Total newbie trying to get CRT TV to work

Discussion about displays and related hardware including MiSTer filters and video settings.
dizny71

Total newbie trying to get CRT TV to work

Unread post by dizny71 »

I got the Mister with the VGA output and a composite cable to be able to hook up to my CRT TV. So far I have either gotten no picture at all or a very messed up image. I have the YMBR setting enabled and the doubler disabled.

What settings should I use in order to get the TV to work?

Thanks
jrronimo

Re: Total newbie trying to get CRT TV to work

Unread post by jrronimo »

Hey there! And welcome!

There are some settings that we can try, but please be aware that it may not be possible to get your MiSTer to work with your CRT. I have 3 CRTs and only 1 works flawlessly; one of the others doesn't even display the menu core for more than a second; the third kind of works sometimes, depending on how bright things get. It's a mess, unfortunately, but Sorgelig has said that MiSTer is really meant for use with digital displays and that the MiSTer's way of outputting analog video is hacky and may not work.

We're going to need to know a few things:
1. Are you using an IO board or an HDMI to VGA adapter?
2. What model CRT are you using?
3. Are you using Composite cables (yellow white red), or Component cables (red blue green white red)?

If you have an IO board, then try flipping the Sync on Green switch next to the VGA port.

If you're using an HDMI to VGA adapter, then you need to set

Code: Select all

direct_video=1
In either situation I typically expect

video_mode=6
to be compatible for most CRTs, but you can also try custom video_modes. Here's one I've tried with my semi-working CRT:

video_mode=320,16,31,59,224,12,3,23,15700
Good luck and let us know how it goes!
retrorepair

Unread post by retrorepair »

jrronimo wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 3:09 pm Hey there! And welcome!