72 »

@LamerDeluxe The truly unfortunate part is that over the years he's done a LOT to improve the functionality and operation of them via firmware. There's nobody to really take that over.

User avatar
LamerDeluxe
Top Contributor
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:25 pm
Has thanked: 847 times
Been thanked: 270 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by LamerDeluxe »

rhester72 wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 11:36 am

@LamerDeluxe The truly unfortunate part is that over the years he's done a LOT to improve the functionality and operation of them via firmware. There's nobody to really take that over.

Good point, would be good if the software part could be licensed or open-sourced as well. Maybe someone developing Commodore accessories could continue development.

BabaYaga326
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Intellivision Core (INTV)

Unread post by BabaYaga326 »

LamerDeluxe wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 11:20 am
rhester72 wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 3:41 am
BabaYaga326 wrote: Mon Jun 03, 2024 2:11 am

On that website…..** I have stopped making adapters. Only have Jaguar adapters left. **

Oh wow. That's (bad) news.

I hope they can license out the design to other hardware sellers, like the ones selling MiSTer accessories.

I queried MisterAddOns a few days ago about the development of INTV adapters for the Reflex Adaptors. I informed them that INTV Ultimate Interface for PC adaptors were no longer in production. The response, ‘There are some technical hurtles preventing integration at the moment but maybe in the future.’

Post Reply