How to Play as Player 2

Discussion of keyboards, gamepads, joysticks and other input related peripherals.
flipflop
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 7:04 pm

How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by flipflop »

Maybe I'm bad at searching but I can't figure out how to play as the second player.

Some cores have a "switch joysticks" entry in their OSD but I didn't see any such thing in the arcade cores I have tried.
User avatar
JudgeDrokk
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:45 am
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by JudgeDrokk »

Isn't the second joypad to be fired up the one that is set to PLAYER TWO?

(providing that both have been "set up" - they all all assigned and saved after setting up - so even if you have two of the same pad then u have to set both regardless. (i think)
ash2fpga
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by ash2fpga »

Not sure if this is the same thing. I was trying to start SF2 (WW/CE/HF) on the CPS1 core as player 2, but could not figure out a way, besides starting both P1 and P2, and winning as P2. I tried the specific keyboard shortcuts for both 2P coin and 2P start, but those did not appear to be behave any differently from mapped buttons on the controllers. I thought this was something that worked in the arcade, but its been a minute since I played on arcade hardware. I might be getting mixed up with later beat 'em ups, too.
User avatar
Digitron
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 6:04 am
Has thanked: 24 times

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by Digitron »

Did you ever find a fix for this? I'm trying to play as player 2 on the PSX core with one controller.
User avatar
aberu
Core Developer
Posts: 1144
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
Location: Longmont, CO
Has thanked: 244 times
Been thanked: 388 times
Contact:

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by aberu »

Adding a player swap is going to depend on each core. Some cores have it, some don't.
birdybro~
User avatar
TLPD-AVW
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:59 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by TLPD-AVW »

Some arcade cores would really benefit from having a player input switch, e.g. Gauntlet where in the 4 player version each character class is tied to player number.
User avatar
aberu
Core Developer
Posts: 1144
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
Location: Longmont, CO
Has thanked: 244 times
Been thanked: 388 times
Contact:

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by aberu »

Here's how it was added to the SNES core, for perspective:

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L344

Code: Select all

"O7,Swap Joysticks,No,Yes;",
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L437

Code: Select all

wire       joy_swap = status[7];
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L944

Code: Select all

ioport port1
(
.JOYSTICK1((joy_swap ^ raw_serial) ? joy1 : joy0),
);
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L964

Code: Select all

ioport port2
(
.JOYSTICK1((joy_swap ^ raw_serial) ? joy0 : joy1),
);
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... 1031-L1035

Code: Select all

		USER_OUT[1] = joy_swap ? ~JOY2_CLK : ~JOY1_CLK;
		USER_OUT[4] = joy_swap ? JOY2_P6 : JOY1_P6;
		JOY1_DI = joy_swap ? JOY1_DO : {USER_IN[2], USER_IN[5]};
		JOY2_DI = joy_swap ? {USER_IN[2], USER_IN[5]} : JOY2_DO;
		JOY2_P6_DI = joy_swap ? USER_IN[4] : (LG_P6_out | !GUN_MODE);
It would probably be slightly different in many cores.

I just added joystick swap to the Joust2 core as an example as well.
birdybro~
User avatar
ItalianGrandma
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:09 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: How to Play as Player 2

Unread post by ItalianGrandma »

I would love to see “Swap Joysticks” get added to every core.
Post Reply